🎶 Open Mic Week 78 - My Top 5 Judges Selection 🎶

in #openmic6 years ago

Simply amazing people, you guys have taken it to yet again another level - I have been working on this post all day, well the judging side of it any way.

There is always hours of listening to the entries each week, but this week I struggled with the placements possibly more then I have in months - I think it changed every time I re-listened to another entry, I always felt well that's a mistake it deserves to be higher but then there were always more I felt the same about.

My shortlist was massive and after ruthless cuts which truly tore me up, I still had a crazy number of tabs open for the possible list - I know my posts can be large but I can't be more honest when I say these entries are just sublime, I have never second guessed myself more than I have this week.

It's all for the sheer love of the music you have submitted, we have so many amazingly talented musicians that just keep wowing us with their skills - you make this a job I love and hate, I love all the music and the entrants but then I hate having to choose so few to share.

This week I heard some amazing new sounds and styles that had to be included overall, it's such an amazing opportunity to get to hear such a wide variety of music each week - you guys really make this event magical.

So without further delay here is my selection of this weeks top 5 from Open Mic.

This week's top 5:

1st Place - @gonetroppo - Flesh Temple

The instant you started playing you captured my attention completely, the combination of the playing, melody and harmonies stole my soul and made me feel the simple beauty of this entry.

I love music that doesn't need flashy elements to make it shine, this is a pure and absolutely stunning song and performance - with a focus on the lyric and the emotion this song is designed to melt the soul.

A unique song with a genuine feel, there is a depth to the song - the way it makes the listener feel is intense, there's a sense of beauty in the melancholy.

This song was such a pleasure to hear, you guys captured an amazing sense of emotion in this composition and presentation - just a stunning entry that gave me everything I could ever want from it, it really is musical perfection.

I am an instant fan and so look forward to hearing more from the both of you soon, just a stunning performance that I can't get enough of!


2nd Place - @yidneth - Morning Light

Oh hell yes lovely, I am so beyond stoked to have you join us and share your amazing gifts with our little community - you have such an amazing talent, I loved your music from the first song I heard and you have never let me down (now your entering Open Mic I feel even luckier).

What a bloody brilliant entry in every single way, your playing is impeccable, the composition is perfection, the vocals are stunning - the overall performance was spectacular, I had high hopes of your entry when you mentioned it and my dear you have not let us down.

I love the way your music captures or is creates the moment, your lyrics are deep and heartfelt - the lyrics are beautifully balanced with the melody, which you perform to such excellence it was truly breathtaking!

I have been drawn to your music from the first instance I heard it, I think I asked then and there join Open Mic please - I am glad that not only my begging but that from others has convinced you to join us, we are the better for it without a doubt.

I cannot wait to hear more from you and soon!


3rd Place - @honeymoon-1611 - Yo no quise enamorarme

What a beautiful song and performance, you have been blowing us away since you first started entering Open Mic - and now to hear you write your first song and perform it for us is just divine and such a pleasure.

I went and translated the lyrics and I like the general feel I got from them (translation doesn't always convey meaning as well as intended so I am really flexible with how it comes out), I loved the feel of the music the emotion you conveyed through the melody and your playing was just brilliant.

Your singing just stole it for me, as I have said before your vocal control is amazing and you do it all while playing is even more impressive - you have an amazing voice, you control it with precision and the emotion you convey in your vocals is just perfection.

I am thrilled you shared your song with us, I hope that we can encourage you to continue to amaze us with your talents and create even more songs in time - I for one cannot wait to hear them.

A brilliant entry, performance, composition, lyric, melody - it was all just perfection, can't wait to hear more keep it up!


3.5th Place - @lisamalletart - Nosso Xote

Oh wow guys I missed you two, there is just a light happiness when you guys perform together - it's just pure joy light and happiness, you convey it so beautifully in all your music it's truly a joy to experience.

Whilst I have no idea what you guys are saying, I love how your saying it - the harmonies you arrange just meld so beautifully together it is blissful to hear, there isn't a single element I would change it's just perfect.

I love the tone of your vocals and how brilliantly they work together, there is always a happy feel to your music - the way you present and perform for us is really appreciated, it feels like it reflects the way you live life happy and relaxed.

Lisa I love your high notes, you hold them back for the perfect moment as a beautiful highlight rather than the main focus of the song - it's a stunning moment in the song and I absolutely loved every second of it.

