🎵 Steemit Open Mic Songwriters Challenge - My Personal Recap

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Twenty days ago, I completed the final round of an epic 8-week event called the Steemit Open Mic Songwriters Challenge, hosted by @luzcypher and sponsored by @meno. Looking back on this contest, I think it is my best effort on Steemit so far, and so it feels OK to give myself a hug and high-five, along with extending my heart-felt thanks to a few of you.

Steemit Open Mic Songwriters Challenge

The Story

I believe I was one of the earliest and most enthusiastic advocates of the Songwriters Challenge. Long before the event launched, I promised to participate in making the contest the best it could be. Each week, I submitted an original song, commented on some of the standout tracks created by my peers, and promoted the #openmic through posts, replies, upvotes, and resteems.

Every Steemian knows it is very humbling to put our art (from the heart) out there to be seen or ignored, criticized or applauded... so of course this experience lived up to its title as a "Challenge." In fact, it felt like an Initiation, to me. Like a Rite of Passage that pushed me to a wall, and then a ceiling, and then a breakthrough or two.


The Music

Here's the full collection of eight original songs I wrote for the Steemit Open Mic Songwriters Challenge. I'm listing them in an order based on my own taste preferences, beginning with my personal favorite, but you'll notice a wide variance in the way these songs were perceived by others. I believe I'll win the award for "Songwriter Ninja Of The Year" because I managed to slip through the entire contest without making the list of top performances or honorable mentions. I'm magic like that. ;)

Happy to report that I've grown immensely in my musicianship, ever since joining the #openmic five months ago, and I've learned some quality character traits as a human being. I've also gained a strong sense of kinship with a number of the other artists, e.g. @chrisroberts, @basilmarples, @paulhallman, @sazzler... So I'm really grateful for that. I've earned some STEEM along the journey too, and that always helps to justify the time and energy investment.

1. Right Place Right Time

Right place right time
The stars align
Right here right now
Some way somehow

In the sleeping meadow fire flickers awake
Dreams dashing away like a mustang
Hooves and heart lub-dubbing with booming
I hoot and howl like a wolf to the moon

Right place right time...

Fire flashes at my feet on the ground
Rising through the top of my crown
And the wind lifts my breath like a rattlesnake ghost
As a prayer goes up in smoke

Right place right time…

Some invisible force is moving me to tears
Eyes stinging as I face my fears
Throat burning I am all out of words
I sit and listen to the singing birds

Right place right time…


2. Broken Mirror

He was a mohawk hipster party-seeking
She was a braided hippie granola-eating
Met in Austin started rock ‘n’ rolling
Soon left Texas to pursue country living

He got ready to be a rad daddy
She got ready to be a hot mama
Suddenly they had a five-member family
In a wild world getting wildly heavy

[One sun reflecting on a broken mirror
Echoes many suns all at once] 2x

He let his inner animal howl
She let her inner animal roar out
Broke many mirrors as a man and a woman
Broke many more mirrors married with children

[One sun reflecting on a broken mirror
Echoes many suns all at once] 2x

He saw himself when he saw his daughter
She saw herself when she saw her sons
They learned to be mirrors for each other
Reflecting the light and growing together

[One sun reflecting on a broken mirror
Echoes many suns all at once] 4x


3. Far Out In Oregon

Behind eyes closed
My heart goes coasting
Over the edge of Oregon
Getting life in motion

Windswept shores
Old growth forests
Cattle guards on country roads
Fields filled with roses

Far out in Oregon
This tornado goes to unwind
Blowing in the breeze to the great big ocean
Gonna ease this little troubled mind

Moving forward
Further inward
My heart remembers
Windy winter blizzards

Reflections on Crater Lake
Listening to meadowlarks
With evening coyotes
Howling in the cedar trees

Far out in Oregon...

My heart advances
To future glances
New songs new dances
Adventures and romances

In Bend in Redmond
In Ashland in Portland
Cannon Beach
With loved ones with me

Far out in Oregon...


4. Ah Eve

Ah Eve let’s get away
To the Garden of Eden

I will be your mister
Will you be my miss

Ah Eve let’s be together
Where we belong

I believe we can bring
Heaven here now

Ah Eve let’s have a little
Slice of paradise

And we will share the apple
Because we can


5. Lost Until I Found You

My heart remembers a winter when
I was colder than the snowmen
And the clouds refused to let the sun shine
Shadows dominated my mind

I was lost until I found you
I was a nomad without a home
Lost until I found you
I was a nobody with no one

My heart remembers a summer when
I was wilder than a forest fire
And the smoke refused to let the sun shine
Ashes dominated my mind

I was lost until I found you...

