Steemit's Official Open Mic Judge @Verbal-D's Top 5 Entries For Week 56 (Original Blog)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)


Steemit Open Mic Week 56

My Top 5 In Order


As one of the 5 judges, and as an original artist also, I aim to represent the best original artists in this contest from our wonderful Steemit community. I am keeping my ears open for cover artists as well, don't worry but creating an original song is indeed impressive, especially if executed and performed well. Best of skill and performance to you all next week. This week had many many gems and wonderful music to heal the soul and move the hearts, and there were still many talented performers who entered, so forgive me if I didn't list you, I definitely heard everyone's entries. See you next week!



1. @joseacabrerav's "Canción Propia Me Va Major" Original Song
I really loved this original fantastic song of yours. It deserves more attention and recognition for your great performance. It is so catchy and you sang it wonderfully with feeling rhythmic flow and emotion, and your funky grooving guitar playing really added that extra flavour of smoothness to this well rounded and memorable entry. I look forward to your next entry and song choice. Thanks for this musical treat, you vitalized this to full life (that's better than killing it).

https://steemit.com/openmic/@joseacabrerav/steemit-open-mic-semana-56-cancion-propia-me-va-mejor-jose-cabrera



2. @lucybanks's "Freedom" Cover Song
Consistency, Delivery, Soulful Tone Quality, Passion, Controlled Emotion, Luring Vibrato and More. You cannot deny the skill and I was really intrigued by the lower depths of your singing range. You really captured the essence of this song and brought it to life. Anthony Hamilton is a great singer/songwriter and he certainly would have approved of this cover you have done for his deep meaningful song. You make judging that much easier with earning performances like this, I look forward to the next one.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@lucybanks/steemit-open-mic-week-56-freedom-by-anthony-hamilton-cover



3. @j-lee's "Oh Wonder" By Drive Cover Song
You and @elliotjgardner really showed sound and great musical chemistry in the wonderfully performed cover. I am really glad you,@j-lee, have joined us here in the Steemit Open Mic Contest and have continued to do so after your first entry last week. You have a good voice and add more to the quality variety showcased here amongst your musician/performing peers. I can tell you both take great care in how you present music and that is what brings your entries above the rest, because you know that every little detail counts and won't settle for less. Keep up the great entries, and I look forward to more from you both, individually, as well as a duet/duo.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@j-lee/steemit-open-mic-week-56-drive-oh-wonder-cover



4. @alejandra23's "One And Only" Cover Song
I know it is not just me who sees how much you are improving each week and it is a beautiful thing to witness. I really think you have a great voice, soulful passion and you give your all in music, something I can definitely relate to and connect with. You draw in the audience of listeners with your emotion and caring performance and you can sing. You have shown it time and time before, and you deserve to be noticed and appreciated. This was one of those short performances that leave you wanting more, and I look forward to your next entry. Thank you for this gem you have shared with us all.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@alejandra23/steemit-openmic-semana-56-one-and-only-cover



5. @jaybird's "I Can't Say Goodbye" Original Song
You're always creating hits. Nothing new to hear from me, you know I respect and admire your songwriting skills. Even your rough drafts and demos have so much impact and potential to move the masses in the direction of what you put out with feeling and meaning. I know the Steemit Community is patiently awaiting your first album released here. Your distinct almost grungy/alternative rock voice glides you often to the top of the list and it definitely is an advantage that you're one component of the powerhouse known as @steembirds lol Keep up the solid music making.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@jaybird/steemit-open-mic-week-56-can-t-say-goodbye-original-song-demo





Honourable Mentions


My Top 7 In No Particular Order



1. @fortune-inyang's "Steem Power" Original Song
https://steemit.com/openmic/@fortune-inyang/open-mic-week-56-original-song-title-steem-power-rae-sremmurd-swang-cover



2. @evandeevee's "Valerie By Amy Winehouse" Cover Song
https://steemit.com/openmic/@evandeevee/steemit-open-mic-week-56-valerie-amy-winehouse-cover-by-evan-devries



3. @justhope's "Secret Love Song By Little Mix" Cover Song
https://steemit.com/openmic/@justhope/open-mic-56-hope-secret-love-song-by-little-mix



4. @drewley's "Unattainable" Original Song
https://steemit.com/openmic/@drewley/steemit-open-mic-week-56-unattainable-original-piano-composition



5. @teukurobbybinor's "Fate" Original Composition
https://steemit.com/openmic/@teukurobbybinor/steemit-open-mic-week-56-delay-2-original-composition-fate-20171024t142926889z



6. @jesusman12's "Summertime Jazz Standard No." Cover Song
https://steemit.com/openmic/@jesusman12/steemit-open-mic-week-56-summertime-cover-standar-jazz-no-piano



7. @onetruebrother's "Walking In Love" Original Song
https://steemit.com/openmic/@onetruebrother/steemit-open-mic-week-56-original-song-walking-in-love


Thank you for viewing and reading this post in its entirety, I hope you enjoyed it for what it's worth.


All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Next Post coming tomorrow

Sort:  

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 8.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @verbal-d
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @verbal-d to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Some great talent this week and we hit a new record of 98 entries. Wow!

I'm so happy you are a big part of the Open Mic community and we all appreciate your talent and ear you lend to the project.

Thank you so much.

You're welcome bro, yeah it was a lot of entries! And we just keep growing and growing and expanding.
It is a beautiful thing and I am doing my best to stay on top of it all to keep the contest a running success and pivotal point of inspiration and influence of our wonderful Steemit community.
Thank you for all you do as well, as well as, @pfunk.

Good

Thank you very much

I have a new post try to check

I will check it out

oh man... i don't know what to say, thanks to this contest i decide to upload my first video on internet and this only make feel that i have to keep going on my career and do better videos with better sound and visuals, that means a lot for me, thank you and all the team that works making this contest posible.

Felicidades bro!

You're very welcome, yes keep pushing forward towards your dreams and goals.

For this right bro? I will never stop even if the devil has the remote in his hand, he can't mute me. God bless you Sir. If you don't mind i'd like to reveal to you some of my projects/plans for the steemit artistes and the community in it's entirety. God bless you for me o! I am super excited. I'm taking screenshots to all my social media. Steemit 4eva.

God bless you indeed, I feel the same way. You should definitely send me more of your songs, I have many songs as well I would like to share with you.

ok I will contact you via discord

Okay perfect, I will respond later today

Thank you my dear friendd!!!!!

You're very welcome, glad to list you, you earned it

Thanks for including me on this awesome round-up! Goal is to make it into the top 5 sometime now :)

You're very welcome, you definitely are capable of reaching top 5, this week we had almost 100 entrants, so bring your best and sharpen your skills and go to war with your vocals lol

Best of success

You are ALWAYS making me blush @verbal-d! Yet again the kindest words!! I will keep those songs coming, you've got me jumping for joy!

That is wonderful to hear, so glad to give you positive energy in return for your gifts of music. Looking forward to your next one.

Thank you very much, I am currently working on my week 57 list :) I shall check out your link

Hey @verbal-d, thanks for including us in your picks. I appreciate you taking the time to write the review. I should really 'get back on the horse' soon. :)

You're very welcome, take your time, you are ready when you are ready to race into the distance again :)