ONO test version is Go!

in #ono6 years ago (edited)

uX1N6ix.jpg

So, another few weeks of craziness has ensued since I last posted.

Mainly, I’m going to talk about ONO, for two reasons. One is that it's what I've spent most of my time working on and/or thinking about. The other is that most of the rest of the time I’ve spent grading student assignments, which is really only interesting for the first few hours, and no one wants to hear about that.

The big news is that a test version of the ONO international edition app is available. This has been an...emotionally taxing... experience for both users and super partners alike, with the ONO English telegram channel and ONO Tech Support running hot with bug reports, frustration, and deep ONOT FOMO. My hope is that things will continue to improve as the developers work through the masses of reports that we are sending back to them.

Ke Xu coming in for almost daily AMA's has been invaluable (@vasil-danev has done a great job of recapping them), and she's take a lot of time to answer individual user concerns and questions.

On that note, there have been a lot of interesting details about ONO coming out in these AMA’s. I can’t cover all of them, but here are a few that are highlights for me:

  • No self-voting! (I've confirmed this in the app)

  • Vested ONOT appears to not be the sole determinant of how much power you have over allocating the incentive pool.

  • Another 29 billion ONOT to be available for sale as needed. (ICO is on, right now!)

  • Confirmation of an ONO API (which anyone who read the white paper would have known anyway). Want to create the ONO equivalent of @Dtube or @steemmonsters? Now’s your chance! There is provision in the white paper for ONOT to be set aside to fund such projects too.

There have been some interesting discussions in the ONO English telegram channel too, and I’ve been surprised, not so much by the questions raised, but by the people raising them. For example, I expect a certain well-known steem witness to start giving away some of their hundreds of thousands of dollars worth of SP, seeing as they are suddenly concerned with questions of economic equality (you know who you are). (I'm so behind with my writing, that this observation is a few week sold now. Strangely enough, that particular argument has largely subsided, for the moment.)

Anyway, now we move into a new phase of the operation, one that will involve less translation and proofreading of white papers, apps, and websites. The real work of looking after a fledgling social network and blockchain ecology finally begins!

Related to this, as a super partner, I need to make something clear: Once that Dapp officially goes live, I work for the users of ONO, not Ke Xu or the founding team. From the first real elections and referendums, super partners will be hired and fired by those same ONO users (one verified account = one vote) - that’s the decentralised model we are working towards. Once you are an ONO user, I represent you. Exactly what this entails is something that I'm discovering over time - lots of lessons to learn, including not making guarantees that are not in my power to make come true (thanks @dj123 for pointing that out).

Anyway, if you are on ONO and you need to tell/ask me something, you can find me using this QR code (bugs notwithstanding), on telegram as @samueldouglas, discord as SamD (at samueldouglas)#3038, or you can just leave a comment below.
photo6244622221066741830.jpg

Anyway, it’s nuts now as the devs work towards getting that app out there, and the super partners do their best to act in the interests of ONO users. If you do go and download it from the ONO website: please note: IT WILL STILL BE IN BETA (though hopefully not for as long as some other projects I won’t mention). So, any feedback you can give on what works and what doesn’t would be very helpful. I can't lie, it's pretty buggy right now. But if you can handle that, it might be worth a look.

As always thanks for reading - see you on one chain or another!

DQmcHbDwtkt18cJR6NGVtp8WKwrvmqPPXETb2Ty1pGH3Zg9_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

HYPE!! Fuck yeah man I’m so excited. Thanks for this info, I’ve been waiting for ONO international release for awhile. You rock, see you on the other side (hopefully)!

Like I said, it is buggy at this stage. But that's kind of fun too, sometimes.

So the app is up and running? What does buggy mean?....like getting virus and malware in your computer? I've been looking forward to checking it out but I don't want to fight a lot of bugs doing it. lol.

A beta (and I really mean that) version is out. I’ve spent a lot of time in the tech support room this past week, and I’ve seen no reports of virus or malware etc. by ‘buggy’ I mean that there are sometimes connection problems, things don’t always display properly, posts and payouts can disappear and reappear, referral codes seem to work (or not) by a logic that no one understands - that sort of thing. If that sounds like it might cause you to throw your phone at the wall, I would completely understand, and would advise you to sit tight and wait for a stable version.

I just checked my email and I haven't gotten anything further from them of a notification since I first signed up a couple weeks back. Do I have to do that process again?

Not that I’m aware of, but I am following this issue to make sure that people who have applied for codes do actually get invites when the app is officially released.

Okay, I'll keep checking my email. Thanks.

I’ll post an announcement when I have word that the invites are immanent.

infinity slide captcha is there in my app i cannot add or post anything...hope they will fix soon

Lots of people have had that issue, including one of the super partners. Please make sure you report it in the ONO tech support channel.

Brother, I have upvote and commented to you. Please make me upvote 1. You will not have any harm in it. But for your sake I will be much benefited so please, please brother just 1 upvote me..please ... please..please ..

Dude, you read so fast. It's almost like you are spamming comments. But you did vote for me...weird.

i would add good news from u guys! ono great rewards coming up for all of us! who's excited? https://www.kucoin.com/#/rank/ONOT

Hi. I would like to have a chat with you about your ONO experience . Are you on discord ?

Not much lately, but I should really get back on, as there is much work to do here and I’m not an ONO super partner any more.

ono is in second round of their trading comp! Trade and trade everyone for we might win huge amount of rewards! Its 7 BTC, 147,000,000 ONOT plus Travel Packages!

Or, we might perpetuate a system where the market price of ONOT makes a mockery of Ke Xu and various pre-list private vendors talking up the price in order to line their own pockets.

Congratulations @samueldouglas! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!