A Jamaicans perspective to making money on the internet...and now Steemit.

in #online7 years ago

Introduction:

Good day Steemers. I first saw an ad about Steemit.com last night and I got excited like I always do when I see a new opportunity revealing itself before me. Let me first give you a background on myself. My name is Valentino and I am living in Jamaica currently (the Real Jamaica "The Island" not Jamaica Queens in New York. Where incidentally my 15 yo son now resides with his mother. This is a paradise but more so a paradise for people who can afford it. I have been in banking for many years and one would think I would be loaded, but I am not. jobs here in Jamaica don't pay as much as other countries. $1 US Dollar is equal to $129 Jamaican Dollars today, so you see Americans or Europeans can come and enjoy here more than I can.I lost my job and used the money I had, all of it actually to start a printing business, that's not really doing so well now for the ten months I have started. So funds are dangerously low. So my goal is simple, I want to be able to afford to enjoy where I live and be able to send some money for my son as much as his mother currently makes more than I do, while regain some dignity as an Entrepreneur.

My Landlady's Garden

Making Money online

I have been trying to make money online for years now. I have listened to youtube videos, bought training packages that at the end of it taught me nothing more than what I would have learned for free on Youtube. I have wasted money I think, but I try not to think of it as a waste, but an expensive learning experience. I don't want to call names of the sites or schemes I have signed up for and have tried unsuccessfully, but lets just say they really know how to make money from people who don't really know much about the internet. Imagine me spending $1000 USD already on trying to learn how to make money online. That works out to $129,000 Jamaican Dollars. That's a lot of money for me and I have never once earned a dime from that investment. I did invest more than that though, just giving some perspective.

Steemit.com

So back to Steemit.com, a savior for the little people, a warrior for the unknowns who want to Blog. This is really my first ever Blog in my life. So that's 1 point for Steemit so far. I have always wanted to do this but always had to be trying to get a site up, Wordpress this and that. I hear about pressing words I think of an Iron pressing stuff out like my shirt. I just want to start writing! So thank you steemit.com for helping me with this.

Crowd Funding

One thing that got my attention in the ad about Steemit.com though, is the crowdfunding. My first thoughts were that is Great! I could actually get some money towards my many ideas and maybe towards paying my rent before I get kicked out on the streets. But another thought came to me...How many people actually are here just to make money without the regards for being honest? If I say I needed money for rent would someone be nice enough to help and if yes will this be a trend for others? I am new here so I don't know much but I would love to think I am a part of a community with people of integrity. I am here to make money online, but I like to work and to give content and be appreciated for the content than to ask, unless I am in dyer need. I hope other members share my sentiments so that when I am able to donate money I will feel assured that the cause is a genuine one.

My Focus

My dream is to write a book about my life...well my sex life from a teenager coming to this age and how I evolved into the man I am today. So I will be sharing a few chapters if not all to see how people like them. Also with my experience with women, relationships and pleasing a woman . I think I am competent to give advise on what to do and not to do. So again I thank Steemit.com for this platform. Power to freedom of speech!!

I intend to make this my home from now on and hope I get a warm welcome from my new family!

Sort:  

Congratulations @moneytino! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I am not sure how to make money on my posts. anyone reading this could give me some hints? Need a steemit mentor