You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The horrendous failure of curating Quality Content

in #ocd11 months ago

I would repost.
I stopped this practice more then 2 years ago, because I decided I was being lazy, and I had an endless supply of ideas coming out of my head.

Although I certainly wrote some posts that I felt were good enough to repeat.

Hivewatcher's bot Spaminator eventually stopped downvoting my posts to zero after a few months I think.

But after that they still gave me a downvote on every post, but it was really small. it was a constant reminder not to fall back into the habit of reposting.

Unfortunately I am still technically Blacklisted, so every so often someone who doesn't work for Hivewatchers, but looks up their blacklists will vote my posts to zero .

Unfortunately in April I had my fifth year anniversary and wrote two posts on two consecutuve days. The second post focused on the 80 or 90 thousand upvotes I had given out and how that reflected a focus on engagement. I credited my ability to receive upvotes to my willingness to give out a large number of votes, focusing on the importance of engagement and interaction with others as vital to bulding a network of followers.

Someone read the post and posted a picture in the comments of a chart of votes I had given my self. They were very angry, and soon after that both posts were voted to zero. A suprisingly angry response, and the downvotes came from a new account I hadn't seen before , which was precisely downvoting my posts exactly to zero. An amazing amount of effort to punish me I guess for boasting and voting my own posts.

It's fascinating how I had the badluck to stumble into the radar of someone who gets really angry about self upvoting and has friends willing to downvote people to zero for it.

It is unpleasant and disaapointing to see good posts earn nothing, but I know many people feel there is no alternative then this one tool . It seems that everyone in the blacklist is a nail, and they all get the same hammer, until the downvoter decides to stop. Such is the random nature of things on a large platform.

I understand we all have stake, and do what we wish with it, including some do this. It's a strange type of freedom, which ironically also involves pressuring someone to stop doing what they would like to do, or suffer the wrath of someone with more stake. No system is perfect, but this part is disappointing.