One photo every day: Macro photography on a budget (127/365) + howto (with pictures)

in #onephotoeveryday7 years ago (edited)

20171030_004907-1.jpg
A reasonably sharp object


Hello again!

@magnata was asking me about the costs of macro photography so I decided to do a quick howto for those who are interested in doing some macro, but don't necessarily want to spend a macro doing it.

So here we go...

First you'll need a mobile phone that can take pictures (yes, I guess you already have one). Then you may want to invest in something like a macro lens, or a small magnifier loupe:


You might want to buy something like this...


...or maybe this...


...or just something like this.

These three photos are the property of whoever shot them, not me. Click on the pictures and you'll get to the referenced pages selling some products!

Anyway, you may even have an old magnifying glass forgotten in some drawer, locker or cabinet. That'll do nicely.

What I use I may have already mentioned, it's an old Agfa-Gewaert 8x magnifying loupe, pictured here, with a chili:

Chili in the loupe. (122/365)
Chili in the loupe.

I only taped it on the back of my smartphone, but it works. :)


masking tape, works every time

So that's about it. Maybe macro photography isn't so expensive after all.

Video demo:

Oh, btw, shooting macro on a DSLR is almost equally affordable, just search for "reverse macro ring".

It's possible to shoot photos even by free-holding a lens backwards, just not too easy. I tried doing one or two of those when I was studying photography in school. I would have showed those photos, but I couldn't find them. (I suppose they are on my fried up external back-up disk.)

Well, I think I've spent a good part of the night (I should have been sleeping) by creating this post, so I guess I'll just say good night, and let you guys read it. :)

See you again with another post!



Public OPED Project Announcement:



One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: Project 365 // Eighteenth week in pictures (18/52)]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:

First week in pictures (1/52)
Second week in pictures (2/52)
Third week in pictures (3/52)
Fourth week in pictures (4/52)
Fifth week in pictures (5/52)
Sixth week in pictures (6/52)
Seventh week in pictures (7/52)
Eighth week in pictures (8/52)
Ninth week in pictures (9/52)
Tenth week in pictures (10/52)
Eleventh week in pictures (11/52)
Twelfth week in pictures (12/52)
Thirteenth week in pictures (13/52)
Fourteenth week in pictures (14/52)
Fifteenth week in pictures (15/52)
Sixteenth week in pictures (16/52)
Seventeenth week in pictures (17/52)
Eighteenth week in pictures (18/52)




Tomorrow's breakfast (120/365)
I visited the library today... (121/365)
Chili in the loupe. (122/365)
Abstract (123/365)
Abstract 2 (124/365)
Winter stream (125/365)
Supernova (126/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

nice post my friend, thanks a lot for sharing your experience and knowledge regarding macro photography with us, i should also try it. Stay awesome

I like the idea of using magnifying glass! It is brilliant and a great DIY project for the day!

@gamer00,
Actually you are the first person who tells me about Macro photography! It's amazing! Thanks for sharing friend!

Cheers~

magnifying clip looks nice does it really work that great

I am really happy that you know and can impact knowledge to people not only through photography but also through many things that you know and have tried out.

I m unaware of macrophotography, thanks for the detailed description.

Nice and innovative way for microphotography. Nice to know this kind of method. Nice and upvoted.

Thanks for this tutorial, I never knew about macro photography. So, I could actually take quality photos from my phone? I'm resteeming this post to educate my followers too..Thank you @gamer00

Thanks for the lesson, I'll try, I have a macro theme on the camera, but it does not focus, but maybe I'm doing something wrong. If it turns out I'll show it. And then really not expensive. Thanks.

Awesome post with smooth imagine.

Wonderful Photography& great post.
Upvote Resteem

@steem-marketing has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

@eileenbeach has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

New work

Best DSLR shooting. thanks for the article.

For your post propagation.
Upvote/Resteem

Excellent post @gamer00 thanks for sharing

Nice info for macro photography.

Useful article

oh wow these are some great tool for pro photography :)

Thanks for this post now i know how to shoot :)

Nicely said buddy ,The way it is described it does sounds easy though


excellent macro photography & nice set of tools that can be used with smart phone @gamer00

@resteemia

@gamer00 - Sir this is the 1st time I saw equipment that can be used to get macro photography.... Nice tips Sir... To get more audience, I wish to ReSteem your post.

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

you have made photography more interesting

wow little things can make huge difference wow