Open Mic Songwriters Challenge Week 7: Tempest for theme RIGHT PLACE, RIGHT TIME

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Thanks for the theme this week, @luzcypher and @meno (and whoever else is involved that I'm missing).

This song brought out some experiences I've been needing to write about for a long time, but couldn't find the right way to. The "right place, right time" idea was helpful because it was a way of communicating that some things need to be left for a while until we are ready to process them. It's important to wait for that right time & place in order to see it all with the right eyes, and with vulnerability and truth rather than just frustration and gut-reactions of anger. That's what happened here for me.

In essence, it's about human anger and its damages, as well as its affinity for causing blindness to life and goodness, and how that has roots in personal pain. It's not a justification, but rather just an innocent, open-hearted look at the experience from a couple of angles.

Enjoy. Lyrics below.

Tempest by Kay Clarity

We argued about the weather
Didn’t cover much ground

You said the clouds weren’t there
I insisted on reason
We never got anywhere

Pre-chorus:
Well, it's the right time to remember
And it's the right place to remember

Chorus:
It’s like my eyes didn’t matter
You thought you owned everything
Hiding out in your shadows
With your shame hitting me
It’s like you couldn’t even see
All the beauty we could be
What was meant to be a harbour
Was just a tempest at sea
What was meant to be a harbour
Was just a tempest at sea

Now you’re stuck in all
The tangles of yourself
And I just barely got out

But I still look at you
Through the prism of memory
You’re just small, in need of help

(Copyright 2017)

xx,
Kay
.
.
.
.
.
Hi! Here are some photos from a wild drive through Death Valley in 2016 in case you're interested in taking a look, or a cover of Sia's "Elastic Heart" I posted the other day.

Your support means a lot to me. Thanks for following @kayclarity and resteeming if you enjoy posts about beauty, art, culture, life, Steemit, and, of course, my original music and poems. xx

Sort:  

nice. the catharsis of the challenge continues! Its like we're getting therapy or something....!? Seriously though, lovely song with beautifully expressed lyrics x

haha totally true! Is everyone else finding that as well? I think art often is precisely that (although it shouldn't be only that - we need to level up a little from angry, melodramatic diary scribbles! :)

Thanks a lot for listening, and for the kind and sincere words. I appreciate it. xx, Kay

Lovely melody, lyrics and voice! Thanks for sharing. Looking forward to hearing more from you.

Thank you for listening, and for saying so! :)

You have a beautiful voice! very deep lyrics

Thank you, friends. Really glad you hear you enjoyed it. xx, Kay

You have a great voice. I play a bit guitar myself and thought that it could be cool to do something together. Don't know how though. Would you be interested in that?

Finally responded to this over on your post! It's a little crazy at the moment, but maybe at some point we could work something out! :). Thanks again for the Bon Iver tip - I enjoyed doing it for this week's Open Mic!

I think it's just so incredibly cool that this weeks theme enabled you to express and unpack some feelings you've been meaning to reconcile from the past.

The window to your soul is a beautiful one, and it opens quite effortlessly with such graceful artistic expressions such as this. Nice one, Kay!

It's true. It's been a chance to investigate outside of what is currently going on (what I usually write about) due to the need to match the theme. Pretty cool. Thanks for the kind words, friends!

Always a pleasure to hear your new songs. Thanks for being part of this community and thanks for the music.

I appreciate you providing such a great opportunity for me through these contests at a key time. It really makes a difference, and the sincerity of your words means a lot. Thank you!

Very well crafted lyrics! Also like the changeup of short verses and long chorus, very interesting and creative! And I just noticed our bios clash seriously. Mine says 'mediocre at best' and I realise mine is right and yours is too!

Thanks for listening and saying so! And I didn't even really notice the change up when I wrote (I write by instinct rather than a planned attempt), but it's cool you noticed! and lol about the bios.. I tend to think most people who think they are mediocre tend to not be--simply by being able to see it! I used to write a lot more on here about art (especially poetry) and excellence, but it wore me out really fast, so I don't know if the tagline is right anymore. But.. oh well :)

Thanks again! xx, Kay

Oh Dam Kay.. That guitar is really captivating, pulls you into the mood right away!

Verse has some great direction and I got to say, I really felt it the most at the pre chorus.

You've got some great writing in you. Glad you could get it all out!

Liked how you used the pre chorus hook to shape the bridge, I usually enjoy that as a device before going into a soft chorus.

Thank you! Coming from you, it means a lot as you obviously are steeped in structuring songs well! (That's why your comedy works--it's actually well done, on top of being funny).

I appreciate the extensive kind words! Gotta go check the Steembirds to see what's up this week..! Did you have one of your own up as well??

SteemBirds usually gets one in every couple weeks. We don't live in the same city right now, so kinda tough to do it continuously, or as much as we'd like to. We have plans for the future tho.

And ya, I've been entering Openmic since day 1 on Steemit, or I guess week 1 of Open Mic.

I don't think I've stumbled on your videos yet, outside of the Steembirds. Investigation time..!

That's sad :(. I seriously look so forward to them!

No Worries, That's really not surprising as there are literally 100's of entries each week.

I rarely make the top 5 a well and tbh, I primarily rely on the judges posts to sift through other people's entries, they tend to have done the leg work for "what was good that week" haha.

So Unlike this week, were I actually checked the Songwriter's Challenge post and did my own sifting I tend to miss a lot of people's work too.

Yeah - it's the same for me. I mean to, actually, but life is just so busy, and there's so much to keep up with even just on the platform. But some weeks I am better than others about stopping by other musicians! And there is soooo much that is so impressive.

I love that you and @dan-atstarlite are just best buds. I think it's what makes the SteemBirds so much fun :)

Ya, it certainly helps. It's kinda funny to mention that I've only know dan for a few years and during most of that time, probably about 90% we never once wrote music or played music together...totally Bazaar

Very pretty song :)

Thank you! It's fun to be able to write for this contest, and the kind comments are very edifying. Happy Wednesday! xx, Kay

right in the feels.gif

lololol. This was funny. I'm not a big GIF person, but this is perfect.