🎶 Open Mic Week 107 - My Top 5 Judges Selection 🎶

in #openmic6 years ago

I have had a seriously massive week guys and I have a feeling it isn't going to get better just talking about it, however I will plan to keep things short and to the point.

Well as to the point as my rambling self can manage, so bare with me while I smash out this week and hope to put all the unfortunate crap behind me.

I do have to say that whilst my away from the computer life took a turn down crappy lane, Open Mic was my shinning beacon of hope - the escape from my reality I had been waiting for and even though I would rather be sleeping on some level (it is 2 am now), I know how brilliant this week was musically.

I couldn't forgive myself if I missed such a kick ass week of entries, cause life was being a pain - no I needed to double down and dig into the brilliant escape I had been offered, man did it pay of :D

So without further ramblings, here is my judges selection for week 107.

This week's top 5:

1st Place - @elainefaye - REDLIGHT

Hell Yes! This is what I am talking about peoples, this entry was just kick ass on every single level - every damned aspect was just brilliant!

The instrumental combination you have gone with here creates a unique and interesting sound, as well providing a perfect backing for the vocals - I feel as though this song was designed to enhance the brilliant features of the vocals.

The thing is with vocals like these, is that they deserved to be displayed in such a perfectly epic way - as you have done here, it really shows the skill that went into creating this song.

The tempo shift is compelling and a lovely layer to the composition of this piece, this is a perfect juxtaposition to the intro more instrumental section - I love music with creative dynamics that add to the texture and tone of the music, choices need to compliment the sound and here you have expertly displayed this.

I love the kick up when the beat comes in and it all just takes things to a whole new level, this is brilliant structure and expert use of tension and suspense - especially with the little mini outtro, ode to prelude.

Now I have been holding out to really get to what I need to say, which is hell yeah those bloody vocals are freakin phenomenal!!!!!

I was and still am blown away by this fucking brilliant display of truly phenomenal vocals, this is what I was put here for - music is my passion and that all stems from hearing truly wicked voices, that just kick some serious ass.

I not only like the vocals for the clear display of sheer freakin skill, but also this is a song I can see myself wailing out along with you (it may have already happened...) - I love a song that shows what the singer can really do and you have truly displayed the most epic side of your pure talent.

I love to sing and this song is fun to sing, the vocal gymnastics are a brilliant work out (also hella fun) - you add texture and power changes, this is just an all round brilliant vocal display and I am so in love with some of the run's you have created here.

I don't think we have been gifted with the full extent of your vocal range as of yet, but I for one am keenly awaiting your next entry into Open Mic - what a bloody brilliant performance from all involved, just kick ass!


2nd Place - @joseacabrerav - El Lugar

This is the perfect example of why you have become one of my favourite musicians, not just in Open Mic but life in general - you have some seriously amazing skills and you know how to present them to brilliant effect.

Your playing as always is impeccable, I love it when a musician uses an instrument to it's full effect - and here my friend you showed you utter mastery.

Now you know by now I always tend to focus on vocals, so I will side step to lyrics quickly - you know I had to translate them (and how dodgy google translate can be), but from what I understood or could piece together... this song is brilliant, deep and emotional.

When you started we were treated to the classic and truly phenomenal sound of your legendary vocals, there's a depth like velvet to your tone and your sound is so clear - it's just breathtaking to behold, I can't even count how many times I've listened to this entry and I don't see me stopping any time soon!

Next I want to focus on your vocal control, you really are pitch perfect every damned time - you allow it to flow gently at first, but like a rive it builds momentum and then boom suddenly the power emerges... it's really stunning to hear time and again.

Then there's the fucking amazing element of your hella brilliant falsetto, you have such a crazy vocal range - your faultless control continues into the top of your range, I was just completely blown away every time you hit those highs... just perfection in every single way!


3rd Place - @drewsmusic - You Are The Best Thing

You have such a clear and bloody kick ass sound, I really loved every damned moment of that performance.

Your playing is spot on and mixed perfectly, in fact you use the guitar to great effect - using to accentuate certain moments in the song and bring focus on the vocals at crucial moments.

Now as for your vocals, that's what really had me hooked - you have an amazingly clear tone to your voice, it's brilliant to hear.

Your control is precise and rather impressive, as is your vocal range which you put to good display in this performance - I absolutely adore that falsetto which you wielded with expert precision!


4th Place - @juandavidartal - Knowing Me Knowing You

Ohhh hell yeah guys, this was just a kick ass entry on every level - great playing that really just highlighted, the brilliant vocals.

