Supernatural

in #ocd2 years ago


image reference

At least, this is what I used to call myself every day; however, I know that's not my real name anymore. Names are for the living, and I'm now an undead creature trapped in a vessel. My body is dead, but my mind and consciousness are very much alive. This undead creature that I once was is an amalgamation of things. I have the memories of my former self, but I am not still the same person.

But my consciousness is being manipulated. I'm having these thoughts and memories implanted into me. Why? I'm sure that's part of the game too. What game? Well, that's the fact that I have no idea yet. I'm still getting to grips with my undead status and its implications.

My memories are foggy. All I can remember is the land in its prime; before the weakness of our species brought about Earth's downfall. I miss the land. I loved my home so much. I was born there and I lived there for a very long time. I had everything; a family, friends, a job I loved, and a life that had infinite potential.

I don't think I ever realized how good I had it; I was just happy to live my life with every day that came and went. Just what was it all leading up to.

Sure, I suffered some bad things like every living creature does, but it was never enough to make me stop living my life. Eventually, though, I would have to face the end. I haven't given up, but I have been fighting for survival and my existence for longer than I have been officially alive.

on Earth and lived there all my life. I lived a happy life, with many memorable moments to cherish. But I remember it all; and I remember most of the things that brought me to this point in my life. It was my life and everything about it.

I had a job that was unusual for someone of my age, though I was quite lucky to have obtained it. But this is my story and I won't bore you with the details; you'll get to know what I did later. What I can say is that I was part of the team that kept our city running. That is not to say the city is still running.

Everything finally fell apart. I don't know if it was an invasion by another species, or just a hoax manufactured by the government to keep control, but something happened. A few weeks before this, I had been attacked by a vulture. The wounds had been bad and I had nearly passed. However, I somehow lived. The acid that had bathed my wounds caused me to change. But I didn't know it then.

This is when the government decided to declare martial law. Everyone was now property of the government. We were issued a number, and everything we possessed had to be surrendered. We weren't given a choice by way of vote or by way of protest. They took what they wanted, and they took it all.

The small and large businesses were nationalized. Everything was now controlled by the government and their single and sole interest was to keep us alive.

I don't know what was done to me, but I remember all of it. I remember being in the military, just a regular guy and doing my duty with all of the others in my unit.

We were young, and could have been the ones to eradicate the threat that lay before our cities. But instead, we were killed, and replaced. There was nothing left for us. I was lucky to be taken away and sent to a research facility that was already experimenting with new experiments on the living.

But I was just a test subject. Nothing more.

It meant I was part of the experiment. I wasn't told, and I didn't know what they were going to do with me. All I knew was that I didn't have any kind of freedom. None at all. I had a duty to perform and I was not to question it.

This meant I didn't know I was dead.

But I was never dead, or at least I didn't think so until I got this life. I had a job that I didn't want to do, but I was forced to do, and I was forced to do it all in this life. I had a family that I didn't realize I had, though that is certainly not true now. I had friends and I had a life. But this life was a lie.

So who is this person here? I have no idea. I know what I once was and how I lived my life. All I know is that someone decided to enter me into a game. A game where I'm not a winner, but I'm not a loser either. This is a game where I have to survive and protect my team. If I lose, everyone loses.

This is a story set in a world gone by and yet it is a world that we too could create. This is a world of technology, where humanity has reached far beyond what we could dream of. But this technology has now destroyed our home and has brought about the fight for survival.

It is a world without a future, but with a past that can still be remembered.

This is the life of

.

This is my story.

But it is not.

This is a game. A game to test humanity, using zombies as the threat. This is the world of

a world inspired by

Everything I remember was just a memory. A memory fitted in my brain created just to make this a more thrilling game and more intense battle for survival. This is a game where only the use of modern weaponry is allowed. There are no medieval weapons in this world.

This is a game; a game to test humanity, using zombies as the threat.

Just a simple math equation.

One plus one equals nothing.

One minus one equals another number.

When considering the total population of humanity, one age group of the population is considered the threat to themselves. A group of people, with extraordinary traits and attributes that rival that of human beings. A group of people who are deemed worthy of another life and another chance at survival. A group of people that is not a threat to the rest of the world but is a threat to itself.

We used to call them supernaturals. But today, we call them zombies.

Sort:  

Congratulations @undergroundfox! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 4500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2022
Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 25
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!