You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Giveaway 1 - Santa Meno is coming to town bearing gifts for Steemian Guitarist

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Barely a guitarist. Barely....but I do have pretty well-researched tastes in guitars to hand to folks in the studio I run. Cut to this ‘94 les paul studio I picked up for aforementioned studio super duper cheap, moments before it received the bbq bucker....which after strenuous and solder intensive comparison we’ve deemed the single best thing you can do to a paul. Fun fact: 1990-1995 lp studios are made from exactly the same bodies as the standards and customs, making them about the best entry point lp for the money....affectionately known as the “good wood years.” /beavislaugh

As far as what I see steem doing for musicians... well don’t get me started. I’m the drummer of Maserati, a space rock krautrock influenced band from Athens, ga. Between that and my other projects I’m responsible for generating hundreds of thousands of plays a month across few platforms, predominantly Spotify and YouTube. My last Spotify check was for just north of $3.50. Furthermore I have next to no connection with anybody streaming our music. From my perspective, the music industry has long favored those who control the distribution. It’s not that l feel the people with the idea, hustle and infrastructure for a platform like Spotify shouldn’t be compensated for their work...it is just preposterous they should make 99 percent of it. Decentralizing the music industry and using a platform like steem to reward those of us with both creative talent -and- hustle in a direct and community based way....that sounds like some sort of future dream reality. Could not be more excited to feel like I’m still (hopefully) early to the party.

New Years resolution: become the most well known eurorack with live drumming electronic musician on steemit. As far as i can tell, the current population of said genre is 0, so I’m pretty sure the content I’m slaving over right now will take a second to get legs. Still...beyond excited to see it live!

[IMG][/IMG]

Sort:  

Double fun fact, this comment finally got me to figure out how to post images on here. 👍

love the guitar... you still gotta do two more requirements for me my friend, just edit this post ^^^ and write your thoughts.

Done and done. Resolution #2: read more before typing.