STEEMIT OPEN MIC 107- ORGINAL- REDLIGHT

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)


Hey fam,

Here's my entry for the week! This song is called Red Light and it's about relationship stuff. I wrote it about hitting a particular point in a relationship where both parties feel like they need a bit of space. But being so grossly entangled with one another and borderline co-dependent throughout the relationship, you don't really know how to function without this person. And even though you know you shouldn't- agreed you wouldn't reach out to this person, in moments of weakness you find that you can't help yourself. This is a song about love, longing, hope and an utter and complete disregard for self discipline. I actually wrote it as a duet but I haven't found the right person to sing it with quite yet. I hope you guys dig it ;)

If you have a sec and haven't voted yet, I would really appreciate it if you could vote for me for this Steemfest opportunity below. It would mean the world to me 💗<3 I know its a long shot but I thought I'd try to put myself out there. Thank you so much!!! 🙏😊

https://steemit.com/steemfest/@steemitblog/win-a-trip-to-steemfest-3

Peace and love,
Elaine

Red Light

I've been, lost in, the red light
Trapped somewhere between, twilight and the darkest night you
Threw me into, when you finally came true, said you needed some time
Oh I haven't seen your face in 30 days 10 hours and I'm not alright
It's funny how we always gotta do the things we don't want to
Oh I thought that I was good took a closer look ain't been living without you

I can't keep myself from driving by your spot all the time
I can't keep myself from thinking every hour every night
Of your love
I can't keep myself from thinking bout the things we did right
I can't keep myself from missing you even when we're fighting not talking I still want your love

Lost in wondering where you've been I know we both agreed to not think about it
But sometimes late at night, I swear I can feel you by myside
A lifeboat when I'm drowning

I can't keep myself from driving by your spot all the time
I can't keep myself from thinking every hour every night
Of your love
I can't keep myself from thinking bout the things we did right
I can't keep myself from missing you even when we're fighting not talking I still want your love

You know that, you know that, you know that I'm trying,
To leave it alone give us some time
But I can't help it, I'm in my feelings and I get stuck on you
You know that, you know that, you know that I'm dying
To leave it alone give us some time
But love I'm hurting and I don't want to be alone
With me, me, myself and I
With me, me, myself and I

You know that, you know that, you know that I'm trying,
To leave it alone give us some time
But I can't help it, I'm in my feelings and I get stuck on you
You know that, you know that, you know that I'm dying
To leave it alone give us some time
But love I'm hurting and I don't want to be alone


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Bravo! It's so beautiful. What a soulful voice you have there... I absolutely love this.

Thank you so much!! I really appreciate you taking the time to watch 💗

Hey Gibic! One more quick thing. If you have a sec and haven't voted yet, I would really appreciate it if you could vote for me for this Steemfest opportunity below. I know its a long shot but I thought I'd try to put myself out there. Thanks so much again 🙏😊
https://steemit.com/steemfest/@steemitblog/win-a-trip-to-steemfest-3

@elainefaye, I am glad to see you again between the winners of this great contest.
Congratulations !!

I'm inviting you to participate in the inaugural Cards & Tokens contest.

Please, claim your authorship of this card and start collecting votes to win the Cards & Tokens Trading cards contest

read more about:

Hi Elaine! I just heard you for the first time. I could listen to you sing all day long. You have a really special gift. Thank you for sharing this...and I hope to hear more from you!

Thank you so much!! And thank you so much for stopping by and taking the time to listen!!

You are so welcome. It's a joy to find great and talented people like you here. Makes it all worthwhile!

Loved your song and performance. Beautiful.

Steemit_Open_Mic_Winner.png

See who won Steemit Open Mic week 107

Thank you so much Luzcypher 🙏 I appreciate you!!

wonderful performance & great voice.. ;9)

Thank you so much!! Thanks for taking the time to watch and comment 🙏😊
If you have a sec and haven't voted yet, I would really appreciate it if you could vote for me for this Steemfest opportunity below. I know its a long shot but I thought I'd try to put myself out there. Thanks so much again!!
https://steemit.com/steemfest/@steemitblog/win-a-trip-to-steemfest-3

Wow love everything about this - you have great soulful control over your voice and the accompaniment is really good - great job all around! Much love - Carl

Thank you so much Carl! I appreciate you taking the time to watch my video and comment. Thank you for the kind words my friend 🙏🏽💗

Hey there again Carl! If you have a sec and haven't voted yet, I would really appreciate it if you could vote for me for this Steemfest opportunity below. I know its a long shot but I thought I'd try to put myself out there. Thanks so much again 🙏😊
https://steemit.com/steemfest/@steemitblog/win-a-trip-to-steemfest-3


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you so much 🙏🏽💗

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Thank you artzone!!

Wonderful performance! Quite excellent.

Thanks so much Melinda <3

So funky! I love this, and the lyrics tell a very familiar tale! "utter and complete disregard for self discipline". Bingo!

Thanks so much @lynncoyle1!! I appreciate you taking the time to listen and read the lyrics! Girl yes, too familiar for many of us! Thanks again lady!!

You are most welcome! It's a lesson that took me many years to learn, but now, don't mess with me haha

Giiiirrrrrl, you and me both! 😳

SO fun. Liked it so so much. Powerful and soulful voice.