As for the vocals that's where I got hooked yet again, I was just blown away - whilst they aren't the hardest vocal range out there, the texture and tone to your voice was just stunning.

Then there was the control, you displayed great control over your range - showing power when needed.

Generally I just enjoyed the sound you created and found myself singing along with you, it's a great sign of an amazing performance - I really enjoyed that entry so much and hope to hear more from you both soon.


5th Place - @willhreserved - Baby you make me crazy

The instant you started playing, I started moving - this is what music is all about peoples, a sound that infects your soul and forces your body to react.

The playing is spot on but we all know it's the vocals that really sealed the deal on this one, those killer harmonies just stole the show!

The main vocals are incredibly impressive as well, showing brilliant range, control and tone - but damned that was just fun.

I loved hearing, I joined in and as I mentioned couldn't help but get in on the action a little - I thought it was a great introduction to Open Mic and I hope to see more soon.


Honourable Mentions:

@katrina-ariel - Still My Mind

You have really made an impression on me now, I have to say you are becoming a massive favourite of mine lately - you have such an amazing and unique sound, I love your vocals and your playing and you always leave me wanting more!

@ingridkorneelia - In the darkness of the day

Just an epic all round wow lovely, you have such an amazing way of making your voice meld with the guitar - it's truly blissful to behold, I just love your voice, your music and I'm so thankful to you for sharing it with us.

@origen1618 - Desencuentro

Oh my that voice just stole my attention completely, you have really stunning vocals in this entry - I just couldn't stop listening to it, really just breathtaking... I hope to see more from you and soon!

@stavrin - Grunge Medley

You guys sound really good together and I really enjoyed listening to this performance, we don't get a lot of grunge so nice to hear something a bit different - on top of that you guys really kicked ass, this is music you need to be fully committed to... to perform well and that you did, hope to see more soon!

@skycorridors - Could Check The Charts All Night

Well holy hell lovely, you have a rather phenomenal voice there - I also got a kick out of the parody, but I was forced to stop listen and appreciate the skill behind that performance... and well just be like wow lol, seriously that fricken high power note at the end.. just dam!

@rodrigo98 - La Muerte del Ángel

Every time I hear you play, you take me on a magical journey and I'm never really sure where I'm gonna end up - but in truth I care little, when I get to hear the amazing music you create for us each week.... Just breathtaking.

@lerpdrummerboy - Photograph

This was really just a beautiful rendition of this song, I absolutely loved this entry - they playing was great and the vocals were truly brilliant, I really hope to keep hearing more from you both soon.

@dianakyv - MY INMORTAL

Oh how I wish I had more places each week, an entry like this deserves to be placed - it was brilliant truly an amazing performance, I absolutely love this song and sang along with you... those harmonies <3 Just phenomenal!

@lk666 - Believe In Nothing

Wow man this really caught my attention big time, what a kick ass entry - you have some killer vocals there mate, I really loved every damned second of that entry!

@davidcentenor - Cumaná

Well as I sit here I start to wonder... is there anything you can't do??? Seriously you sing and play countless instruments, I assume you mix and edit it all together, best of all your fricken brilliant at it - you have some amazing skills and you treat us every time you perform, always lovely hearing your entries!

@orrslaw - Not Sorry

Your music is captivating and compelling and I just can't get enough of it, you really have a unique and rather brilliant sound - stunning vocals, meaningful lyrics and excellent playing, I couldn't ask for more.

@trilumia - Duba Dubi Dua

You made that sound fricken brilliant, I had no idea I could enjoy this style of performance - but when something is done well the skill just speaks for itself, not to mention it just looked like a whole lot of fun... you all have such amazing skills you just nailed this perfectly, I also really enjoyed the behind the scenes/outtakes :D

@mariajruizb - Con los años que me quedan

This is just epic and brilliant, totally amazing in every facet of it's perfection - just phenomenal playing, singing is absolutely stunning and those harmonies are to die for... you guys absolutely killed it this week, can't wait to hear you all again next week :D


Master Shortlist:

@davidfar, @alejandra23, @luisalbertoulloa, @dbarraganflute, @benjaminmora, @juliolunar, @juanchez, @carlosgu, @julian.alejandro, @donlucho, @maycorjerjes18, @esthersanchez, @orlandogonzalez, @wilins, @dinoromanelli, @drewley, @mayneth, @salvadorhr18, @felixjfarfan, @jeanandres, @gaborockstar, @minuetoacademy, @jaredkhamanah, @roman.musica, @siomarasalmeron, @aidarojaswriter, @lostgalaxy, @tarotbyfergus, @k0wsk1.


