Open Mic Week 67: SKINNY LOVE by Bon Iver (cover by Kay Clarity)

in #openmic6 years ago

Thanks to @arsenal49 for suggesting I cover Bon Iver! Needed an inspiration for this week's Open Mic as I want to save some of my originals for later weeks :).

An amazing song. Lyrics below! If you watch right to the end you'll hear the little dog upstairs sad-howling lol/:(.

Skinny Love - Bon Iver

Come on skinny love, just last the year
Pour a little salt, we were never here
My, my, my, my, my, my, my, my
Staring at the sink of blood and crushed veneer

I tell my love to wreck it all
Cut out all the ropes and let me fall
My, my, my, my, my, my, my, my
Right at the moment this order's tall

And I told you to be patient
And I told you to be fine
And I told you to be balanced
And I told you to be kind
And in the morning, I'll be with you
But it will be a different kind
'Cause I'll be holding all the tickets
And you'll be owning all the fines

Come on skinny love, what happened here?
Suckle on the hope in light brassiere
My, my, my, my, my, my, my, my
Sullen load is full, so slow on the split

And I told you to be patient
And I told you to be fine
And I told you to be balanced
And I told you to be kind
And now all your love is wasted
Then who the hell was I?
'Cause now I'm breaking at the britches
And at the end of all your lines

Who will love you?
Who will fight?
Who will fall far behind?

Come on skinny love
My, my, my, my, my, my, my, my
My, my, my, my, my, my, my, my

xx,
Kay
.
.
.
.
.
.
P.S. Here is a lullaby sort of song I posted the other day, and one of my favourite photos I've ever taken.

Your support means a lot to me. Thanks for following @kayclarity and resteeming if you enjoy posts about beauty, art, culture, life, Steemit, and, of course, my original music and poems. xx

Sort:  

Yes, yes and so much yes!
What a great way to end the night!

Ah, you're the best. Glad you enjoyed it so much! xx!

You did it! Awesome! It's great as always :)

Yes! Thanks again :). And.. thank you!

Beautiful voice and nice song. 🎵👏👏👏

Thank you! Yes, it's an AMAZING song.

Wow! You're singing voice is pretty amazing. I wish you all the best for the future! :)

Thank you - for listening, and for such a nice comment :).

So awesome! Love the show every week.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Ah, just the best. Thanks!

Enjoy the vote and reward!

Awww darlin that was absolutely beautiful! Thanks 🙏🏻 God has blessed you with tremendous talent I look forward to seeing more from you!

Thank you for the obviously very sincere, kind words! I love this place!

Believe it or not I have never heard this song! You singing it is the first time and it made me pick up my ukulele and try to learn it!

That's crazy! It's a big song that's been covered a lot :)

LMAO this is what my kids just told me! My son plays a mean Banjo and we usually try and learn some cool songs together...he said "Geez Dad that's been out for years"

hahaha! Never too late, though :). I'm glad I could be the one to introduce you to it!

Sounds awesome Kay! Well done.

Thank you! :). Your wife is talented! Listened to one of her covers.

Another Gem, going to have this one on replay for awhile now!!

So awesome :). Thanks for your support and undying enthusiasm!

I resteemed this. So happy you did a Bon Iver Cover!!! Love them! Love you!

Your first resteem :)! xx!

yes!!!! Who else would it be?? ;)

hi. nice voice congratulations :)

Thank you, Steemit friend :)

Lovely cover, Kay! Hey, I wonder if that lil' pup upstairs is being inspired to sing-along with you... haha! My little guy does that for me when I play/sing certain songs that well, just inspire him to try and sing along with me... I hope that's the case anyway.... :-)

Totally he was! haha naw.. usually they send him over to their parents' house but I think they are away so he is just lonely :(. But he is a tough little guy!

That was beautiful. Not gonna lie I was tearing up about 15 seconds in. I have some painful memories tied to this song. It's a great one though.

That's the thing about music, hey? So powerful, especially when we've connected something specific to it. Thanks for your kind words!

that voice is just insane good! you are tooo good. love it