Is ONO the next Steemit?

in #ono6 years ago (edited)

a6.gif
Source

If that's what you have in mind, clearly you have not done your research well.

Here’s the answer for you:

No, ONO never claims to be the next Steemit.

So whatever questions you have in mind, it is best that you wait for the launch, explore it and then decide for yourself.

And here’s why.

ONO is a DApp, a Decentralised Social Media platform whereby Steemit is a Decentralised Blogging platform.

It is like Facebook versus Blogger.

See the difference? The only similarity shared is that both are online platforms and part of a blockchain system but still, they serve different purposes.

Every day, humans are guided by their preferences and mood.

C8.gif
Source

In some days you may feel like writing longer postings, sharing your thoughts, pouring your heart out, coming up with how-to guides or some motivational stories, so the perfect solution for you to go for is Steemit.

And there are days when you just feel like being on a social media platform where you just want to check out friends statuses, photos and videos then you can go for ONO.

Whichever platform that you choose, both will still reward you and as a user myself, I dont see why I cannot use both.

Frankly I don’t see how any one is ‘greedy’ exploring and using both to earn too.

It’s really a personal choice and no one should stop you from using them both at the same time.

In terms of rewarding systems and values, both platform are also different. At the end of the day it’s all about user’s interests and that they get paid or rewarded accordingly and fairly.

Do I see the possibility of cross promoting one’s posting on Steemit and ONO?

Yes why not? I can write my post on Steemit and then share my link on ONO for my friends or followers to click and see!

So there are definitely ways that both platforms can explore to work together because both works and rewards differently.

After all both are built for the same objective and rightfully, it is to put users interest first above anything else.

P3.gif

angiechin28

Something About Angiechin28

Angie Chin is a Mom with a mission and founder of WonderWomen.Asia, the first online portal in Malaysia that connects Women to affordable online learning, community activities, shareable contents, events, jobs and go-to market opportunities. At home, she’s a mommy to a 10 year old daughter, 6 furbabies + a grown babe. She loves travelling, cooking, exploring new food, reading and watching re-runs on Youtube.

Regularly posting up her ramblings and sharing contents (current favorites are Facebook & Instagram), she loves Steemit for rewarding users with cryptocurrency by just creating and posting up contents, even by liking, voting or commenting other people’s contents!

To start earning, sign up for Steemit! Post up your original contents and you can almost start seeing the ka-ching in your account before you know it. Best of all, it is FREE (Love the word FREE).

Life tagline (for now): Never be afraid to try anything once!

Follow @mywomen aka SteemitBabes (if you’d like to be part of a Women’s group so we can resteem good contents from you).

I have also recently found something interesting that closely resonate with my personal values and I found it on #ono and I am delighted to share this with you if you are keen!

Drop her a note at [email protected]

Sort:  

This post 💙 The comparison of Facebook to Blogger is so perfect, because the two are ENTIRELY different, just like ONO and Steemit. Keep up the great work!

Thanks!! Yes indeed BOTH are totally unrelated.

This was a good thing to do! These discussions about which one is better just don‘t make sense.

Yes! I think we should make it clear. There is no direct-head-on with Steemit. The Community are the users and its freewill to decide which platform they work with best. Both serves different purpose and rewards differently too.

Excellent points Angie. That's exactly how I saw it as well - a blogging platform vs a social media platform. I have yet to see why both can't co-exist and perhaps even help each other. I'd love it if I could write a blog post or series and then interact with others in a social media situation.

If you look at the traditional way of doing things, that's exactly what happens. I write a Word Press or website blog and then have a FaceBook page or group for a free wheeling discussion of the ideas presented in the post. The FB or other platform users interact and go to the blog and vice versa. I'm truly excited about ONO for many reasons, but will not be giving up my blog posting on Steemit anytime soon.

We shouldn't stop contributing in Steemit. If its indeed build for users, it is up to us to choose which platform we like to use for whichever purpose. I agree, its great alternatives for us. Imagine Youtube Vs Dlive Vs Dtube, similar isn't it? but difference audience, same concept. I dont see why we cant use all THREE! Lols

Awesome post about the two platforms. I think people are panicking with ono coming out and lots of people are powering down. I still believe steemit has an incredibly bright future:) I’m following you now due to your informative post.

Thank you @stevenalexander! I am just sharing my thoughts to address their fears. I do think both platforms should work together and support the users, not the other way around. But I guess the founders issues are the reasons why these fears starting to surface.

Nothing wrong with using both to earn, so long as you are providing good content and people enjoy it, that's what matters and as you said, one is more for blogging and one is more social media based.

I am waiting on international release of ONO to use it myself, but I plan on supporting both through their use and frankly, just happy that doing things most of us normally would do is rewarded based on what the posts are like.

Yes @thegoliath! I agree, as long as we enjoy reading each other's contents, it doesnt really matter which platforms they are posted on.

Well, I've been waiting for an alternative to FB. Stands to reason a social media platform can run on a blockchain and let all those upvotes help the participants instead of Mark Zukerberg.

So far, Ono only is made for Android & iPhones. Not sure why they didn't also launch a web page interface. Any idea when this will happen?

Good points @fakeinternetnews. I think they started off with Android and iPhones first as its easier to manage while on the go (perhaps there are more mobile users than interface). But I am sure they will look into web eventually.

Nobody was threatened when dtube came, when twitch came, when they monetized youtube. Nobody is threatened by telegram, twitter, facebook. I see people from steemit use them all. Lets face it neither cryptos or social media will ever be under one umbrella.

Yes! You summed it right @empath! Telegram Vs Wechat Vs Whatsapp and then Youtube vs Dtube vs Dlive or even Grab vs Uber or Booking.com vs Agoda vs Traveloka, they are similar in their respective categories and we all have used them one way another - and nobody makes a fuss. And then ONO vs Steemit? Both are clearly different and rewards differently too, so what gives? Lols.

It's about time someone laid that out for those who fear. Thank you @angiechin

The fear should not even be there in the first place. But I guess people will always be afraid or worried about something they are not clear with @faustofraser.

I completely agree and when I saw the live demo of Ono the first thing that I saw was how different it is from Steemit which is a blogging platform.

I plan to use both and to cross link my posts. It is the best of both worlds and may even open more opportunities for people.

I have never understood the need to just stay in one platform and be "loyal" life is always about choices and what you want to do at the moment.

I will have those days that I want to write long posts and then I will have those moments I just want to share something funny with my friends and families.

Ditto @maverickinvictus! Users are spoilt with options these days and we should be able to use whichever platforms we are comfy with as long as it serves its function/purpose.

I agree Angie and each platform has its merits and demerits.

We should be able to choose what works for us!

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Do not count on it

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.