🎶 Open Mic Week 121 - My Top 5 Judges Selection 🎶

in #openmic5 years ago

Ok guys it's week 121 and whilst that still blows my mind a little, tomorrow is the end of school holidays here in Australia - I need to be up insanely early, so I'm going to keep it short but sweet.

There were countless kick ass entries this week, we saw some faces we hadn't seen in a while - and all round it was a great week of Open Mic entries, you should all be proud!

But without further delays, here is my top 5 selection for Open Mic week 121!

This week's top 5:

1st Place - @katrina-ariel- Too Far from the Sea

This just hit the spot for me this week, I was drawn in and held in place - this song is stunning and I think it's brilliantly performed a capella.

Firstly I will start with the lyrics, which are just kick ass in every conceivable way - the emotion conveyed is just sublimely executed.

This is a poetic musical masterpiece, I love the structure of the lyric you have used - the listener knows instinctively where the tune is going, it has a natural flow and feel that just hit's the spot.

I adore these lyrics, not only do they tell a story they also allow the listener to decide what the story is - that is a truly incredible feat lovely, your skill is clear and I just can't get enough.

This was spectacular and I absolutely love this song, I had to sing along with you - not only the bloody brilliant lyrics, but the vocals are also freakin sublime.

You have an amazing range, your tone is stunning - there is a beautiful clarity to your vocals and best of all, your control is just next level.

I am absolutely obsessed with this song, I can see it being played alongside a epic moment in a block buster movie - like I can see what I would put this to in my mind, that is how clear this song was for me.

You have smashed it this week hun, I am a massive fan of this song, you and your amazing abilities - I am really excited to see what you share with us next time <3


2nd Place - @dianakyv - ETERNAL LOVE

You guys are so incredible and just amazing when performing together, I cannot get enough of your entries - each week you guys just hit it out of the park, I am left shocked and awed by it all.

Brilliant playing and accompaniment, I love the combination of your vocals with the guitar - it's angelic and so stunningly beautiful.

Then of course there's your singing, yet again another phenomenal example of how to do it - I am always amazed by how perfect your performances are, your vocals are truly faultless.

You have the most unbelievable vocal range, your control is beyond understanding - I don't think I've ever heard you sing an off note, just sheer pure talent.

You both just amaze me, I am a massive fan and could listen to you all day - I cannot wait to hear what you have for us next time.


3rd Place - @trevorpetrie - Did You Want It Too?

Oh my god TREVOR, man have I missed you and your amazing tunes - the time has not dwindled your talents that's for sure.

I love your original music, you have such a unique sound that I just love so much - there is so much raw emotion and passion in your music, it's exactly what I want from a song and more.

Your playing as always is superb, the composition and all it's intricate layers of textures are just awesome to the ear - I love hearing the build and then you just letting it all out, kick ass man.

Then there's your vocals, you have such an amazingly emotive voice - you can hear the turmoil and grit of the feelings of the song, just brilliant on every level.

I have missed you, so it's great to have you back and I truly hope to see more of you when you can :D


4th Place - @danieldedosd2 - Amorcito Corazón

When I hear something at this level there is no question as to where it belongs, absolutely and unequivocally a phenomenal entry my friend - your talent is clear as day, this entry displays it to amazing effect.

Your performance is technically perfect, that goes for both playing and singing - that guitar is like an extension of your body and it is just breathtaking to behold.

Then there's the vocals, the absolutely faultless vocals - you have a tremendous vocal range with phenomenal vocal control, I am left here a little speechless as a result of just how brilliant that was!

I have to mention I love the choice of location to film and perform this, the acoustics are just brilliant for this song - all round an amazing entry depicting your sheer talent and skill, I can't wait for more.


5th Place - @gabrielinho - perdido por ti

This was an absolutely stunning entry, I loved every moment of it - I especially love the different tempos used throughout, creating such a unique and interesting sound.