My heart remembers another sky
I was floating in the clouds featherlight
Drifting like a kite without a string
When I met you in the heights drifting with me

I was lost until I found you
I was a nomad without a home
Maybe I’m still lost but I found you
Now I’m somebody with someone


6. Rosebud

A sun arrives on a horizon
Colors come out of hiding on a mountain
An old woman who time forgot
Receives a rosebud growing in a flower pot

And by the grace of Mother Mary
A woman learns to cultivate a rose
Witnessing the way she holds the sunshine
Witnessing the way she bears the rain

A storm appears on a countryside
A widow mourns a passing life
A rosebush soaked in dew drops
Shows a first rose budding in a flower pot

And by the grace of Mother Mary...

A woman adores a rose
Growing more alive as a flower grows
Facing all the sun rays and rain storms
Embracing all the petals and the thorns

And by the grace of Mother Mary...

A sun sets on a horizon
Colors go into hiding on a mountain
An open rose begins to wither
Mother Mary brings the rosebud home with Her

Hm-mm-mm-hm


7. The Pearl

They call this girl the Pearl
A psychedelic rainbow swirl
She is a sight to behold
She has a voice so beautiful

They say the world is her oyster
Her singing brings a band to join her
They take the show on the road
She has a voice so full of soul

Her audience adores
The way she opens up their doors
She brings them out of their shells
Reveals the pearls inside themselves

The Pearl’s singing draws them
By the hundreds and thousands
They take a piece of her heart
They steal a piece of her soul

Her audience adores...

They pierce the skin of the Pearl
They make a pearl necklace out of her
They take a piece of her heart
They steal a piece of her soul

Her audience adores...


8. Adios To The Blues

Adios to the blues
The coldest of hues
I’m choosing a warmer color
To help me through the Winter

Navy blue baby blue royal
I’m letting every shade go
Every sign of depression
Every reminder of cold

Oh depths of the sea
Oh heights of the sky
I will wait for you in the night
In the black absence of light

Here in the dark
Where no blues to harm me
I close my eyes and go far
Through the tones of my guitar

Red minor chords sensual
Yellow chords intellectual
Bringing me to the eventual
Blue chords spiritual

Oh depths of the sea..


The Acknowledgements

So amazing to see the Open Mic expanding, and reaching the masses! Just this week, I noticed one of my all-time favorite musicians ( @benleemusic ) joined us here, and if anyone's new to Ben Lee's music, you've got to hear his song, "Gamble Everything For Love." Really exciting seeing the number of participants rising so rapidly.

Thanks again to @meno and @luzcypher for co-creating the Open Mic Songwriters Challenge, and thanks to @passion-ground for being so fair, honest, and generous as a judge. Cheers to all of the Open Mic as a whole, including all of the sponsors, judges, participants, and audience members. Thank you all for being here and supporting live music.

This post contains 100% original content by @cabelindsay.

Sort:  

I am not going to go through all of the judges posts right now but this HAS to be wrong.....there is NO WAY you didn't make a single judges list? I feel like I have SEEN IT with my own eyes.....I refuse to believe it!!! You are way more than a shadowy songwriting ninja Cabe, you are a radiant, progressive, authentic, light-bringing songwriter who has my utmost respect for your entire journey, process, and qualities as a guitarist, lyricist and singer. I simply will not have it. You are AWESOME Cabe and it is honour to know you and your music x

I was thinking the same thing. I could have sworn Cabe made some lists.

Ah man, how could I forget you @paulhallman. I added your name above, brother, because I feel like you're another kindred spirit I've grown to know and love through the Steemit Open Mic. Feels like we're all on a big boat together with a bunch of wild animals, and our voices are the winds that push the sail and the instruments are oars that keep us rowing.

Thanks brother. The feeling is mutual. Hopefully I can keep up with the next songwriting contest.

I can't believe he ninjaed through it either.

:) Glad to hear from you, my friend. Man, I'm looking forward to venturing back into the #openmic today, for Week 71!

*** Meno clearing his throat...

hrmm.png

I KNEW IT!!!!! Im afraid we're going to have to officially withdraw your "Songwriter Ninja Of The Year" award on the basis that you have been previously recognised as an AWESOME songwriter. If anyone should have the ninja award it should be @geenaizzy. She entered a song EVERY SINGLE WEEK and did NOT get the recognition she deserved.....she's a lovely songwriter with a really sweet delivery. We should totally make this award for her.....

I agree... geena is a lovely lady!! she gets the ninja award for sure!!

You're right, @geenaizzy is a lovely lady, full of many talents, along with that charming Aussie accent. I'm checking out her "Outtakes" video right now, and I totally relate with that. Reminds me of a subtle comment @onetruebrother made at the end of one of his vids: "...take 100," and then he breathes a sigh of relief because he finally has a proper recording. I have some outtakes videos too, and they largely involve the kids and cats making loud noises in the background.

One thing I notice about @onetruebrother's songs is consistency. Each of his vids is nicely captured on camera, and the audio quality is solid too. These vids of mine are pretty embarrassing, as far as the recordings go. I've got some nice camera gear, you know, and I really outta figure out how to shoot a proper selfie! I think presentation is an important part of the #openmic, and rightly so.

