You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Giveaway 1 - Santa Meno is coming to town bearing gifts for Steemian Guitarist

in #openmic6 years ago

IMG_4631.JPG
Here's a picture of my brand new (used) Gretsch Electromatic. I just got it a few months ago and it really got me back into playing guitar every day.

I think the biggest thing Steem/Steemit can do for the music community is offer a real source of funding. The community is great and the comments/feedback offered is extremely valuable, but for touring musicians money is a real problem. When I was playing in a band our only source of income were from shows or selling merchandise (which came with a hefty upfront cost). Being able to fund your favorite musicians with an upvote rather than giving them money outright is a gamechanger. Fans will be more likely to give, the musician will have a new source of income, and allows the artists to be more transparent in almost every way. I'm very excited about the benefits steemit can provide AND i'm doing my best to recruit some musicians to the platform (the count is at 3 so far 👍)

My new years resolution for 2018 is to contribute to the #openmic contest more often. I would like to have an entry at least once every other week, but hopefully every week. Openmic was a big reason I started using steemit and it both got me acquainted with the platform and improved my guitar-playing skills a lot!

Happy Holidays!!!

Sort:  

Man that is a sweet Axe, I don't like setting up a guitar with a Bigsby, but i do love their sound!!!

“Being able to fund your favorite musician with an upvote is a gamechanger.” = all the yes/why I’m going bonkers over this site. No more .10 payouts for 60k Spotify plays!!!!