OPEN MIC WEEK 52 - Dream Theater "The Wasteland" cover

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

hello everyone! This is my first submission to steemit open mic contest, and I'm a little nerves. I haven't played the piano or sang for a while so I'm a bit rusty; but i guess imperfection is a part of live performance. Although I have a lot of original songs i decided to cover a song i really love.

As a huge progressive-rock fan i took a part of a Dream Theater song. This part taken from a 13 minute song (prog-rock takes patience ;) called 'Trail Of Tears'.
I love the lyrics for this one:

Still awake
I continue to move along
Cultivating my own nonsense
Welcome to the wasteland
Where you'll find ashes, nothing but ashes
Still awake
Bringing change, bringing movement,
Bringing life
A silent prayer thrown away,
Disappearing in the air
Rising, sinking, raining deep inside me
Nowhere to turn,
I look for a way back home
It's raining, raining, raining deep in heaven


Hope you enjoy this, thanks for listening :)

Sort:  

I always visit your blog because you inspires me. Do what you do. Thank you very much for sharing inspiring content.

Thank you, happy to inspire! that dog is hilarious XD

Wowww Dream theater is my favorite band!... Amazing cover! :D :D

Really? I grew up on DT :)
Thank you! :D

Yep!, please keep the DT covers coming! :D :D :D

I'd like to see you two do a Dream Theater duet at some point in the future. Awesome guitar work, and awesome piano and voice work, it would be like magic!

I would love that! :D :D

I like your post. @vanessaondine I have followed you

That was fucking beautiful.

Thank you :D

Quite a powerful first entry, Vanessa! Loved it!

Thank you! :)

Wow awesome! Glad you entered Open Mic. It's the best competition imo

Thank you! I'm glad too ^^

Sounds really good.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Thank you :) I really appreciate the opportunity

CONGRATULATIONS! YOU MADE IT SUPER BEAUTIFUL !! YOU ARE VERY BRAVE, I ALWAYS WANTED TO PARTICIPATE IN THE OPENMIC ... BUT I'M VERY SHY ...
I WISH YOU LUCK!!
Thanks for sharing your talent with us!!!
A lot of greetings from Venezuela!!

Thank you! you should know it's very hard for me to publish something that is not perfect... but i guess it's worth it if others enjoy this. Hope to see you too in open mic one day!
:)

Congratulations @vanessaondine, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 1727 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $909.71. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Very nicely played and sung. Good luck in the contest.

Thanks :)

Awesome! That was really good, especially for being rusty, as you say.
I think steemit has a new high quality musician. I'm looking forward to more music from you.
I followed you.

Thank you so much!

Powerful song and a powerful voice. Amazing job!

Thank you! :)

Don't sound rusty at all - beautiful performance!

Thanks! I'm glad it don't sound rusty, although i am... :)

Damn! Rusty? No , you're beautiful, voice, playing and everything else. Great job!

Thank you, much appreciation!

Wow truly angelic vocals ! Definitely a fan :)

Thanks, very kind of you :)

wow... nice cover and you have a good character voice..

Thank you so much :)

OMG Amazing!!!!

Followed :)

Thank you! :D

very nice song. we have a "boombox" tag show sharing music where I do mass resteems of new & dedicated artist tagging!

wow...you remind me of a particular artist. annie lennox...but not entirely...u hit high keys like Adam Levine. Wow...must upvote

your so talented and your so unique performer..God Bless You..

Thank you so much, GOD bless