@meno, I treasure your words here. Thank you. Yes, I remember that week. It was my most difficult song to write–the one that pushed me to grow most of all. It felt substantial to "go there" to that deep emotional space, and explore a certain sadness that exists down in my soul.

Honestly, I didn't check every list, so I ought to be a bit more conscientious about what I say. A true songwriting ninja probably wouldn't claim his own ninjaness anyway, so I'll go ahead and join you and @meno in celebrating @geenaizzy as the most honorable songwriting ninja.

I'm really feeling your warmth, brother. Thank you for your words. Thank you for being so kind to me, and helping me to be brave. Thank you for being such a bright and colorful, charismatic, wildfire soul. You and your songs have been so fun to get to know. Thank you for all you share, and for the ways you care.

its a pleasure and an honour Cabe :) Also, Im totally feeling your point about other peoples camera and audio quality making a big difference....Im trying to get that sorted out now.....It would make all the effort that goes in to writing and recording a song all the more worth it!

Zactly. Man, one of these days, we'll iron out a good system for ourselves, and then the recording process will come with ease. And then, with a proper presentation, the focus can be on the music itself.

Thank you for the music you're bringing into the world, Love. I'm proud of you.

I'm grateful to you, you know. That week when you joined me for the chorus is one of my favorite experiences in the #openmic so far. I crave the day when we sing and play together again.

What a truly beautiful recollection of your experience, Cabe. You definitely made a substantial impact, and thank you ever-so-kindly for the special mention. It means a lot to me as I try to be as fair as possible while leading with my heart. Thank you, brother! Much love, and continued success!

Your heart is so big, my brother. Love you back! And thank you.

Nice post.I respect you very much because you contribute to steemit.I will do activities like you.I would like to extend the steemit.

Thanks buddy. Best of luck to you on your new Steemit journey.

Don't give up because you didn't receive the recognition you deserve. Your music is beautiful and from the heart. Hang in there and one day, you will be recognised for the great talent you have...

Thank you, sister. Ah, I feel that! I'm not giving up, because music is medicine to me! I imagine I will sing and play guitar as long as I'm living. This past year, I've found a sound that resonates deep inside myself, and I've managed to capture it in a shareable format only on a few occasions. Usually, this resonance comes at night, in the dark, when I'm singing the kids to sleep. One day, with practice, I believe it will crystalize, and hopefully I'll have a camera rolling. I love you. Thank you again.

This is an awesome retrospective! I need to sit and give your album a good listen. I think I have heard half of the songs, and already it has imprinted upon my memory. It really means a lot to me to see my name mentioned as one of the people you feel a musical kinship with! Brother you are awesome and I totally appreciate making the connection. So many blessings to you, and thank you for your music. °•☆°•

Ah, I feel you, Sister, thank you. You are delightful. Happy trails, and hope to catch you this week in the Open Mic, Week 71. Thank you, thank you again.

:D :D You're in luck, Week 71 has hit like a hail storm! (In fact it was actually snowing here yesterday, that's close enough to hail) thanks for the encouragement to attend the ball again this week °• I'll be keeping an eye out for you too x

Pretty cool, mate

I love what you do Cabe.
Reading the conversation about not yet being recognised or mentioned reminded me of a documentary I watched just yesterday.
It was about a 1970s punk band. The band was called death. They were brothers. One brother in particular David had an immense spiritual journey within the creation, naming, writing and direction of the music.
It took 30 years for his vision and beliefs to be heard.
Keep doing your thing. Keep believing in your vision, your quest.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=RDPDm9_nX0o

This documentary looks killer! Thanks for letting me know about this hidden gem–the music sounds great too. In fact, I saw an outstanding film about The Sex Pistols once, called The Filth And the Fury, and I could barely believe the artistry I saw in that band and that film. One quote from that movie always stuck with me:

It was beautiful in that it was not beautiful.

Punk is so kick-ass like that! It just is what it is. Real. Raw. Rowdy!


Your encouragement is such a gift to me right now. Thank you so much.

Wow!! This post is a m a z I n g!! The music is so sweet and I particularly love #2 because who doesn’t love a love story or a song about love unity and creation?! So beautiful! ❤️😍

Makes my heart smile. Thank you. I really love that song too, and I treasure the moment when we recorded that. That's my wife, and my best friend. She and I are working through a big transition now, as we're beginning to consider opening our relationship. Feels like a fluid thing, as long as we stay in the Flow. Feels like it's meant to be, even though it's brand new, and wild, and unknown territory. My personal attitude is to surrender to the Love that exists in the moment, pursuing what resonates to the highest degree. Know what I mean? Do you have any expertise in this area, by chance?

Aww so nice! I do not know what that all means but it sounds like whatever works, no I do not have experience in that. Big hugs and love to you both. Blessings. xx