🎶 Open Mic Week 51 - My Top 5 Judges Selection 🎶

in #openmic • 7 years ago

Were so close to finishing off one full year of steemit open mic contest, it's so hard to believe it has been a year already - this is just such an epic achievement and I am so honoured to be a part of it.

I remember watching the first entries in the open mic contest and knowing there and then that this would be huge one day, little did I klnow that the day would come where I was involved as more than just an entrant in the contest.

Open mic has grown and evolved into something amazing, one can only imagine where this contest will be in another years time.

This contest just wouldn't be what it is today without the initiative of @luzcypher, not to mention the support and financing from @pfunk - we all owe them a great deal for all they have given to get us here today.

Not to mention the hours of work all of the judges do each and every week, @soundlegion, @jessamynorchard and @verbal-d are my fellow judges and give so much to ensure each week the very best are represented to the community.

So without further delay here is my top five selection for week 51.

This week's top 5:

1st Place - @trevorpetrie - How Do I Put My Feelings Into Words

With another outstanding original song, his amazing vocals convey the haunting tone of the song - I just can't get enough of his music each week I am blown away, by the caliber of not only his performances but also his skill as a songwriter.

Each song he submits is perfectly tailored to feature the best aspects of his textured vocals, each song has a classic and unique feel.

His music never fails to make me feel the raw emotion underlying in the lyrics and melody, I could listen to his music for hours on end - he is simply an outstanding musician.

If you haven't heard his music before or just can't wait to listen to his latest masterpiece, do yourself a favour and check him out now!


2nd Place - @carlgnash - You Are Not Alone

A deeply moving song with a story that unfortunately too many people can share, this song is profound in meaning - it pleads to the listener to know "you are not alone".

For anyone affected by suicide and even depression this message isn't shared enough, let alone so beautifully and full of raw emotion.

A beautiful original song, with a powerful message to those most in need to hear it - amazing vocals coupled with compelling guitar accompaniment, if you haven't already check out his work.


3rd Place - @dan-atstarlite - I Love Steemit More Than I Love You

Well what can I say about this entry, it not only made me think it also made me laugh - these guys just no how to put on a show, they are always entertaining and seem to be having fun themselves in the process.

This song made me wonder, just how many relationships have fallen apart because of people's addiction to the platform? -
my fears are probably more than we realise, but the Steembirds address the issue with humour style.

The song itself is creative, making a song about steemit that is relevant isn't necessarily the easiest task - but these guys nail it each time.

As for the laugh I can't get over the end of the entry, you guys really do seem to enjoy yourselves and feeds through into the performance - if you haven't already check them out.


4th Place - @meno - Verdad

What a beautiful sweet sounding song, so light and full of hope - this was my original interpretation before I went over and read the translation, now in understanding the lyrics I can see the sadness threaded throughout.

Nonetheless the song is amazing and beautiful and the vocal range and control of @meno is amazing, he has a stunning voice and amazing falsetto.

I have been listening with keen attention to his entries over the past few weeks and each time he has been shortlisted, but now when I can hear the full range of his vocal ability - I just felt like he had to place this week, I recommend checking out his work.


5th Place - @melavie - To Share

You have just such a beautiful voice, amazing control and knowledge of how best to use it with your music.

Sad tones coupled with sweet high notes that take you on an emotional ride throughout this song, it's just hard to describe the feeling music can give you sometimes - but this was haunting and beautiful and sad.

I love her unique style and sound, her music is filled with such soulful passion you can hear it in every note on the guitar and every waiver of her voice - just breathtaking as always, if you haven't already check out her work.


Honourable Mentions:

As always I struggled with my task of only selecting five of the entrants, to represent the best for this week entries - this is an impossible task that I don't take lightly, so here are just some of my special mentions for this week.

@kjablonski - Titanium

@morodiene - Le Onde

@addiesworld - Ring Of Fire

@tarotbyfergus - Wunjo

@quinneaker - Sunset Didgeridoo Healing Meditation

@passion-ground - And I Love Her

@inkatieskitchen - Don T Know Why

@elliotjgardner - There She Goes

@aidarojaswriter - Errar Cancion

@jjrodrigz13 - Un Siglo Sin Ti Chayanne

@stanhopeofficial - Ain't The Same

@drewley - Too Late


This week my shortlist was a full A4 page of entrants, I have analysed this from every angle and I have done my best to present the very best of this week's open mic contest.

I am loving listening to all the entries each week, you all put so much into your performances I want you to know the effort is appreciated.

My special mention list is actually longer than this but I cut myself off because this is just getting too long, but I want all those who enter to know we watch each and every one of your performances - you are what keeps this competition going.

Also for all entrants of open mic I strongly suggest you head over to the Peace Abundance and Liberty discord chat room where you can not only access bots to vote on your posts, but you can meet and interact with over 5000 steemians in the channel - this can be a very useful resource to new steemians, but is also a fantastic place to meet and interact with like minded steemians.

Again a big thanks to @soundlegion, @jessamynorchard, @verbal-d for all they do as judges and to @luzcypher and @pfunk for making all of this possible - until next week.

Which was your favourite entry this week?

Like what you've read so far?
Check out my story

or follow me on twitter @krystlehaines
Please consider voting @ausbitbank for witness here

Sort:  

Hey @krystle! I don't even know where to start to say thank you. I had chills down my spine reading your comments. I really appreciate your support, thanks so much for watching.
You and all the other judges do such an amazing job each week, it must take hours, thank you for making this competition so awesome!

@krystle thank you so much for your kind words again - it means a lot to me. It has been so much fun sharing my music in this contest and I really appreciate all the hard work you and all the other judges put in each week by listening to every entry! Cheers - Carl

Lovely singers...That for all of them..

 7 years ago (edited) 

Wow lovely song . its great video and article . thanks @krystle
Upvote and Resteem

Very interesting Post you sharing @krystle. Superb songs and singers...
~Cheers~
100% Upvoted & Resteemd

cool post.

steemit open mic contest!?? How did I only find out about this now!??!? :O

Wow you left me speechless. Thank you so much for your words.

praise well deserved @melavie , im listening to your track again myself right now... ;)

Wow. Thank you for the appreciation!

good voice ,follow my steemit ,thanks

Thank you for getting this out. @krystle

I really appreciate how much work it is to sort through all the entries each week and I just want to express my appreciation for all your help with Steemit Open Mic. You're the best.

Thank you @krystle for all of your dedication passion in covering/judging, and helping make the open mic what it is today!

That is so wonderful. I am very grateful for that! Love it.

Hey!

Yes the open mic is a really great things for Steemians and Steemit as a whole!

Ever since I first entered back in the day I also knew it was going to be an important project for this community. I have been participating since week 5 I think. I try and enter often and make sure to acknowledge those who have made this a success in hopes to help promote it even more.

Thanks for the post and giving me an honorable mention.

SteemoN!

absolutely great picks and wonderful job krystle you are a fantastic writer and have a real heart for encouragement.

amazing i aooreciate you work respect!

 7 years ago (edited) 

the @steembirds are killing it as usual. This time including some slapstick, what can I say, I'm a fan!

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Your post was resteemed thanks to @beelzebub

Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.

Thanks so much for your kind review. It was a real honour for us to place this time around given the insane amount of talent in open mic these days.

@passion-ground 's video this week was top!

Congratulations @krystle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!