You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Open Source is awful

in #opensource6 years ago

That's nice to read a coherent article expressing a different from the most popular opinion. What do you think about opensource in the field of e-wallets? We've just issued a new article on it, so it could be great to see you joining the discussion. https://steemit.com/open-source/@guardawallets/open-source-and-wallet-security-let-s-make-it-clear

Sort:  

I know little to nothing about eWallets. Generally speaking, I am a Free Software advocate and skeptical about "partially open" platforms. From a security perspective, though, OSS is not, in practice, intrinsically more secure than closed. It's intrinsically more transparent, but that only enhances security if people actively work on it.

(There's data on that somewhere that I cannot find now, but this isn't just me talking out of my butt. :-) )