You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lose The Imposter's Syndrome!

in #onelovedtube6 years ago

Really cool video @oliviasamman! I'm an art instructor at University in California and I can tell you from experience that what you're feeling is super common. It's definitely something that every artist goes through.

My advice would be to give yourself time and room to fail, and to not be afraid of failure, to embrace it actually. What I mean by that is if you're out there doing what you just mentioned, basically trying new things you've never done before, and putting yourself out there to achieve your goals. There is a very good chance that you will fail in the beginning and that's fine. It's just a part of the process.

In order to grow you always have to be pushing yourself out of your comfort zone, and with that, the risk of failure increases. Most people are too crippled by their fear to step out and just go for whatever it is that they want, but what I've found is when you can stop viewing failure as something to be avoided and see it more as a part of the journey to you reaching your goals, it goes from something that beats down your motivation, to something that can empower it. Good Luck! :)

Sort:  

Hey wow thanks! That was so lovely to read. I agree, there's definitely a high risk of failure and it deters a lot of people (including me). I think with being an artist too it's easy to fall into the thoughts of it would be so much easier if this.. or I wish my path was planned out for me like law students/med students, etc "it would be so much better to be doing something like them/that."

I can feel that it's all a process and I'm slowly building my skills and confidence and getting to where I need to be!

Thanks for your kind words :))))