OPEN MIC WEEK 72: "You Were Meant For Me" by JEWEL

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Jewel's "Pieces of You" album is the first that ever hit me. I remember lying on my sister's bed leafing through the CD booklet, enamoured by her use of words, her vulnerability, her storytelling, her sadness, her strength. It instilled a desire at that very young age for me to do the same thing one day.

I realized today I had never done this songf for an official entry, and as it's one of my old favourites and will be easily recognized by many, I thought it would be great to do for the Open Mic.

Lyrics below.

"You Were Meant For Me" by Jewel

I hear the clock, it's six A.M.
I feel so far from where I've been
I got my eggs, I got my pancakes too
I got my maple syrup, everything but you.

I break the yolks and make a smiley face
I kinda like it in my brand new place
Wipe the spots up off the mirror
Don't leave the keys in the door
I never put wet towels on the floor anymore 'cause

[Chorus:]
Dreams last so long
Even after you're gone
I know that you love me
And soon you will see
You were meant for me
And I was meant for you.

I called my momma, she was out for a walk
Consoled a cup of coffee but it didn't wanna talk
So I picked up the paper, it was more bad news
More hearts being broken or people being used

Put on my coat in the pouring rain
I saw a movie it just wasn't the same
'Cause it was happy or I was sad
And it made me miss you oh so bad 'cause

[Chorus]

I go about my business, I'm doing fine
Besides what would I say if I had you on the line?
Same old story, not much to say
Hearts are broken every day.

I brush my teeth, I put the cap back on
I know you hate it when I leave the light on
I pick a book up and then I turn the sheets down.
And then I take a deep breath and a good look around

Put on my pj's and hop into bed
I'm half alive but I feel mostly dead
I try and tell myself it'll all be alright
I just shouldn't think anymore tonight 'cause

[Chorus]

Yeah, you were meant for me and I was meant for you.

xx,
Kay
.
.
.
.
.
.

P.S. If you enjoyed this, you may also enjoy listening to one of my original recordings on dsound or my a cappella singing of Les Mis' "On My Own.".

Follow @kayclarity for music, photos, and writing on art and life. You can help share my work with more of Steemit by resteeming your favourite videos of mine.

I try to check out the blogs of many of my upvoters and commenters. I love to see what you're up to!

Sort:  

Loved this cover you did so much, Kay! Nice!

Thank you so much, my friend! It's definitely one of my favourites to sing! Hope you are well!

Very nice video ....and your song is too good

What a perfect song for your beautiful voice. <3

Thank you! I'm so glad to see your username pop up here regularly! Big smile :).

You are very welcome. Yes I love to check out what you are up to, or should I say what you are singing. I'm loving your songs on dsound as well. There will come a day when I can say wow I knew her when..... <3

I won't forget you if that day comes ;)

Very nice song cover, your version seems almost like the original. Great job! ;)

I’m doing my makeup and now I have the perfect soundtrack to do it to💄 happy Sunday!

Big smile, friend! :)

Really loved this one, great work & beautiful voice...

Thanks so much for saying so! Glad you enjoyed. xx, Kay

Very nice!
Your voice fits that song really well!

Thank you!

Beautiful performance once again. Love it.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thank you :). I always appreciate your kind words.

Well done! You're always sooo good.

I am always grateful for the encouragement. So glad you enjoyed this one, too!

Such a great song, and you really do it justice! Thanks :) [Just read the lyrics and realized how bitter-sweet they are. And oh so true!]

good your song

I love this song and you really do it justice @kayclarity . Beautiful voice and embodiment of the song lyrics!

Hey! Thank you so much - I do love this one. Glad you enjoyed. xx, Kay

Bravoooooooooooo
Great cover choice @kayclarity
I shall reserve my thoughts for later :)

haha thanks! I will look forward!!

Very lovely singing and playing - never a missed note, howdya do that?? FAB.

What an incredible voice. Great performance.

Kay you are so beautiful ! i love your music and your voice. such an honor to get to hear such talent. voice of an angel for sure. big love from @soundlegion you knocked that chorus out the park. great job love this song

Hi! Thank you, sweet friend. Your words mean a lot to me! So glad you enjoyed.

Love it, Miss @kayclarity! Only wish I’d seen it in time to give you my vote. ❤️ You’ve such a wonderful talent!’