Steemit Openmic Week 111: “There Must Be A Way”

in #openmic5 years ago (edited)


Hi there fellow Steemers. Ive been absent from the Openmic for a while. Life is crazy sometimes. I’ve been going through a lot of stuff and I don’t have a guitar with me, which makes solo playing a little more interesting. I wont have a guitar for at least 4 months, probably more so I’ll be doing things a little differently.

This is an old jazz standard called There Must be a Way. I know it from Louis Armstrong but I’m sure its been done several times. I love this tune and the sentiment is perfect for what I’m feeling here now that my partner has returned to London. The original lyrics are about a lover who has no intention of coming back while we are going strong and just missing each other on a shorter timeline. So I took some liberties with the lyrics.

Im happy to be back amongst the open mic community. Much Love.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

If you dig this then please upvote, resteem, and check me out here on Choon, a new blockchain based music streaming service that’s super cool and where they actually care about artists.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by shookriya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Awesomeness Shook love the trombone, was not expecting that ;9)

Thanks very much. My trombone skills are getting better. I'll be using it a lot the next few months so it'll be fun to see the improvement

Posted using Partiko iOS


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Muchas gracias

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great music. Keep it up!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. I will keep it coming.

Posted using Partiko iOS

wow dude I am feeling this! Seriously awesome! The vibe here is off the charts. From the bluegreen empty wall setting to the snap accompaniment I was already feeling it and then the trombone came in to close the deal. I love your voice man. Vocal control is incredible here, love the gentle nuances

Thank you so much. I've always struggled to be able to relax when I sing and let it come freely without stress, especially at louder volumes. Its been a gradual letting go process and I feel like I'm pretty close to that freedom I've been working for. Glad you dug the trombone too :)

Posted using Partiko iOS


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community.

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.

The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord.
Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio.
Follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto or help us out with a delegation!

Thanks folks. I'll bring more jazz to the steem Blockchain from now on. Gotta go back to my roots...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow! What a beautiful voice you have! A wonderful song. Nicely done.

Thank you very much. I was inspired this week. :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

So glad you shared that inspiration with all of us!

Hi @shookriya!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.224 which ranks you at #8288 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 14 places in the last three days (old rank 8302).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 285 contributions, your post is ranked at #24.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Classic "Shook"...
Love It!

Thanks man, good to be back to the openmic. I've got some fun ideas just waiting to jump out.

Posted using Partiko iOS

hey great job! Enjoyed it. Nice feel, swinging.

Thank you brother. Wish I had a drummer or at least a hi hat and ride but I'll make do for now.

Posted using Partiko iOS

ha, it still grooved big. Vocals sounded great too bro. If I was there I throw in on drums.

This is so beautiful! :)
And I am listening to your album on choon, that is so wonderful, wow :) Thanks for sharing.
What an interesting platform, need to learn more about this...

Thank you so much. Yeah choon is cool. I really like the way the site is layed out. It's simple abd esthetically playing and easy to use

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice:) Could I ask you for an advice? I am going to release my first EP ever in couple of weeks, and I was looking into this last stage of this process - all the distribution. I was reading quite a lot about choon, and I see some other steemians are using it ... my questions is:

  • can you actually tell from your experience, that you would make more money with choon, than with spotify, or bandcamp for example?
  • and I did not understand the part about exclusivity, can you be on choon and spotify at the same time?
    Or if you could just share anything about your experience of distributing your music online, that would be so awesome, I would appreciate it a lot.
    Thanks have a lovely day :)

Good questions. So far choon has not released their "notes" on the market so there is no way to tell the value of them and they will be subject to all the lovely excitement of the crypto market so the value will likely fluctuate. They are supposed to release in december so I hope the market turns around soon 🤞

I can say that Spotify takes just about all the profit from your streams while choon takes only 5-10 %. At least those are the numbers I keep reading. I don't exactly know where those values come from.

As for exclusivity, with choon it is not a problem however I don't use Spotify or any centralized streaming site so I don't know their policies.

Also there is another streaming site called musicoin that is uses Blockchain and seems to give very good rewards compared to Spotify. Like $.02 per pay or something. They claim to have a stable price for their coin however the market has been putting that to the test lately. The value in my wallet has been slowly shrinking.

I think these sites are the way of the future and in time Spotify and will be left for dead but for now maybe there is an advantage in getting exposure there? Again I don't use it so...

Any way I really like both choon and musicoin. They are both in beta but work very well, have strong communities and quality music. I will say that the electronic music scene is the strongest on choon but it seems to be growing in all genres pretty quickly.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Another option might be to use Crowd funding. If you already have an audience that could be more lucrative. There are a lot of options for that and many coming out of the crypto sphere too. Haven't tried any of them though :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I love your voice

Thanks very much Monica, maybe we can try to do a collaboration sometime soon :)