Open Mic Week 27: "1000 Miles From Home"

in #openmic4 years ago (edited)

HiveOpenMic.jpg

Hey Everybody,

Here's my entry for Hive Open Mic Week 27 - it's a song a wrote a long time ago called "1000 Miles From Home."

Lyrics:

Mama, sweet mama this is your one and only boy
You won't believe what's happened to your golden pride and joy
Somehow on the road back home, well I musta lost my way
But I found a job in New Orleans where I work for slave wage pay
Working on those fishing docks, working with my hands
I learned to drink and I learned to fight, but I don't feel like no man

And all I really wanted was to say that I'm alright
even though my eyes are empty and my skin is much too white.
Now I lay me down to sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to keep.
And I wish I may I wish I might ask you mama to pray for me tonight.

Mama, sweet mama this is your one and only boy
You won't believe what's happened to your golden pride and joy
Somehow on the road back home well I musta lost my head
'cause I wound up with a creole girl in a Crescent City bed
She always spoke in tongues when her tongue was down my throat
And I still smell her perfume on all them letters that she wrote

Mama, sweet mama this is your one and only boy
You won't believe what's happened to your golden pride and joy
Somehow on the road back home well I musta lost my grip
Because the only thing that I ever loved one day just seemed to slip
and wash on down the gutter just like garbage in the rain.
Now I'm 1000 miles from home and I got no money for the train.

Have a great week everybody!

Add my new single, "Lone Wolves, Together" at your favorite streaming platform.

Join my patrons circle at Patreon to get access to my entire catalog and early giveaways for new releases.

Sort:  

Solid! This song gives good evidence of your stellar songwriting ability. Your words, along with your singing and strumming, reminds me of Bob Dylan, naturally, although it's all your own. I appreciate the sentimental tone. I interpret it as a message of humility, hardship, hurt... and these pain points return you mama, and maybe your Maker, in an effort to make it through. Very nice.

Thank you for joining in and enjoying Hive Open Mic

I thought Open Mic was about the performance?

Hey brother, I wonder if you intended to include a link to a video? I'm not seeing a video embedded here. Looking forward to hearing you perform this song, lyrics feel rockin!

Hey @qsounds @cabelindsay I forgot to add the link! I edited and added it in. Enjoy the music and thanks for letting me know!