I have been a fan of you guys for a while now and you never cease to impress or amaze, I always look forward to hearing more from you two and can't wait for your next entry!


4th Place - @joseacabrerav - Alquitran

This is brilliant Jose, I loved every single second of it - just when I didn't think you could impress me any more, there you go again and show me there really isn't anything you can't do musically.

Your playing as always is just perfect, but I'm a sucker for vocals and man did you deliver - I love the tone and texture of your voice, the vocal slide you use at times is perfection and adds so much to the feel of the song.

I've lost count how many time's I have listened to this entry, just brilliant in every way - I can't help but get into it, as you play the music makes you move and the vocals make you feel.

You never let me down with your amazing entries and I simply love the music you choose, I know you don't do many cover's but when you do they work beautifully - I always look forward to hearing more from you, you have an amazing gift and I'm so thankful you share it with us so willingly.

The moment I heard this song I knew it had to be in my top selection, just a great song with a stunning performance - I can't wait to hear what you have for us next time!


4.5th Place - @builtinfire - On this road again

You drew me in and I regret nothing, what a beautifully sad song - just pure emotion I couldn't get enough of it, a truly brilliant entry.

I love a song filled with passion and this song has that in spades, just an amazing performance - I love the gritty feel to your vocals, enhancing moments throughout the song perfectly.

Your playing was amazing and the composition just worked to perfection, the vocals are what sold it for me - you were there you felt what you were saying and conveyed it beautifully.

I really hope to hear more from you in the future, you have a great sound that I look forward to hearing again!


5th Place - @beeflomein - Along In The Sun And The Rain

Wow this just sucked me in and had me hooked instantly, I had never heard this song so I came in to this with an unbiased approach and loved every damned second of it!

With the focus drawn on the lyrics and melody, highlighted beautifully with the gentle guitar accompaniment - just a sublime performance that I can't stop listening too.

You conveyed the emotion beautifully, the vocals were just absolute perfection for me and stole the show - You nailed this performance and I absolutely adore it.

I really hope to hear more of this from you, just so powerful in it's simple delivery - an absolutely stellar entry.


Honourable Mentions:

@zipporah - Anchor

@breakoutthecrazy - All Night Long

@davidcentenor - Tell me

@senzenfrenz - Von fremden Menschen und Ländern

@solburgos - Futuro Anterior

@zwartmusik - Stoner Anthem / Zwartmusik

@branhmusic - Crazy

@danielmonteso - Allemande

@darrenclaxton - Simple Life

@scribblingwilly - Monsters

@moderndayjester - Limitless

@drewley - E.T. Main Theme

@vanne - Venezuela

@jotadiaz12 - Entra en mi vida

@aidarojaswriter - Our Poetry

@mariajruizb - heart of our land

@yoi - I'm not perfect

@mrprecious - JAILER

@lloyddavis - Pennies from Heaven

@chaifm - VULTURES

@williamsreinoso - Let Somebody Tell Me

@camuel - My Sweet Blue-eyed Darling

@stevenwalkerrr - hey! mr tambourine man


Well guys there you have it, my top 5 selection and my honourable mentions - I tried to warn ya this week would be a big one, but if you listened to my selection I'm sure you'll agree this was an amazing week of entries.

I loved so many that I couldn't even include due to my already massive post, so if you missed out don't feel disheartened - there were just too many amazing entries this week to possibly include you all.

You guy's are amazing not only for entering and being so supportive of one another, but for putting yourselves out there and sharing a part of yourself with the community - it is just such an honour and a privilege, I can't thank you all enough.

My post this week is earlier than other weeks, that is because I forced myself to make a decision - I had been listening to entries all week, when @luzcypher did his post I went through them all again to make sure I hadn't missed any and then made myself decide.

It still took me countless hours to get to this point, with having watched 99% of entries before I'd started - and wow my lists are getting so large, my new computer may soon start to struggle to handle the load.

But I got through it in the end, even though it's still a massive list - believe me I made cut's and it sucked lol.

I hope you all enjoyed this week, I absolutely loved it and can't wait for more - you guys are amazing keep up the great work and see ya's next week!

I'd also like to remind everyone again that all top five nominations from this week, will feature in the Steemit Musicians live radio show on MSP-Waves next week.

A massive congratulations to all of those to be featured in the show, it is going to be great opportunity to get to further share the awesome entries we receive each week - I can't wait to hear the audience's feedback on our selections and your entries.

