Steemit Open Mic 92- Original- Too High (The Story of Us)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)


Hey Fam!

Welcome to my living room!! Here goes my open mic entry for the week! I was practicing with some friends earlier this week for a stripped down show and thought this is a great opportunity to grab a video for open mic... As well as have something to critic our performance and see what we need to work on. Also a great opportunity to intro the homies to the Steem platform! Anna (other fly AF femme in the vid) just signed up!! You can find her here at @luenicorn. I Please say hello to my girl <3 I'm so excited for you guys to hear her music! Also, we have a super bright soft box light pointing at us in the kitchen and are both suffering from headaches so please excuse our too cool for school sun glasses look lol.

Ok, so contrary to my joke, this song is not about smoking weed. It's about a very rocky point in my relationship with the love of my life. A point every relationship comes to really when the butterflies and sparkles fade and you start to really see the other persons flaws and all the things you don't see or choose not to see in the romantic beginnings of love. This song is me battling these feelings in my head. This song is the product of passion, heartache, uncertainty, insecurity and kind of turns into a plee for him and myself to remember our story through all the frustrations and hard times.

So it's kind of a serious song, but... It's really hard to be serious around these guys and not have the best time ever playing music with them so sorry for the weird contrast of looking like I'm having the best time ever singing not the happiest song ever lol. Also, I forgot to turn the AC off (damn AC strikes again!!) Have you ever started recording a song at home and then realized halfway through a perfect take that you forgot to turn the AC off?! It's the worst... I have a love/ hate relationship with my air conditioner lol. Anyway, I hope you guys dig it!

Peace and love~


Lyrics

I remember 24/7 I was by your side
since the very night you came up to me and you told me
That you like my style
It was more than that, the way you look at me so deep gave me a heart attack
Music Soulchild spinning in the back
You took my hand we sang along and I knew for a fact that
I could lose my soul, though I’d give it all
Rip out my heart as an offering and let it bleed

To you to you to you to you
You know this all has been
For you though we been going through
These dark places that lovers
Do they do I know they do
But I’ve been feelin’ so low
Afraid of losing our love
And in the dark of my mind I get lost
Maybe we were too high

Too high off the lovin’
Too high off the smokin’
Too far gone to see through true eyes
When the smoke begin’s to settle
The light begins to tremble
will you recall the story of us

Maybe we were to high...
Maybe we were to high...

Do you remember me talking in my sleep
I'd be so far gone
The way you lay it down you put me out without a doubt
Your hands on my body
Felt just like a dream
Everything I ever wanted and could ever need
And now we barely speak
So far gone though you’re right there next to me
Emotion killing me and I over think
Goin’ crazy search your phone analyzing everything

You do, you do, you do, you do
Just trying to find a way to break through
The darkness in the room
I know that we been going through
Things its true that lovers do
But I’ve been feelin’ so low
Afraid of losing our love
And in the dark of my mind I get lost
Maybe we were too high

Too high off the lovin’
Too high off the smokin’
Too far gone to see through true eyes
When the smoke begin’s to settle
The light begins to tremble
will you recall the story of us

Maybe we were to high...
Maybe we were to high...

How many time have I sought, this perfect picture of us
Futility, reality starts bleeding through
Just want a moment for us, to remember our love
Or is a memory the only thing that we cling to...


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Wooooowww !!!
That was incredible !!!
What a great song !!! (and voices and everything!!!)

Thank you so much!! I'm so glad you're digging it!!

Gotta love a good cajon :) You guys kill it! Love your style, so smoov and heartfelt. Great work!

Thank you!! Yeah, love love the Cajon!

So much coolness 😉 ✌ and crew so chill, love when you go unplugged @elainefaye

Aww thanks @ivan.atman!!

Oh man, you guys! This gave me chills! Love, love, love it! 😍

Thanks so much lady!! Thanks for taking the time to listen! It means a bunch <3

Totally diggin' on this Elaine! Cool groove and sounds, girlfriend! Love the LR-Band too!!!

Thanks so much!!!

Elaine, just incredible, i told you that i love your hair, isn't it? bless <3 such an super voice, love your art.

Aww, thank you so much homes! I really appreciate you!!

This is beautiful!!

Thanks love!

Yay, so cool. I can see it doing it very well, so much talent

Yay, so cool. I can
See it doing it very
Well, so much talent

                 - yidneth


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Well there you have my compliment again in poetry form, lol, weird, but heartfelt haha

Thank you so much babe!!! 😘

Ya ya ya, killed it! I loved this from the opening notes. You must be an Amy Winehouse fan, I can hear the influence.

Lol yuuuup! Amy, Alicia Keys, and Lauryn Hill are my biggest influences. Thank you so much! Glad you were feelin it!!

deam girl,you really have a very beautiful voice, so nice video grettins from Venezuela i follow you <3

Thanks love!! Followed you back <3

Thanks for having me!!!

This is awesome. Your wallpaper is almost as awesome as this recording. Pretty close though...

Thank you so much!! Yeah, I've had it for years and still love it ;)

Sounds fantastic! Loving the vibes.

Steemit_Open_Mic_Winner.png

You won some Steem which you'll find in your wallet and also a 5-card packet of SteemMonster cards with your name on it you can find on SteemMonsters.com

Click here to see who won Open Mic this week:

Steemit Open Mic Week 92 Winners See Who Won Open Mic And Join Us This Week --- by @luzcypher

Amazing!! Thank you so much!!

Cool jamming @elainefaye

Hope all is fine

Feel free to checkout some of my latest stuffs i've posted

Keep the inspiration flowing

Hi to everyone in the band

Ciao

Congratulations @elainefaye! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

@elainefaye, your song was selected to be part of the initial collection set of trading cards for the album of Steemit OpenMic.
Congratulations !!

read more about:

Sweetness!!!

@elainefaye, your cards are waiting for you to login and claim your authorship so you can participate in the Cards & Tokens contest.

Thank you !!