One photo every day: A Game of Chess (173/365)

in #onephotoeveryday6 years ago (edited)

knight
The Knight

Camera body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: Sigma ART 50 mm ƒ/1.4
Aperture: ƒ/2.5
Exposure:  1/60 s
ISO: Dual-ISO 100+200


I don't know if it's just me, but the English naming of the Chess pieces seems a bit wrong. Although I don't think the "Bishop" (that looks like a knight) should be "a delivery boy", "messenger" or a "courier" either. ;)

The Finnish names for the pieces are "Kuningas" (King), "Kuningatar" (Queen), "Lähetti" (Courier), "Hevonen" (Horse), "Torni" (Tower), and "Sotilas" (Soldier). In olden times we used to call the Pawn as "Nihti" which also means Knight. (So we have gone a bit astray in the naming too.)

A little detail that I didn't know about Chess is, that its name, at least the one we use in Finnish; "Shakki" comes from the Persian word "šāh" (shah) which means "king".

But hey, it's a fun game to play, although I do prefer Go (Weiqi) over Chess. Miro is quite fascinated with Chess for some reason so he often asks me to play it. He's even quite good at it.

Btw. Sorry for the late posting of this, as I had dropped out cold on the sofa last night and woke up at 2 am, hadn't edited the photo yet, and writing this post took quite a bit longer than I thought it would.

More photos of this game of Chess on Flickr.

See you again soon!

Edit: Just noticed I had written the title wrong, as "one post every day", LOL. Corrected now.



Public OPED Project Announcement:



One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: One photo every day: Distortion (172/365)]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


 

a Penguin and 2 Kuksas (166/365)
Gryffindor / Rohkelikko (167/365)
Since I've been so busy this week, this evening I'm having a break with my wife, and some dark beer. (168/365)
Three caballeros (169/365)
Candle lanterns (170/365)
Finally (171/365)
Distortion (172/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

Well, I like the game of chess, I know the names but I get confused at times... I know:

The King,
The Queen,
The Bishops,
The Castles,
The Knights,
The Nooks.

Is it a "white knight"?
Why not a bleck knight?
:D

Wow...wonderful photograpy idea by @gamer00
My chess knowledge is not good...but I'm realy like chess...
That is amazing click sir...
Good luck...

@gamer00,
I don't think the "Bishop" (that looks like a knight) should be "a delivery boy", "messenger" or a "courier" either. ;)
You are absolutely correct! And not only this great photography I also learnt something new via this article! Anyway after all, you just made a brilliant photography again!

Cheers~

i m not a good player of chess but i like it and i was play it with my brother many time its a really a mind blowing game @gamer00 and we also use the word shah in my parent home town islammbad

This is great article and very beautiful photography
Thanks @gamer00
Have a nice day

just love to play chess....

amazing...just love it

wonderfull shot of cess in black n white and some explanation is also make this more attractive i also a small player

I want to learn how to play this game, nice shot.

I'm not a fan of chess, but I'm always intrigued my the styles of the board and the pieces, I really love this picture, so perfectly in focused, really nice contrast. Love it!

Good photography,Chess is my favorite indoor game.

I like chess, nice pic

Wonderful photo.

Excellent photography
100% like and resteem

@gamer00 - Sir this photography is pretty awesome & your information about Chess also fantastic....

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

best chess game

sir im a chess player but i never wondered about the history of this game or how their names came into use..but after reading your short and sweet story i felt a desire to search for the history of this game..thanks alot sir..you showed me an unknown side in something i believed that i know.. :) nice story and nice photo..

Wow very very beautiful photography this is

The horse looks stunning and the chess game is awesome too good shot bro

the knight dark rises ;p i am a noob in playing this

This brightens my day with such an awesome shot

and i don't even know the names too just like to know the moves it has haha a beautiful shot in the dark

interesting shot first of all and then interesting thinking too ;)

the naming scheme needs to be correct well doesn't seem to be happening now hahah but its a great shot

i am not smart as you this is a bit hard game to understand at first but your photography is just perfect

interesting click so good to see that

good shot very nice it looks thanks for sharing