Steemit Open Mic Week 70 - The Bike Song (An Original)

in #openmic6 years ago

Hello fellow steemers

My entry for this weeks open mic competition is a little song titled: The Bike Song. It was written as part of a new album that I am in the process of writing and recording. The song engages with feelings of joy after seeing a family member recovering from an illness but it also has a melancholic undertone that suggests how we often fail to learn from our mistakes.

Lyrics

I hope your on your bike again
going through the motion
and its going to take some time
till we rest at home

But nothing ever changes
oh, but nothing ever changes

And its that time of year again
oh, when you lend a hand
its only when
you warm cold bones

oh, but nothings ever changing
oh, but nothings ever changing

Your bike could fly away
Over all the rooftops and into the bright night sky
to forget those sad days when sleeping on the floor
and crying why do we dream of wonderful things
of wonderful things, that a new life brings
it keeps us moving along
it keeps us moving on

I hope you enjoy this one
Thank you for your support

Byron

Sort:  

Is Bike a synonym for something else? I wonder, haha, someone back with an ex who they should be clear of?
Sounds nice man, reminds me of Keane. Some nice guitar playing.

haha yes thats right! The idea of the bike was a kind of analogy for overcoming sickness and having the strength to ride again. But really its open to any form of interpretation : ) Thanks for listening

amazing melody Byron! hope ur entry does well in the openmic this week mate! good luck :)

Thanks bro I really appreciate your support.

your good my friend . I am loving your lyric work. great performance nice playing great voice. tops

i love 😍❤️

I am writing this post while I am listening to you and thinking that: "But nothing ever changes". Thanks bro good job and good luck @byrongrant

Wow what a great voice and playing! Awesome brother!

good piece, I'm following you and I invite you to follow me and see my last open mic post
https://steemit.com/openmic/@misc.jocs/steemit-openmic-week-70-pan-de-vida-cover-drum

What a great sound you have. Hope to hear more from you soon.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thank you for this wonderful opportunity and competition @luzcypher. Yes I'm really looking forward to sharing more songs in the near future. All the best.

I love when you play guitar

Gorgeous guitar sound right from the start, and a very cool voice. Congrats on such a successful entry!

hey @kayclarity really glad you liked the song! Thanks so much for taking the time to listen.

Awesome mate..

I love the melody and rhythm of this song. So soothing to the ears. Hoping your entry will win in the open mic competition. Good Luck @byrongrant

Great track! I really enjoyed it!
Upvoted!

The lyrics are very touching my friend, hopefully you can finish it @byrongrant