How I became a Developer with no Experience.

in #oculus7 years ago

I'll start off by saying this; Common Sense is not Common. This is a huge misconception.... Its more of a general sense of what each individual has been conditioned for thier entire lives. Everyone knows that when you flick a switch up, a light is going to be illuminated. Now what if you met someone who has never encountered harnessed electricity. That would not be common knowledge to them because they wouldn't know what reaction flipping the switch would cause.
Now that I've gotten that out if the way, it will make sense later.
I have never had the best of luck finding gainful employment. I'd get stuck at dead end food service or retail positions that just never met my needs financially. Well, in all honesty, to this day I'm not a whole lot better off financially, but I found a job that opened a plethora of doors for me.
I use Indeed.com. It has been the only platform that I have been able to find employment in over 5 years. Mostly because I was being contacted by recruiters.
Mythbusters proved you can polish Shit until it shines, so that's exactly what I did on my resume. My document shined.
I landed an amazing job working with the Oculus Rift, showing it off, and selling it. (Yeah, still retail, but this job brought me a newfound sense of pride in myself.)
I dedicated myself to becoming the most knowledgeable in my field, and within weeks, I was the top salesman, breaking through two tiers of projected sales goals.
I thank myself for dedicating so much of my early life towards video gaming and general computer knowledge, because that background alone was enough to present myself as a fairly skilled and intelligent professional.
Well after doing this job for a year, amd getting good at it, I met a dude who was showing off his new Hololense around the store. So naturally, we and this guy tried each others headsets.
Well, after the each of us were astounded by these technologies, we began to discuss the various ways they could be integrated into each other.
Long story short; He bought an Oculus, and me being the professional I am, offered him any assistance, and in return he offered me a position working for him.
Now I am the Director of Sales and Marketing for a new Start-Up with HUGE potential, I am learning four different graphic design softwares, and two image manipulation programs simultaneously.
Now here's where we get to the Common Sense reasoning I got into in the intro.
Like I said, I HAVE NO EDUCATION, EXPERIENCE, OR TRAINING in this field, AT ALL!!!!!!
However, learning all of this is surprisingly easy. Now, when I am trying something new in these programs, that I never so much as even watched a tutorial for, it feels like I already know what will happen, or at least a general notion.
I've been called a fraud, a liar, and a jokester. None of my colleagues believe me that I have never done anything like this. They'll ask me, how did you know that, or tell me that I'm picking it up faster than they've ever seen. When they ask me how, the only response that I can fathom, is, "It's just Common Sense, to me."
Maybe we absord more I go than we ever realize and it leaks it way out into our lives, maybe some people's minds are just geared up differently, or maybe we bring experiences from our past lives that enriches our current life.
Who knows.
All I know is I have always been that guy, where if I can do it, anyone can.

Sort:  

Congratulations @cyan1dal! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!