Openmic Week 100 Top 5 and Honorable Mentions

in #openmic6 years ago

I'm going to sound like an old person right now, but honestly, I can't help myself. The talent on the #openmic community just keeps on getting better and better. I'm not only talking about the new faces, the new people jumping onboard, I'm also talking about the growth, the palpable improvement I've gotten to witness by being part of it.



Without any more delays, here we go:

First Place.-

@arigenevieve - July (original song)

There were rumors that @zipporah had a very talented niece. Of course, I believed those rumors, but wondered if I was ever going to listen/see this niece of hers and then this week: BOOM - This little entry showed up in my feed, the voice of an angel I tell you. I'm a sucker for original songs, and this one is just special in ten ways plus one.

Put on some headphones, don't use the laptop... let her take you away.

Second Place.-

@pechichemena - El Balcon (original song)

I feel at times that pechi does not get enough recognition for his talent and contributions for the simple fact that he is my brother. But honestly, at the expense of being accused of some sort of nepotism, I'm going to take the risk of placing him on my top list. This song is just gorgeous, and the word is quite tamed there.

The lyrics are genius and if you are not singing along by the second chorus, then you and I are polar opposites.

Third Place.-

@darrenclaxton - Chapters just begun(original)

The songwriting machine is back, and boy he is not slowing down. I have no idea at this point and I'm not exaggerating how many songs of Darrens I think are bloody brilliant (to sound British). A few chords and some truth that is all a man needs to speak to the soul.

Don't change my friend, keep on leaving those musical footprints behind

Fourth Place.-

@drewmusic - I say a little prayer (Aretha Franklin Tribute)

Drew has been gifted with one of the most pleasant falsettos I've ever had the pleasure to listen to. I was wondering how he would tackle this tribute to the late diva and he did amazingly. It's a very saddening thought to think that we've lost such a powerful music and cultural icon with Aretha's passing, but it makes me smile to see newer generations recognizing her talent and value.

Fifth Place.-

@basilmarples - Song 100 and 1 (original)

Basil is back.... nuff said....

In all seriousness, I was dying laughing here, just click on this, just do it.

Honorable Mentions


In no particular order, these are some of the performances I loved this week.... I'm super grateful for being someone who gets to listen to this talent.

@shephard - NAME OF SONG


@paintingangels - Too quiet (original)


@skycorridors - my favorite coins (original)


@cristmounicou - Quitemonos la ropa(cover)


@shookriya - flying (original song)


Don't forget to checkout the official Steemit OpenMic judges picks from @passion-ground @krystle @soundlegion and @verbal-d. Winners selected and announced every Monday on @luzcypher's blog page.

My deepest of Gratitudes


I would like to personally thank @ausbitbank, @curie and @aggroed for helping out our community. It's inspiring to see leadership taking the initiative to keep our beloved #openmic alive like this and its to me the biggest bullish indicator that we are on our way to a better, brighter tomorrow.

To our long time patron @pfunk once again, thank you for backing this project as you have for so long. I hope seeing the community rally behind the contest that we love so much made you proud. We have something very special here, and you've been key for it to be what it has become.

Long live the openmic!!!




And that is it for me and week #, not too late in the day, not like last time... Ready to do this all over again!!!

But hey friend, before you leave my post musical brother or musical sister, please know that despite the fact that we call this a competition, even though my post says first, second, third place, that is not what matters about the #openmic. In the end of the day the judges are just as human, as flawed and beautiful as everyone else on this planet. The ethos of this contest, of this community, is simply for us to have special place to share our passion for music, for us to laugh together, to cry together and explore emotions that everyday life seems to neglect in one way or another.

Every single one of you is valuable to me, so thank you for being part of my musical family...

Much love




Other posts by yours truly

Just Delegated to @steem-ua 2500 SP
I'm a little obsessed with magic
Twitter's Exodus - Mastodon to the rescue?
Partiko First Impressions
The greatest man you've never heard of

Sort:  

This is quite lovely to wake up to. I’m so grateful for this honor and to even just be a part of this community. I feel so welcomed. Thank you

I told you last week that I thought you were amazing!
You have passion, talent, musical skill!
The accidental 'Harmonic' at the end of the 3rd chord is just beautiful.
You have a new fan that's for sure!
PS. We must get your songs on CHOON

welcome to the family!

Excelente trabajo, cada día hay mas calidad.
Felicidades a todos, es una gran comunidad de la cual me siento orgullo de pertenecer.

Again...
THANK YOU!

Wow, 100 weeks!

Click here to see who won Open Mic week 100

one whole year for me into this crazyness Luz!! incredible right?

So much talent in this competition is incredible. I love to sing even if I don't do it very well, but when I do it, I feel passionate about it, which is what I think matters. A hug and thanks for sharing your favorites.

Thanks so very much for the nid, Meno. So much appreciated. I am blown away by Zipporah's niece as well.. knew she'd rope in the #1 this week and no doubt will win the whole thing! So happy she's gotten such a warm welcome. Really adored Pechi's too and Darren and all of these people! I agree there's so much talent here. I'm so happy to be part of it all.

<3

puts his own bro in second place cooolllld... hahahahah. j/k :P

i love ari's song she will be right up there with her aunt! loved the czech folk song. funny people.

torico... you hate the piggy?

dont be silly i wuv piggy. i was just teasin u

Hey @meno
It's great to be included in your 'Cream Of The Crop' this week.
Your feedback on my songwriting was beautiful my friend!
'A Song Writing Machine' is quite the accolade!
And to think, this time last year, I was ready to pack it all in?
I've never been more inspired since joining this crazy place and to continue sharing my thoughts and feelings.
Here's to the next 'Chapter' in this exciting journey!
Kindest
DC

Thank you for including us in your "Honorable Mentions"! I am thrilled and honored! )))))

There are so many wonderful people ♡

Yes they are... Just noticed you entered this week too. I'll get around to it soon :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm not enough.. but I've also participated. haha... :)

Hi @meno!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.631 which ranks you at #452 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 5 places in the last three days (old rank 457).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 282 contributions, your post is ranked at #9.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server