Deep Dive: Using your other Social Media profiles to benefit HIVE. and a little on password security.

in #onboarding3 years ago (edited)

Hello, I am not posting this in any community, This here is going on my personal blog mostly for my own record, and easier to save my social media info, such as name, profile link, and anything else related to this social media profile I can keep in one, decentralized, easy to find spot. I will be making a personal post about each of my "off HIVE" social media profiles soon, My first test subject tho is my Twitch account, here we go.

1followerlol.png

Basic Account Info:

Current username: pinkfloyd878
Public profile link:


My password is: (wait, what? no way, I cant put this here, can i?)
my my, think, think hard, yes you can. Encrypt it in a way only you know how to decrypt it.. right?
so this is my twitch password, please hack me to prove me wrong: Z9pVNxus6o+/OyJLIzI5R10lDWsliZf7mCMbnEb/EWT6mrC7RF966o8aSJxYGMpb0WLlbem3jU4FzW64shVF4A==
hint: here is one of many free online tools to do this with: https://codebeautify.org/encrypt-decrypt

Here is an example I am trying to explain with:
With this example I am using "Serpent" encryption method.
My key is: lol-try-me!!
and my text is shown in the picture here:
ende1.png
resulting in an encrypted string like this:

ende2.png

E8Xx4PPDDUJOEenuL9/Z40Ofr8r2pEKu1urvOPAS6YEixxPlyJfk+rDZwDaR9U/DgeP3+w/3U93cIM3Yy836JMh/CMhx3o7W3mYTL1ekUlH5C0S8u7sysfGGHr01stwfgrYYZX/Wh/nXD2jTykPawIi8SJwOPThCR8wXko9p6PBa7dcBZgG+SCKP4Q02wP29tr8FVWmIsvDlmUjAzzz9Fg==

Go and try it yourself, and when you goto sleep at night, knowing you stored all of your passwords on your browser, in the google cloud, or anywhere else... think about, if I, or where ever my passwords are stored gets hacked, im screwed... not if you come up with your own unique way of storing information you wont be.

  • Anyway back to my WHY i wanted to make this post:

I am REbuilding a company, @network878.com and re-scripting almost 30 years of stuff I made to connect it in ways to make life easier for me, my team, my friends and family. So the only time I will be visiting, or I should say, each time I visit a social media platform apart from the HIVE ecosystem, I will somehow try to link it back to hive in a unique way. A quick example of this is actually my twitch profile:

/about Do you see what I did there? :)

twitchSMlinks.png

Anyway, I hope this drum's up ideas for people focused on onboarding new users to HIVE.

So anyway, if you are a twitch fan, feel free to follow my account there, I am trying to set up a streaming system to get more peoples eyes on HIVE and crypto in general.

I love many topics, the topics I love I will try to write and post about. Follow me if you want to.
Peace,
@pinkfloyd878

Sort:  

Congratulations @pinkfloyd878! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 700 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP