OFFICIAL: Open-Mic | @passion-ground's Top-5 Entries for Week 82

in #openmic6 years ago

Top-Five.png

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Summary

...In winding down my efforts to help promote @pechichemena’s #coverasteemian initiative, as promised, I am leading off this week’s Top-5 post with my humble attempt to interpret @wilins “Amore Violento.”

As I mention in the accompanying link, unlike many of the artists here on Open-Mic and elsewhere, I am not a professional musician, nor a seasoned performer or celebrity of any sort. That being said, and despite the fact that I had 8 freshly woven stitches throbbing in my left index finger while recording this, I could have done so much better.

Though I was in pain and rather anxious to wrap it up as quickly as I could, I should have taken far more time in getting the takes much tighter than they are. The production value is clearly lacking along with numerous timing glitches surrounding the several tracks I laid down for this particular #coverasteemian entry.

Apart from all of the above, what I enjoyed most about this endeavor was translating my understanding of the original lyrics written in Spanish, and re-writing @wilins letter in English to suit the context, cadence, and melodies of the original song. It was a labor of love and brought me so much closer to feeling the intensity and passion of @willins composition, “Amore Violento,” which tells the story of a dark and passionate love. I hope you enjoy it.

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

COVER A STEEMIAN: @passion-ground – covering @wilins "Amor Violento"

https://steemit.com/coverasteemian/@passion-ground/cover-a-steemian-sir-wilin-s-amore-violento-english-version-violent-love

Below is the original.

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

VOTE for These WITNESSES... ... RIGHT NOW!

Before we move on, please don't forget to vote for @Pfunk, @Ausbitbank, & @Teamsteem as witnesses! All of whom are our biggest supporters who play major roles in helping to run, fund, curate, build and expand the Open Mic contest. In addition to the above witnesses, I am also adding @curie and @cervantes to this esteemed list “must-vote-for” witnesses. @curie and @cervantes provide a great deal of support directly to many of our most outstanding musicians, and we should all support them in kind. You can vote for all of them right now by going to this link: https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

For reasons better left unsaid, this has been without question one of the most trying and stressful weeks that I’ve experienced thus far as an Open-Mic judge! With that said, following some further insights as to how I judge entries, let’s just get on with it, shall we?

Steemit Open Mic Week 82

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Libra-Man SCALES.png

My Process

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

As one of the esteemed Open Mic judges, it is my job to come up with (or “curate” as it were) a short-list of my top 5 entrants each week. With all of the great talent here, that is by no means an easy task. Sure, tossing in another 5 honorable mentions helps, but not when my weekly list starts out with 100 or more of my favorite entries... You guy's rock - I'm tellin ya!

Yes, I am a Libra – so I have an inherent drive deep within me to be fair and balanced – good qualities for a “judge” if you ask me. That being said, I’m still human – filled with emotion and subjective feelings – just like you. So, in order to mitigate my subjective tendencies to the best extent possible, I’ve come up with a method by which to narrow down my selections in a more objective vs. arbitrary manner.

Here’s how I go about my personal judging process: I first start out with a list of 100 or more of my most favorite entries for the week, and score them (yes, subjectively) in six distinct categories via a spreadsheet. The categories I’ve selected for scoring are in general harmony with those explained by @luzcypher in his post titled How We Pick The Top 3 Entries, referencing such.

To get a more in-depth perspective as to how I personally go about selecting my artists, please refer to What I go through as an Open-Mic Judge.

Even though it’s still a “subjective” process – diligently going through each scoring category to come up with a “total” score for each entrant helps to minimize any overzealous subjectivity that I may harbor with respect to any specific entrants.

Quite often, this exercise doesn’t give me the exact results I would personally prefer to see – but that only means that my system of judging is working as intended and designed. With all of that said, here are...