Your playing is absolutely spot on, you have composed a wonderful song here - the varied textures and tones you use throughout is just awesome, I couldn't help but get into this song.

I have to admit it was your vocals that stole the show for me, you have a lovely tone to your voice - and absolutely brilliant control, I have a feeling you have some serious vocal range not on display in this song.

I thought this was a kick ass entry, a great original song - I truly hope to hear more from you in the coming weeks :D


Honourable Mentions:

@sketch.and.jam - Doumbek, Kalimba and Sitar Jam

@edwardstobia - Sueños sencillos

@thesimpson - Be Better

@itslobianco - Chopin - Nocturne op.9 No.2

@elisonr13 - Mi Viaje Hacia Ti

@Siomarasalmeron - TOUCH

@zeitli - tragedy

@drewley - New York State of Mind

@tarotbyfergus - The Bonnie Whitetail

@aidarojaswriter - Papa Don't Preach


Master Shortlist:

@alfredmusic, @felixjfarfan, @edmundocentenor, @armandolnrs, @zorajr, @juanmolina, @donlucho, @lk666, @mcmusic, @raymondelaparra.


You guys never let us down, there is always amazing music available on Steemit - thanks in great part to our little community, you guys are amazing!

I was blown away by a few entries this week, so I had some juggling to do - but I got there in the end and I'm thrilled with the result, so until next week much love.


Steemit Musicians:

I'd also like to remind everyone again that all top five nominations from this week, will feature in the Steemit Musicians live radio show on MSP-Waves every week - hosted on the Peace Abundance and Liberty discord server, through the Minnow Support Project.

A massive congratulations to all of those to be featured in the show, it is going to be great opportunity to get to further share the awesome entries we receive each week - I can't wait to hear the audience's feedback on all our judges selections and your entries.

I hope you can all drop by and support those who made this week's lists, I'm sure they'd appreciate the support - not to mention if you join you get to help choose the weekly 30 SBD winning entry!


Please join us for Steemit Musicians this Sunday 12-1 UTC!

Time Zone Converter

You can listen live at the mspwaves website- http://mspwaves.com/home/listen
You can listen on twitch-

You can join broadcast hosts in a special chat room on the MSP Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/kNxM7T6
You can check out http://mspwaves.com/ for more information


MSP waves logo.gif


Open Mic's New Discord Server:

I'd like to officially welcome you all to the new Open Mic Discord server, we have been open a little while now - with many of you having already joined.

But it's still a little quiet and I blame myself partly (I didn't know the world of crazy would set in just after opening it up and I just haven't been there to engage with everyone properly or promptly), I hope to remedy this in the coming weeks and months with some big plans we have in the works.

For now it's very hush hush, as plans are finalised and things evolve - you a can be sure you guys will hear all about it.

In the meantime however, there are heaps of amazing musicians already on there - it's a tool and you guys need to use it to get full advantage.

Ask a question, request a collaboration the world is yours - hell even just go in there and play around listening to some tunes in the jukebox room!

I will be trying to make myself more available on the server as time continues, so feel free to drop by even just for a chat.


Again a big thanks to @soundlegion, @meno and @verbal-d for all they do as judges, please remember to go and check out their top five selections each week and to @luzcypher and @pfunk thank you so much for making all of this possible - until next week.

Which was your favourite entry this week?

Like what you've read so far?
Check out my story

or follow me on twitter @krystlehaines
Please consider voting @ausbitbank for witness here

Sort:  

Hey! It's awesome being between your mentions! Greetings, @krystle.

What an honour, thank you so much! Your kind words are felt, they went straight to my heart. Much love and gratitude coming your way! :)

Hey @krystle! Sincere apologies for the delay in my reply. Thank you so much for your kind words. I really have missed everyone and I hope to share some more music with you all very soon. Getting back on the horse hasn't been easy and there's still a bit of chaos in my life and my thoughts. Hope you are well.