Voices of the Open Mic @thesimpson - My thoughts on the Open Mic Contest

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Video at the bottom
Hey Steemit,
I wanted to give my thoughts on the #openmic competition. First off a thank you to the judges who have to sift through all the different entries.
I can't imagine that's easy. I'm not sure if they ever take a break from being on steemit but who knows.

My thoughts on the competition as a whole for me personally; in a sense its given me some sort of financial hope. Like.. I've done well out of it. I haven't won the competition but financially I've made money from those posts. Money that has made a difference in my life. At the moment I can't legally work. I'm living in the United States and I don't have a work permit.

So in the moments when I get the Steem Dollars that's a living for me. I do busk so I'm capable of getting money that way. So that's my personal circumstances.

When I think of the bigger picture of other people around the world who are also doing it and they are also making money from it. In places where they might not be as fortunate as me and have someone to support them. That can make a huge difference to peoples lives. So #steemit and especially the #openmic are really changing peoples lives for the better.
The fact that it's also a good community where a lot of people give each other compliments and there is a comadre you know you get to know people week in week out. The people putting original music out there, that's a bit of their soul, so its a very special place and a very special time to have access to that type of free flowing information.

To be able to share music. Music is the universal healer of the soul, the healer of the people. That's why all cultures have it.
It brings us together. Creates a sense of community and oneness as a group and through that we can work out our problems.
I truly believe music can save the world. If we only knew how to harness it properly and a lot of people do already, we are seeing music used in treatment for Alzheimer's and its use in therapy.

We all know about going to the gym and putting your best song on in your earbud and being able to push yourself. The powers are there. Each week getting to listen to peoples music whether its an original or a cover but seeing all these different people from around the world, all putting their heart and soul into these videos it brightens up the week. The fact that I am part of that as well makes me feel that I am part of a very special time in history. People posting these video's gaining recognition and a community growing up around that.
Its not just like posting your video on youtube and hoping someone finds it. Its totally different, this is an ongoing organic competition that is growing each week. People are helping each other, encouraging each other and you are getting to see all different corners of the world and you get to interact with those people.
You know it's not like you go to a show and the musicians are up on the stage and out of reach, you don't get to leave a comment.
You may get to sign there mailing list but on #steemit and this competition you can reach out and say "hey, this is how this performance touched me". For me its an incredible competition and I am glad to be part of it.

Sort:  

hey my friend! thanks for sharing about your story. didn’t know you couldn’t work legally in the States. glad that Steemit is helping you in some ways :) as a musician Steemit has also encouraged me to be more productive! hope that you continue to find strength to make music! :)

DC4D80C2-74FA-487D-8EF0-961D00D34FA6.jpeg

Glad to know your story...glad you have this venue! Openmic has enlivened me also.

Thanks for making this video and sharing your thoughts and music with us. Your words are from the heart and come from the spirit that Open Mic was created in. I wish you many more weeks of music and abundance.

voices_of_open_mic_1.png

Voices Of Open Mic --- by @luzcypher

Beautiful my brother... Thank you for sharing your unique experience, man! You're awesome, dude - I so love your music, man! This ROCKS! Your message is so on point, brother - I couldn't have said it any better!