My Top-5 Picks in Order

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

FIRST PLACE: @ilazramusic - A Mi Me Encanta - (Original)

I’ve got a great deal of respect for people who go to great lengths to get something of merit and complexity accomplished all on their own. Not only did he compose, produce, and perform brilliantly across numerous instruments, vocal harmonies, alongside his engineering and editing skills, but @ilazramusic took it a step further in providing us with a most awesome dual language post explaining just about everything that went into this most awesome production! The song itself is awesome; carrying a cool Reggae vibe drenched with brilliant harmonies that leave the listener yearning for more. Check out his post and give him some well-deserved love for his artistry!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@ilazramusic/steemit-open-mic-week-82-a-mi-me-encanta-original-song

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

SECOND PLACE: @gentle.ben – Thinkin' of You - (Original)

This is one of those entries when after clicking play - the moment one begins hearing the vocals kick-in, one’s jaw just drops in awe – and stays there! When I mentioned how much I liked the soul, passion, and vocal commitment inherent in his performance, Ben lightheartedly shared with me that such fires burn because of much heartache in his past, which he tries to get out through his music. I tell you what man; this dude can really deliver some blues-charged heartfelt vocals like nobody’s business! His composition, “Thinking of You” is the perfect song to showcase his most awesome artistry. Open his post, and give him some love!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@gentle.ben/steemit-open-mic-week-82-thinkin-of-you-gentle-ben-atkins-original-song

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

THIRD PLACE: @funkmedia – El Tiempo - (Original)

The same respect that I have for individuals going to great lengths to produce awesome material goes double for the heightened collaborative efforts required in coordinating several artists committed to the ongoing success a full band! In my view, @funkmedia is the epitome of such dedicated collaboration and artistry. El Tiempo starts out quietly and introspectively with some rather incredible vocal harmonies. Shortly thereafter, it then opens up with the rest of the band's instrumental flavors and goes on to deliver the balance of a melancholy song, which speaks to a guided reliance upon “time” to show the way forward. Check it out, and give these guys some love!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@funkmedia/smouxwzi

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

FOURTH PLACE: @allanshrestha – Same Thing - (Original)


Sir Allan graces us once again with yet another piece of wonderful artistry - this time his message carry’s some sage wisdom we all should strive to better understand. His composition, “Same Thing” speaks about the mistakes we all seem to make repeatedly – the very definition of insanity as it were, yet a very real assessment of our collective plight as human beings. Predictable, just like dogs, I suspect it’s what makes us so lovable despite all of our inherent flaws. If we can’t count on each other for such predictable behaviors and forgiveness thereof, then who can we really count on. Such a fruitful lesson as it is, it is nonetheless a lesson many of us wish to suppress for obvious reasons. Here, through his raw performance, Alan reminds us how contemplative introspection can elevate each of us to a higher place – a place where we all belong. Bust open his link below, and give Alan some love for this beautifully insightful song.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@allanshrestha/steemit-open-mic-week-82-same-thing-original

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

FIFTH PLACE: @michaeldietrich – All Along the Watchtower - (Cover)


It seems as though Michael just stumbled upon this cover whilst doing a general sound check of sorts! It’s funny how things come to the fore sometimes, and this is no exception. A Dylan classic no doubt, whereby Michael’s vocals simply steal the show! I’m glad he recognized the value in pursuing this cover vs. doing what he may have been originally setting out to do. The overall audio quality in concert with his guitars steady tribute to those infamous three-chords makes this cover entry very much a keeper. Check out his post; give him some love, and enjoy his splendid rendition of this Dylan classic!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@michaeldietrich/steemit-open-mic-week-82-all-along-the-watchtower-bob-dylan-cover

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Honorable Mention.png

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

My Top-5 Honorable Mentions in Order:

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

First: @edwardstobia – Una Nueva Historia - (Original)
https://steemit.com/openmic/@edwardstobia/steemit-open-mic-semana-82-cancion-original-una-nueva-historia-openmic-patrocinado-por-luzcypher-and-pfunk

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Second: @juliolunar - El Caminante - (Original)
https://steemit.com/openmic/@juliolunar/steemit-open-mic-semana-82-juliolunar-limbo-ele-el-caminante-original-con-letra-patrocinado-por-pfunk-y-luzcypher

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Third: @wilins – Medianoche - (Original)
https://steemit.com/openmic/@wilins/steemit-open-mic-semana-82-medianoche-cancion-original

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Fourth: @moderndayjester – Lost @ C# - (Original)
https://steemit.com/openmic/@moderndayjester/steemit-open-mic-week-82-lost-in-c-mdj

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Fifth: @alcoholisedbsoul – Maria Maria - (Cover)
https://steemit.com/openmic/@alcoholisedbsoul/steemit-openmic-semana-82-maria-maria-santana-alcoholisedbsoul-ft-manuelmusic

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Thank you for reviewing my selections for this week’s Open-Mic contest. If you find this content I’ve curated entertaining and of value to you, then please consider up-voting and/or re-steeming it.

