🎵 Steemit Open Mic Week 95 - “Flourish” (Original Song)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

SteemitOpenMic-Cabe-Kat-03.jpg

After @wildfamily's exciting debut in last week's #openmic, we're following up with another collaboration. We sure appreciate the warm responses we received from Kat's song, Home. This one we're sharing here is a newer song, written this Winter.


“Flourish”

The Song


The Lyrics

Every wildflower knows how to walk hold the earth
Aware of the way of the wind we remember to bend
When we bear fruit we present our seeds to the breeze
Trusting the wind to allow us to continue to flourish

Flourish [4x]

[And] with our roots planted firm in the dirt
We open our petals to the heavens
Bathing in the light that purifies
Bringing that energy inward

Every wild animal knows how to tread lightly
Soft paws gentle hooves we remember the shush of the sea
Moving with the ocean in motion inside of us
Trusting the water to allow us to continue to flourish

Flourish [4x]

[And] with our roots planted firm in the dirt...

Every wildfire knows its role in the medicine wheel
To end one cycle for a new life cycle to begin
We burn like the phoenix and return to the dawn of a new day
Trusting the fire to allow us to continue to flourish

Flourish [4x]

[And] with our roots planted firm in the dirt....


The Acknowledgements

This event lights me up. I see it as a worldwide celebration of the arts, encouraging us all to express ourselves creatively, week-after-week. I feel excited by the growth I see in the people who participate in the Open Mic, including myself. It's a pleasure to be a member of this tribe.

Speaking of “tribe,” I'd like to thank my family: Kat (@wildfamily), Daniel (who inspired this song), Rosalie, Gabriel, and Nana (Kat's mom, who is watching the kids for us).

I'm grateful to @luzcypher for bringing us Steemit Open Mic Week #95. Thanks to the sponsors: @pfunk, @ausbitbank, @curie, @isaria, @aggroed, who keep this community challenge so valuable and worthwhile. Thanks to the community who keeps it fresh, hip, and vibrant, through our active participation.

SteemitOpenMic-Cabe-Kat-Flourish.gif


This post contains 100% original content by @cabelindsay.

Cabe-Lindsay-Steemit-Footer.gif

Sort:  

absolutely beautiful. smiling along with you here!!! this is nourishing light!! <3 <3 <3 thank you both!!! resteemed <3

Thank you so much. I think you and @wildfamily will enjoy knowing each other. <3

Thanks brother. Much love and respect.

Such a sweet song. I'm really glad to be singing with you, you know. Proud of you for stepping into this side of the camera.

Thank you. I'm so grateful for your brilliance and your beauty in my life. It's an absolute joy singing with you. We've come so far since we started blending our voices, just a few years ago.

buena canción muy bonita, amigos

Gracias, hermano.

absolutely love it... so good to see ya again and with your beautiful partner... did ya'll just move down south?

Thank you. We've lived in Austin since we met, about 8 years ago. Before we knew each other, we both lived in Oregon. She's a long-time Texan, but I'm newish here. I grew up in Wyoming and Montana. Are you a Texan too? Thanks so much for your upvote and resteem.

Excellent changes bro.... I always really look forward to seeing your vids on open mic.... I think it was about the time when ya'll went down to the border to hang around big bend or something I saw your profile and it said nw , like portland or something anyway.... great to c ya. I too have been a Texan. ;9) I'll come back to Tx someday ;9).... I really enjoyed this post... ya'll be blessed

Blessings to you, brother. Thanks for remembering Big Bend trips I've written about. Yeah, I return there each year for a men's retreat. Mystical place. In fact, that's where this song originated, in February this year.

Hi cabelindsay,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Oh wow, what an honor. Thank you. You've been so kind to me.

Lovely guys @cabelindsay

Thanks for your note of encouragement. We're happy to be here, playing together.

Muy lindo todo!