Steemit Openmic Week 76 Original Song "Way Too Long"

in #openmic6 years ago

Backstory:

"The year I was born my grandpa got shot twice through the belly in an armed robbery. One bullet went all the way through him, and the other one could be felt when he reached around and touched his back.
Thankfully he survived, but it was just one more story to add to a life which was filled with difficulty. His mother died when he was born, he managed to scrape out a living in the Great Depression, he fought in and survived World War Two, and at one point he even got run over by a car. And it didn’t get any easier. At the end of his life he had to take care of my grandma, who suffered from Alzheimer’s disease for about 15 years.

His faith was always strong though, and every time any of us would talk to him and ask him how he was doing, he’d always answer, “I can’t complain", so this song is written about him."

Thank you @krystle, @soundlegion, @passion-ground, @verbal-d, and @meno for all of your hard work, and to @luzcypher and @pfunk for sponsoring open mic!

Lyrics:

When I'd ask how you were doing you’d say I can’t complain
But I knew you walked through darkness and I knew you’d tasted pain
Your mother left the earth just as you came to be
And the love of your life sailed away across the sea

Oh Papa you’ve been gone way too long
Papa you’ve been gone way too long
When the good Lord took you
He left us this song Papa you’ve been gone way too long

You were shot down in alley and left there to die
Staring up in the heavens and never asking why
You said I may not have the answers and I could be enraged
But I’ve been freed from life’s sorrow I’ve been freed from this cage

Oh Papa you’ve been gone way too long
Papa you’ve been gone way too long
When the good Lord took you
He left us this song Papa you’ve been gone way too long

So I’m thankful to have known you and it’s a treasure just to see
How generations follow and I’m grateful just to be

Oh Papa you’ve been gone way too long
Papa you’ve been gone way too long
When the good Lord took you
He left us this song Papa you’ve been gone way too long

Sort:  

I really don't know what to say. Must have been a great person! Text couldn't be better lg

He was a pretty cool Grandpa.

This is great. Your grandfather sounds like he lived quite an amazing life. What a great tribute!

He really did. Thank you @beeflomein!

The best thing to give anyone is the tribute for his entire life work and achievements :)

You received an upvote from @MusicVoter due to the musical content of this post (your entry into #openmic this week).

To find out how I decide who to up vote please READ THIS

Delegators get a higher upvote


Do you want to EARN CURATION REWARDS AUTOMATICALLY and help independent musicians?
HERE'S HOW

This is indeed a story like no other.

He braced the odds. He's a real hero.

Cheers @danieldyemusic
Deep lyrics there

Thank you @fada.emma. I hope all is well with you.

Yes Boss. All is well here.

How's your ends?

This is very nice. The appreciation is very beautiful, thank you @danieldyemusic

I am very grateful to you who have given motivation, I am very touched with you. I always hope your health is always good, and I really hope you continue to be successful !!

I hope if there is time and opportunity ramaikanlah my block
Thank you @danieldyemusic

Yes for banjos!

:) I feel the same way.

You have such a nice way of telling stories in your songs! I found myself drifting away in my imagination as I listened... well done, Daniel!

Thank you @petrajordan! I've been enjoying your tunes as well. Keep up the good work! :)

Thanks, Daniel! Doing my best ;)

Fabulous tune! I am inspired to try and write something for my own dear departed Grandpa. Thank you. :-)