Steemit Open Mic Week 70 - Rowboat (Johnny Cash, Beck cover)

in #openmic6 years ago

Cover of a song I originally heard performed by Beck and only years later did I discover it was originally written by Beck.

My first song in the Steemit Open Mic series. I'm excited to join in with this community. Thanks to all that have created this!

I'm actually recovering from being a little sick so I don't feel like my is as strong as it usually is, but I have been so stir crazy to play some music and connect with others here that I thought... "what the heck"


Rowboat
written by Johnny Cash

Rowboat, row me to the shore.
She don't wanna be my friend no more.
She dug a hole in the bottom of my soul.
She don't wanna be my friend no more.

Pick me up, gimme some food to eat,
In your truck goin' no place.
I'll be home talkin' to nobody.
You'll be strange, you'll be far away.

Big fat moon.
And my body's out of tune.
With the burnin' waves,
She's a billion years away.

Dog food on the floor,
And I've been like this before.
She is all,
And everything else is small.

Pick me up, gimme some alcohol,
In your truck playin' the radio.
I'll be home with the gasoline.
You'll be stoned, you'll be far away.

Sort:  

Congratulations @hexsprite! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Cool cover, man! Loved it!

thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Nice cover! Never heard that one before :)

thanks @bennettitalia! I look forward to posting some originals soon as well. Just wanted to get over this cold so I can do them justice :)

Cool I look forward to hearing them!

Whats up man..saw you on the RR fb page and wa excited to see a fellow member also on steemit and into crypto...that also plays guitar. Hope all is well with you..enjoyed the song.

Congratulations @hexsprite! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @hexsprite! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!