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

NEW Open-Mic Team.png

Peace, Love, and Justice for All

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

A Very Special Shout Out To:

The following 20 artists who were very much on my radar, each within a splitting hair of making it into my overall top-10, and whose performances I loved, cherish, and respect most assuredly. This special list is very much an extension of my most honorable mentions.

They are - in no particular order:

@melodyrussell, @babycrow, @jgvinstl, @dinoromanelli, @orrslaw, @pechichemena, @moccamonica, @leomolina, @trevorpetrie, @mightyjoenolan, @kayclarity, @tarotbyfergus, @williamsreinoso, @samidbarid, @k0wsk1, @raqquel, @carlosrada, @amberyooper, @hardikv, and @operahoser!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Another Special Shout Out To:

The following artists whose performances I very much enjoyed this week.

They are - in no particular order:

@silentscreamer, @gibber, @moontse, @alejandra23, @addiesworld, @johannesburghart, @paintingangels, @dominiqueguitars, @almagatuna, @calule7, @yenibe, @senzenfrenz, @coruscate, @yetxuni, @mcmusic, @drewley, @elisonr13, @honeymoon-1611, @mrprecious, @camuel, @chrisgoans, @origen1618, @guaraguaras, @thesimpson, @paskha, @danielsandoval, @markaustin, @teregogfrey, @danieldyemusic, @bryandivisions, @felixjfarfan, @betzaelcorvo, @brendahcaroline, @aidarojaswriter, @wethepatsies, @olvidesantelmo, @abelfernandez, @adrianjordaz, @yulita, @graceleon, @lauraoficial02, @moderndayjester, @julian.alejandro, @luisojedagc, @dreamrafa, @pollocyber, and @diegopadilla!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Much love and thanks to each and every one of you who have touched a part of my heart and soul - not only this week but forever!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Sort:  

Gracias, hermano @passion-ground.
Now more than I meet my 2 brothers @juliolunar and @edwardstobia. A big hug!

You guys rock, man - I love all of you! Hugs all around, brother!

@passion-ground
Your love is with us, brother. And ours with you. I'm sure.

Thanks for all you do for the Open Mic community! We so much appreciate and love you!

Click here to see who won Open Mic this week:

Steemit Open Mic Week 82 Winners See Who Won Open Mic And Join Us This Week --- by @luzcypher

Appreciate that, man, thanks!

Thank you for the mention here. I am honored to be a part of this!

Don't mention it, Dino, we are honored to have you, man!

My friend @passion-ground! Thanks for your shout out! I wish to participate again soon in open mic, my agenda is really busy these days! Meanwhile I'll be having some fun with @olvidesantelmo

Nice week!

Thanks, Roman, I sure miss your solo entries, brother! Do have fun and I look forward to more from @olivedesantelmo!

Thanks for the honorable nod, honorable sir. I'm honored :)

As always, you got it, Joe! :-)

@passion-ground you do not know how much appreciation we have you, Thanks for your kind words, as a band and independent artists we try to deliver the best and highest quality for our entries. We do not try to reach any producers or managers here. We are our own producers and all is thanks to the support of the whole comunity of steemit, especially the Openmic and the Sma, we make all this videos for you to enjoy, from the bottom of our souls and hearts. We send you a warm vibe and hugs to everyone.

Thank you so much, @funkmedia! Your intentions are clear and quite noble... You have my full support! :-)

Thank you so much for this!!! i'm without words in this moment seeing that you put me on the first place of your top 5, really really thank youuuu!!!

Good vibes always! keep doing that awesome work week by week!

Thank you! You are quite welcome, brother... Your performance and production this week was outstanding!

Thanks so much @passion-ground! You have given me a beautiful surprise! Why? Simple, You have recognized the work of my two Brothers (best friends) @ilazramusic with his post, and @manuelmusic supporting @alcoholisedbsoul! Thanks for that! A big hug for u!