So guys there we have it, I told you this week was really next level - and you should have believed (not that I have any evidence that you didn't just yeah).

Anyways it's now 3 am so I should really go get some sleep, but I do see the possibility of me playing some Steem Monsters before I call it a night - anyways catch ya's next week :D


Songwriters Shoptalk:

Everyone involved in Open Mic or a fan of some of our amazingly talented entrants, should know about the Songwriters Shoptalk - it's a radio show that @meno and I co-host on a weekly basis.

During our two hour show we interview amazing musicians on Steemit, we play some of their original music and get involved in all manner of conversations - I'm not kidding here people, some of the topics are so far from the realm of music I often wonder how we got there.

It's an amazing show and I am thrilled to be a part of it, we have an amazing time each and every week - not to mention we share some amazing music and get to know some of the faces behind the tunes.

Join us 2am UTC Thursdays, it would be great to have you all along for the ride with us - get to know your fellow musicians and as always hear some kick arse music!


Steemit Musicians:

I'd also like to remind everyone again that all top five nominations from this week, will feature in the Steemit Musicians live radio show on MSP-Waves every week - hosted on the Peace Abundance and Liberty discord server, through the Minnow Support Project.

A massive congratulations to all of those to be featured in the show, it is going to be great opportunity to get to further share the awesome entries we receive each week - I can't wait to hear the audience's feedback on all our judges selections and your entries.

I hope you can all drop by and support those who made this week's lists, I'm sure they'd appreciate the support - not to mention if you join you get to help choose the weekly 30 SBD winning entry!


Please join us for Steemit Musicians this Sunday 12-1 UTC!

Time Zone Converter

You can listen live at the mspwaves website- http://mspwaves.com/home/listen
You can listen on twitch-

You can join broadcast hosts in a special chat room on the MSP Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/kNxM7T6
You can check out http://mspwaves.com/ for more information


MSP waves logo.gif


Open Mic's New Discord Server:

I'd like to officially welcome you all to the new Open Mic Discord server, we have been open a little while now - with many of you having already joined.

But it's still a little quiet and I blame myself partly (I didn't know the world of crazy would set in just after opening it up and I just haven't been there to engage with everyone properly or promptly), I hope to remedy this in the coming weeks and months with some big plans we have in the works.

For now it's very hush hush, as plans are finalised and things evolve - you a can be sure you guys will hear all about it.

In the meantime however, there are heaps of amazing musicians already on there - it's a tool and you guys need to use it to get full advantage.

Ask a question, request a collaboration the world is yours - hell even just go in there and play around listening to some tunes in the jukebox room!

I will be trying to make myself more available on the server as time continues, so feel free to drop by even just for a chat.


Again a big thanks to @soundlegion, @meno, @verbal-d and @passion-ground for all they do as judges, please remember to go and check out their top five selections each week and to @luzcypher and @pfunk thank you so much for making all of this possible - until next week.

Which was your favourite entry this week?

Like what you've read so far?
Check out my story

or follow me on twitter @krystlehaines
Please consider voting @ausbitbank for witness here

Sort:  

Your winner is dead on...@elainefaye is amazing! And thanks for the mention...always an honor!

You’re the best 😊
Thank you🙏🏽

Hey...no problem. You have a fan here! I love what you do!

Your words are always the best gift that you can give me, really apreciate that you enjoy my artwork, this is one of the songs that most happines gaves me when i sing it.

Thanks for the mention! It's great to be picked again.

Congrats to all the wonderful musicians in this post.

Cheers

Muchas gracias @krystle por esas palabras tan hermosas que tomaste de referencia para nuestro trabajo. Un abrazo, gracias por esta mención de honor.

Thank you, beautiful! Greetings to everybody. Congrats for everyone in this top. And good luck with @Luzcypher... =o)

Thank you so much for the honorable mention! I'm thrilled to share the feature with such talented, amazing people. I hope your week gets easier. 💞

Thank you very much for the compliments @krystle and much <3

Oh my goodness, thank you so much for really listening to and appreciating all aspects of my performance!! I’m so blown away. I’m so glad you like the song! Sometimes I feel like my songs are my children lol, and they fill me with a sense of pride and joy. I’m so happy when other people see and love them a bit like I do! Thank you so much for taking the time to really dig into it. I really appreciate you and the time that you donate to open mic every week 💗😊🙏🏽

I really appreciate you getting this out this week. I know you had a hectic week. Thanks so much @krystle.

See who won Steemit Open Mic week 107

Ohhhh Thank you very much for your beautiful words for my presentation @krystle!!!

Thanks for mentioning @trilumia <3