Open Mic week 124 Top 5 and Honorable Mentions

in #openmic5 years ago

Hello my fellow Steemians, once again here I am with my humble list of openmic performers for week 124. It so crazy to me this contest has been going for so long.



Without any more delays, here we go:

First Place.-

@darrenclaxton - Hands of time(original)

Well what can I say? I'm a sucker for original songs, I'm a sucker for heartfelt lyrics that talk to the soul and this of course is a prime example of how you can win me over. As always, awesome songwriting, awesome lyrics and really enjoyed the driving guitar riffs of this one too.

Second Place.-

@itslobianco - We are th champions(cover)

To call this impressive is to put it too mildly, this was a stunning performance of an epic anthem that deserves much recognition. You know someone is a great player when they make it look easy, and the way the hands just glide over the keys seems incredibly smooth.

Third Place.-

@wilins - Maldita Dulzura(cover)

Fantastic to see wilins back on the saddle, and even more so with such a heartfelt performance straight for the emotional jugular. I have to confess I was not familiar with the song, but its quite special, quit special indeed. As with many of the spanish tunes, this one is best enjoyed with a shot of moonshine, but it's too early and coffee will have to do.

Fourth Place.-

@donlucho - Apagar la Luz (cover)

This melted my heart, and that's probably all I can say about it. The interpretation is beautiful of course, but that's not the magical element of this video, and honestly there's no reason why you should not be clicking it right now.

Fifth Place.-

@skycorridors - New Years Day (cover)

And there she is again, @skycorridors showing up to our party, sharing with us her beautiful voice. I have to confess I'm not too familiar with Swift, but I deeply enjoyed this interpretation.

Honorable Mentions


In no particular order, these are some of the performances I loved this week.... I'm super grateful for being someone who gets to listen to this talent.

@mariajruizb - Solamente una vez (cover)


@thesimpson - Guitar gently weeps(cover)


@vanne - Sencilla (cover)


@jubei333 - The Partisan(cover)


@senzenfrenz - On a plain(cover)


As always, I would like to express my gratitude to the different leaders and witnesses on this platform that have been supporting the @openmic contest. In no particular order:
* @ausbitbank * @aggroed * @curie * @pfunk * @helpie
If you love this contest, and you would like to keep it going, you could do so by supporting the witnesses that make it happen.


Don't forget to checkout the official Steemit OpenMic judges picks from @krystle @soundlegion and @verbal-d. Winners selected and announced every Monday on @luzcypher's blog page.

Long live the openmic!!!




And that is it for me and week #124, me done on a Sunday, and two Sundays in a row? WOW! hahahaha

But hey friend, before you leave my post musical brother or musical sister, please know that despite the fact that we call this a competition, even though my post says first, second, third place, that is not what matters about the #openmic. In the end of the day the judges are just as human, as flawed and beautiful as everyone else on this planet. The ethos of this contest, of this community, is simply for us to have special place to share our passion for music, for us to laugh together, to cry together and explore emotions that everyday life seems to neglect in one way or another.

Every single one of you is valuable to me, so thank you for being part of my musical family...

Much love





Sort:  

Brother @meno, thank you. It's never early for a drink of liquor ... sometimes it's too late. XD

Meno my old chum!
Thanks for your ongoing support and kind words for my new song 'Hands of Time'
It really means a lot to me.
Thanks again
DC 🎼

Muchas gracias @meno por la mención honorable, felicitaciones a todos, saludos con cariño.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @meno!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.981 which ranks you at #324 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 325).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 208 contributions, your post is ranked at #5.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations everyone and thanks for playing Open Mic.

Click here to see the main post of who won Steemit Open Mic week 124

I feel very happy, for having been taken into account, it is a great honor and I appreciate the support ..... blessings.