You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Elderberry Acquisition Initiative

in #ocd4 years ago

I seriously wanted to pick elderberry this year and didn't...

Someone gave us elderberry jelly once when I was a kid. It wasn't bad. It just wasn't the wild blackberry jelly that we were used to.

My daughter pits whether on a sheet pan and dehydrates them in the oven then press them in an air right container. When she needs syrup, she throws them in a pot of billing water and reduces it to the consistency she wants.

I could go on for a while...

Sort:  

Oh, you just gave me a childhood memory flashback, I grew up on wild blackberry jelly...and dumplings, I miss that.

LOL! You can go on all your want, I love it! I totally like your daughter's method of preservation and syrup making. I make up enough syrup for a few months and freeze it in little ice cubes, then throw it in zipper bags in the freezer so I have a bit of a grab and go scenario. I also stir honey into the cooled syrup and keep it in a mason jar in the fridge, it sorta just depends on my mood.

And see, I could go on too, lol lol!