Mermay

in #onchainart4 years ago

Greetings HIVEans
Still trying to get my grip over how to color and how to use markers. For this I'm using the mermay challenge (draw a mermaid everyday of may, yay)
One of more recent
..... Behold...

#rescued
foq3ed.jpg
That violet crab in the back is a vampire crab - a beautiful creature, but sadly I did not manage to capture it's awesome colors. Will keep trying though.
Below is a "work in progress" shot which I heavily considered leaving as a final art because of had no idea what colors use on the foreground characters
Sorry ... I'm using my phone to make this post - It displays image oriented normally in the preview but when uploaded it gets turned around - anybody has idea how to get around this?
a7tapq.jpg

Let me know what you think of hues and values I have used, I feel still in the dark here...

A bonus!
for those who stood with me up to this point:
ink only #mermaid #crustacean princess
774lmf.jpg

That's it for now
Cheers!

Sort:  

Pretty sure apple phones always apply some kind of forced rotation on photos. The forced rotation even sticks when I carry the photo to my non-apple PC computer to edit it. Changing the rotation from a photo viewer does not actually change the rotation saved to the file.

Possible Solution: Edit the photo rotation from your photo app before you send the file anywhere else, and I would think that could fix everything. Otherwise save it as a new file copy and edit the rotation.

I really like your art style and color choices. What kind of tool and color media are you using?

Besides for my phone being an Android device I guess the root of the problem is the same. Will try this next time. Thank you very much :)

Awesome! The first thing grabbed me was the colors of the crab, then I read you didn't manage to capture it's awesome colors(?!). It looks great to me! Great piece overall. Hues are on point, values look good, didn't think they could be better until I read you wanted an opinion, then the savage critic we all have inside popped up XD I guess more contrast or darker values in the shadows would emphasize all forms a bit more. But as it is, is cool. And the shrimprincess haha, love her highness gesture.

Great thanks for feed back. I guess you're right about the contrast, I see it more now on computer screen then in my sketchbook.
Cheers :)