Thank you @rafapercussion, I'm so glad you were pleasantly surprised... You've got some very talented friends!

Thank you a lot ♥ It's means everything to us! We are in shock hahaha. We hope to participate on the next openmic! Good vibes and thank you!

You guys were great! I loved your entry this week... :-)

Thanks a lot @passion-ground! So glad I made it to the top 5 with all the other great artists out there.

You're welcome, brother! Loved your classic Dylan rendition this week!

Brother @passion-ground.. great to see you playing again! I enjoyed it. The camera work is amazing! :)

Many thanks for including me in your Top 5! Love your description and message of my song.

The pleasure is mine, brother! I can't believe how far you've come as a singer/songwriter, dude... You're killin' it, man! Thanks for the kind words...

Thanks man.. I really appreciate it!

Thank you, @passion-ground! I'm so glad you liked my performance this week, and that you mentioned me in your post. Rock on!!

Oh, man - I loved your performance brother! You rocked that ax like nobody's business! Keep on rockin' it, bro!

Thank you so much, bro!!! lml

I invite you to see my collaboration this week with my friend @samjgonz. I'm using my Looper, innovating a bit in my work! Something different for me.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@samjgonz/steemit-open-mic-semana-83-mis-planes-son-amarte-juanes-cover

Thank you, bro... I will be checking this out next week when I've suited backup into Open-Mic judge mode... Thanks for the heads up and the link!

Great job brother!! and also YAY BEN!!!!!! :) he finally made an entry!!!! woooooo

Thank you, Luis! Yeah man, Ben rocked the house for sure!

Thank you for that shout out @passion_ground!

It's my honor, bro! Love your consistent efforts, man - your entry this week struck a special chord with me - I loved it!

i cant believe it. @passion-ground i've only just arrived here and to receive such high praise from a judge is a little overwhelming haha. thank you so much for listening brotha, i hope you enjoy the music yet to come :)

You better believe it, brother... haha... The listening pleasure was all mine, dude - thank you! Looking forward to a whole lot more, man! :-)

This is the biggest surprises I've received since I've been in openmic ... And this achievement I owe a lot to my brother @wilins who has devoted much of his time to guiding me, supporting me and even scolding me ... And you @ passion-ground ... Man !!! You have given us much more than friendship. I embrace him but with all the strength that God gave me, I respect him for all he has given and I confess that this side of the world has another person who appreciates and admires him. Thank you ...

You are most welcome, Edward! You have earned and deserve such recognition... It is clear that brother @wilins is an exceptional mentor, and you, a gifted student of his guidance. The progress that you have made over a short period of time is simply phenomenal! In addition, your ability to compose original music and write lyrics with such meaning is mind-boggling. Much love to you both my brothers!

my brother, a hug.
thank you very much for everything and tremendous selection.
always wise, greetings. lml

You are welcome, Julio! Thank you for your wonderful artistry! a big hug.

Thanks for the little mention, friend <3

Love your picks so much! Such an honor to be mentioned, thank you so much. ♥ Hugs! -serena

Thank you, Serena! Hugs! You are most welcome.

Hey sir @passion-ground, I hope all is well with you manh miss all @openmic team..

Congrats to your top picks they all nailed it.

Long time no entry here hehe I just came from my vacation and guess what, I miss my first baby boy back there in the Philippines hehehe.

I cant submit one for an open as of this time the guitar that I was using is already with the owner hehehe. I just wait for the good hope hehe so I can buy one for me.

Much Love and more power Long Live #openmic

Hey @g10a, so nice to hear from you after so long! I hope all is well with you too, and that you have the good fortune of getting your hands on a guitar again soon. I'd sure love to hear you play and sing again, brother!

What week is currently running for the open mic @passion-ground

Week #83 ... Been a long time, brother... Hope you are well! There's been one slight change in rules: In addition to announcing the Open-Mic week#, you must also state your username. Can't wait to hear you perform again, man! :-)

Brilliant ... Thanks @passion-ground ... Looking forward to putting something up for week no 84.
Hope all is well with you brother.. :)

Thanks for the special shout out man. The quality on the entries seems to be rising - I'm gonna have to up my game to get a place!

Your welcome, Camuel! If anyone can do it, it's you, brother! :-)

Thank you very much, for listening and for mentioning greetings.