Open Mic Week 28 -- "Angel in Disguise" Original Song performed by @BassBoatRadio

in #openmic7 years ago

Open Mic Week 28 -- "Angel in Disguise" 

Hey gang, hope everyone is well.... Just got back from taking my son on a spring break trip, been looking forward to getting back on Steemit & catching up.....

This song is a collaboration between Jeff Baxter & me, and TBH, I'm not sure it's finished..... He played me a track mix of the chorus and melody a few weeks ago, and said "hey, can you write a couple verses for this? If it comes out well, we can pitch it." So I took a stab at it, and here's what I've come up with so far -- opinions welcomed...

Angel In Disguise

V1

As the rain began to fall

I had no one left to call

So I bowed my head in prayer

Looked up & you were there

Soon as you arrived

I knew I'd survive

   Somehow you'd pull me through

CHORUS

You're an angel in disguise (X3)

And I believe in you

V2

I can't quote the bible verse

But I know you reversed the curse

When you look me in the eyes

I feel miracles arise

Thank my lucky stars

You are who you are

   But who could believe it's true?

[CHORUS]

Copyright 2017 Jeff Baxter & Greg Friend
 

Sort:  

One of my favorite songs of yours so far, really powerful, sentimental and heartwarming. Way to put one a great performance bro. My wife loved the video also. Congrats on 1st place, you deserved it!

Great tune brother! I really like your delivery, and the black and white was the icing. Nice to see you back here this week. Well done and good luck.
Brother B

Thank you my friend, I really appreciate the kind words. Hope to see something from you this week!

You're welcome, and I will try to get something up this week.

How many songs do you have like that? You're writing some great stuff there @bassboatradio and I appreciate you sharing them with us on Open Mic.

Great delivery and heartfelt. I think it could use a short 2-3 line bridge after the second verse, then back to the chorus, as opposed to a third verse. The song is so to the point and aimed right at the heart that it doesn't need much more. Just my thoughts. Love your contribution here and keep 'em comin' Thanks.

Thx man, solid suggestion. Hmm....

I've got a few hundred songs man -- some are better than others, and some are just really bad and ridiculous.. Took about 10-12 years off, so just now having fun unpacking & working some of them up. Pine Trees and this song are new.

Appreciate the encouragement, homie & thanks for hosting this

Wow man. Really good. That delivery on " And I believe in you" is killer. Best of luck to you and keep releasing those songs.

Thx Doc, really enjoyed your entry this week too.

Man ... that's really nice. I'm liking the way the whole thing fits together , but I particularly like the chord progressions and how the vocals fit in with them. Cool.

Thank you @betelzeus, much appreciated! Cool name btw

Awesome song and tune! Flawless guitar and vocals. Reminds me a little bit like the style of The Horrible Crowes. Good song writers as well.

Thanks @AmbientHex, I'll have to check out the Horrible Crowes

Good one here. Surprised they are not more popular. Something about your tune reminded me of their style.

Sweet thx, love that style of music.....slithering dirges

Congratulations @bassboatradio! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @bassboatradio! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!