OPEN MIC WEEK 8 - Rebelmeow's worldwide piano debut (plus bloopers)

in #openmic7 years ago

So I've never played piano in public before. When there's an audience, I get nervous, and my hands stop obeying commands. There are only a handful of people who have seen me play live. I did record a couple of piano ballads (one of them is here: https://steemit.com/originalmusic/@rebelmeow/the-song-i-wrote-with-my-birth-mother-after-she-found-me) but to do it, I had to make the recording engineer LEAVE THE ROOM. Singing in public, strangely, was never a problem, maybe because my voice was something I felt I had more control over. Unless you count that time I had to write all the song lyrics on my arm.

Anyway, I've been dying to participate in open mic, but since allergies have been making it hard to sing, I decided I needed to get some cohones and play piano instead. Special thanks to @lloyddavis for providing much of the inspiration I needed to do this.

Even with a virtual audience, I wasn't able to do this in one take. After three thousand attempts to play the song without something going wrong, I decided I didn't want to say my Open Mic 8 spiel again, ever. So I edited a previously recorded one onto the beginning.

The positive side of this is that you get to see the outtakes, otherwise known as 'what happens when it takes you seven billion takes to record a song. '

This is Memory by Andrew Lloyd Webber from the musical Cats:

And these are the outtakes:

If you like this post, please upvote my entry here and on the contest page. https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/4qnrcd-open-mic-week-7-record-your-performance-on-your-phone-enter-and-win-steem-sponsored-by-pfunk-luzcypher

Thanks everyone! I'm so happy I'm not a closet pianist anymore!

Sort:  

Can't wait until you come out of the closet to play again since I am now an Official Open Mic Judge. :) You are a great pianist, keep it up

Thank you! And congrats on your new gig! I'm dying to enter Open Mic again, but I've been waiting for my voice to recover from some allergy problems. It's getting there, but still not performance-ready yet. The day it is, I'm seriously going to drop everything and start recording.

You're most welcome. I absolutely despise allergies when I get them too. I hope those symptoms go away and you can find the best medicine available for that. Don't die on us please! And thank you, the Open Mic is here to stay, so no rush my friend

Wow! Wow! Wow! Fantastic! Thank you!

This is a giant leap forward out of the closet, I'm so glad seeing you and hearing you totally there - and with a genuine piano cat too :D

Lovely playing and intro. I'm only sorry I didn't catch this till now and wish you a happy Thanksgiving Birthday, because timezones.

Replaying....

Congratulations @rebelmeow! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

really funny intro and nice playing! Saw Cats a few times as a kid. How about some Magical Mr. Mistopheles?!??

Thank you! I didn't see it until I was almost 30, but it was worth the wait.

The bloopers are always hilarious! Thank you for posting :)

Happy Birthday, and nice job on the piano. Very talented. I'll check out the mic post. Your cat looks like a real character, they must all take fun and disruption classes somewhere. Posting the out takes was great, they were funnier than heck. Can't imagine the oompf it takes to play the piano in public. Then again, I took piano years ago, but spent more time with my hamster "Davey" running around on the keys than practicing, so there's a life chapter that closed quickly.

Thank you!! I'm pretty sure my kitty has a master's degree in fun and disruption and is probably sneaking off at night to teach other cats.

Well, I know one place she stops on her night-class rounds ( :

I like you sound of melody

Thank you!

Funny. upvoted.

Thank you!

Happy birthday! Happy Thanksgiving! Thanks for entering Open Mic.

Thank you for hosting Open Mic!

Very nice-- that piano sounds good too. Thanks for making this video.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Very emotionally beautiful playing. I really enjoyed this song, I actually have a small clear plastic wind up piano with gold keys that my grandmother gave me that plays this wonderful song on a spinning roller on the inside. However sentimental that is to me is besides the point, this is a great open mic contest entry, and you owned this with smooth conviction and it was a delight to listen to in the late hours of the night. Best of luck to your entry when winners are chosen tomorrow, it's amazing to conquer our fears. The results are priceless, timeless and impactful! Upvoted

Thank you!! :-D

You're most welcome

Whoa, you play beautifully. Well done!

Thank you!

Great job. The cat really tied the video together

Congratulations @rebelmeow! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!