OPEN MIC WEEK 70: Phil Collins cover!

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Well, unless I can get around to putting another one together by Friday, this will have to be an unofficial Open Mic entry this round. For some reason, on the best take I ended up using, I accidentally said "Week 73" instead of "Week 70" ?! No clue why. I think maybe when I checked @luzcypher's page to make sure I was on the right week, I processed his reputation score instead? Who knows. The mind of an artist..

Worse things have happened.

Hopefully I'll get something else up, but if not.. At least I'm involved with the community this week!

It's a classic. Hope you like. Lyrics below.

"You'll Be In My Heart" by Phil Collins

Come, stop your crying
It will be alright
Just take my hand
Hold it tight

I will protect you
From all around you
I will be here
Don't you cry

For one so small,
You seem so strong
My arms will hold you,
Keep you safe and warm

This bond between us
Can't be broken
I will be here
Don't you cry

'Cause you'll be in my heart
Yes, you'll be in my heart
From this day on
Now and forever more

You'll be in my heart
No matter what they say
You'll be here in my heart
Always

Why can't they understand the way we feel?
They just don't trust what they can't explain
I know we're different but deep inside us
We're not that different at all

And you'll be in my heart
Yes, you'll be in my heart
From this day on
Now and forever more

Don't listen to them
'Cause what do they know (what do they know)?
We need each other
To have, to hold.
They'll see in time
I know

When destiny calls you
You must be strong
I may not be with you
But you've got to hold on
They'll see in time
I know
We'll show them together

'Cause you'll be in my heart
Believe me, you'll be in my heart
I'll be there from this day on,
Now and forever more

Oh, you'll be in my heart (you'll be here in my heart)
No matter what they say (I'll be with you)
You'll be here in my heart (I'll be there) always

Just look over your shoulder
Just look over your shoulder
Just look over your shoulder
I'll be there always

xx,

Kay
.
.
.
.
.
P.S. If you enjoyed this, you might enjoy a vintage original of mine or a Nelly Furtado cover that was popular this week.

Follow @kayclarity.

I try to check out the blogs of many of my upvoters and commenters. I love to see what you're up to!

Sort:  

ThankS Ms. CLARITY - )))

YOU've reALLy taken F'LIGHT .. and it SOUNDS GREAT !! - ))
.. to SEE YOU FLY !!! - )))
ha ha - )))

HappY WedneS-DaY - ))

lovelovelove )))
greb'Z )

You were one of my first big regular supporters! So glad you are still enjoying it :)

Ahh .. thanks YOU !!! - )))
and .. i will CONTINUE to EN-JOY .. YOU .. being YOU !! - ))

AS for ... uhm .. ?? .. err .. ?? .. "big" ??? - )))
ha ha - )))

i will !! SMASH !! my 'support' to this point ... -)))
WitH .. what i deem .. "TO BE" ((( BIG ))) .. !!! !!! - )))
.. in the years to come !! - ))

and .. i k'NOW i won't be the al'ONE - ))))))))))))))

.. you're A(WE)soME !!! - )))

lovelovelove )))
greb'Z )

Alright, so this took me back. Way back. Back to my working in retail days. This song came on the store sound system at least once per day, for a long time. I know every word. I remember ripping an 18kg bag of dog food and spilling it all over the floor while people watched... to this song.

Actually lol'd. Glad it could be so wonderfully nostalgic.

Honestly, life is hilarious!

Week 73? You're getting a bit ahead of yourself, Kay! Ha! LOL :-) This is a great cover, girl!

_PS... My Aunt of 83 just passed this January... I sent along to her 3 remaining sisters; (my Aunt's), your most precious, ""January". xoxo

hahaha I know. I heard that and was like... "?!? What are you up to, honey?"

That's amazing. I hope it brought some comfort for them! Music doing its thing..

Love hearing you play and sing. Thanks.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Every song you post is seems so effortlessly delivered and always hits the spot, this is beautiful.

What a nice compliment. I appreciate you for saying so! And I'm so happy you listen and enjoy them!

Nice song 😁😁😁
@kayclarity

Love Phil. Nice song choice!

He's the best. I'm only really properly discovering him now. I want to collaborate with him haha. Dream big! :)

I just watched Tarzan with my 2 year old son for the first time, and this song made my eyes tear up as a new father. You cover it beautifully! Mahalo for making great music keep it up!

What cool timing! That's such a beautiful experience to have as a first-time father, so I'm glad I could give you even more of that! What does Mahalo mean?

It means thank you!

Yay! You're awesome! %-))

And once more I’m pleased and happy to hear you sing! You chose a beautiful song that for me, and I guess many more people, brings flashbacks to Tarzan and that nostalgic part of childhood.

27653669_10213394650613626_335191309_o.jpg
By the way, I seriously wrote a reminder about your post. 😂😂

hahaha this is amazing!!

So glad you enjoyed it and it was worth your note! Yes, this song is PURE nostalgia. Phil did a great job with this soundtrack. I don't even really remember the movie all that well, but the music was good!

One of the best Disney classics and an amazing overall track, great job!

Thank you! Really happy you enjoyed it! xx, Kay

Amazing voice and nice song. you sing it so perfectly i love it too much.

It's a great song, and thanks for the compliment. I am glad you listened and enjoyed! xx, Kay

Beautiful - really enjoyed listening Kay :)

I don't know how to make heart shapes around here so.... heart heart heart :X:X:X. :)

I don't think you noticed, but I had mentioned you in my top list for last week, week 70, sweet vocals and wonderful cover choice @kayclarity, you're one of my favourites for sure, check the full review of my posts here below.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@verbal-d/steemit-s-official-open-mic-judge-verbal-d-s-top-5-entries-for-week-70-original-blog

I have just released my week 71 list as well if you want to check it out as well.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@verbal-d/steemit-s-official-open-mic-judge-verbal-d-s-top-5-entries-for-week-71-original-blog