You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Elderberry Acquisition Initiative

in #ocd4 years ago

Several years ago my husband brought home a couple of buckets full of elderberries which he picked on railroad property, back when he was working for the railroad. I turned it all into juice, thinking I would make syrup. Eventually. A couple of years went by, and I found out you have to be careful about not getting any of the stems into the process because they are poisonous, and I couldn't remember how careful I had been, so I threw it all out. What a waste! I haven't gone searching for elderberries since. My daughter has sometimes procured dried elderberries from a retail place and made her own syrup that way.

Sort:  

That was a tale of tossed elderberry and wasted labor woe, I am truly sorry that happened. It seems a lot of people buy the dried berries for their syrup making, and I noticed most of the recipes online call for dried berries too, I find that interesting. I hate it when useful plants have alkaloids in certain parts of them, it's like yet another thing to remember!