I hope you can all drop by and support those who made this week's lists, I'm sure they'd appreciate the support - not to mention if you join you get to help choose the weekly 20 SBD winning entry!


Please join us for Steemit Musicians this Sunday 12-1 UTC!

Time Zone Converter

You can listen live at the mspwaves website- http://mspwaves.com/home/listen
You can listen on twitch-

You can join broadcast hosts in a special chat room on the MSP Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/kNxM7T6
You can check out http://mspwaves.com/ for more information


MSP waves logo.gif

On the note of the community I thought I'd take a moment to mention that, over at the minnow support program on our discord chat room Peace Abundance and Liberty - the recently revitalised music room has been getting rather active lately.

As well as the recent burst of activity, we have also added a jukebox to the room - so now when you're chatting with people in the music room, you can choose and play music from youtube (this includes open mic entries, I may have already played a couple I really enjoyed).

So far I have seen a few open mic regulars hanging out and about on the PAL chat rooms, now we have a place where we can actively share music live with people were chatting with - this can help musicians in so many ways, not to mention it's just fun to hang out and chat over and about good tunes.

In addition to the new music room Peace Abundance and Liberty chat rooms have a lot to offer, you can access bots to vote on your posts, you can also meet and interact with over 5000 steemians in the channel - this can be a very useful resource to new steemians, but is also a fantastic place to meet and interact with like minded individuals on many different topics.

Again a big thanks to @soundlegion, @meno, @verbal-d and @passion-ground for all they do as judges, please remember to go and check out their top five selections each week and to @luzcypher and @pfunk thank you so much for making all of this possible - until next week.

Which was your favourite entry this week?

Like what you've read so far?
Check out my story

or follow me on twitter @krystlehaines
Please consider voting @ausbitbank for witness here

Sort:  

Very nice post @krystle ! Thank you so much for the kind words <3
We love being here contributing to this amazing contest!

Thank you so much for your text about us @krystle!! It’s an honor to be in your top 5!
I’m so happy to read that you love our music and vibe.
Yes it is true that we try to be happy and to enjoy the little things that make life. That's what I think comes out in our videos.

I am really happy to hear that the highest notes are pleasant to listen because I always had a hard time supporting my voice in the treble 😝

Your support gives me strength to continue <3

Thank you one more time!

Wow amazing entries. I wish I had guitar skills to compete in this. My favorite is @zwartmusik stoner anthem. But maybe im bias because im a stoner.

Holy wowsers!
Great list!
And you’re right, it was a huge post (I mean, what a honourable mentions list - scrolling down on my phone. Still scrolling down! Lol), but filled with wonderful music!
Thanks for narrowing it down to these awesome performances...

Thanks so much for the honor of selecting my entry... Since the beginning the contest has helped me to network and find so many fellow musicians, no asking was needed but got in some hectic times and then I found out I struggle with the "record" button hahaha. Like everytime I was recording in front of the camera and aware it had to be one take and ready I was struggling to find it fine enough... The song itself is a simple one I wrote as a child... as simple as lullabies are, it is also a song that keeps its meaning to me today and some fears I've learned to overcome. Thanks also for the lovely talk the other (night-morning) and all the encouragement. Brightest blessings! More soon!

Tired of reading .. Long and good writing

I'm not a radio announcer. but i am a radio listener.
I always see and hear the radio from @verbal-d.
good post.
thanks for sharing

All are awesome.
i wish to be part of this contest too..
You really did great in this selections.
Music enriches a passionate soul.
Thanks once again @krystle

@Krystle thanks for the honourable mention .beautiful song selections.

Excellent choices @krystle

I feel honored just to be a part of #openmic

My first week as a part of this, discovering all of the amazing talent here on Steemit has been truly profound for me. I'm loving it!

¡Hola! ¿Como estas @krystle ? Excelente post, exito para los ganadores de la semana un abrazo en la distancia.

Hey @krystle
Thanks for the mention mate!
I admire your dedication in listening to all of these entries!!
Cheers
Darren

Felicidades a los escogidos, muy buen criterio musical amiga @krystle honor a quien honor merece ya pronto estaré en tu post entre los mejores 5 :)

Yay! We made the honorable mentions! Thanks for this. It is a great idea and way to give exposure to us indies. We will enter again next week and continue to share our originals with you all. Hugs.

Thank you so much @krystle for the honorable mention!! Really an honor