Tonsillectomy

in #operation7 years ago

My whole life i have had chronic recurrent infections in my throat, about ounce every 2 months causing my tonsils to swell up like 2 pingpong balls resulting in me laying in bed for several days and it had a very bad impact on my general health and well being. along with my swollen up tonsills i had huge adenoids making it difficult for me to breath out of my nose and they reduced my sence of smell to the bare minimum.

On June 27th, 2017 i had a scheduled operation for Tonsilectomy and Adenoidectomy. I arrived at the hospital at 07:30 AM and i was imiddiatly greated by a nurse that took me up to the third floor. i thought i would be sleeping in a room with 12 more people but luckuly i got my own room. The only thing i found discomforting about it was that there were scrach marks above the bed that went deep into the wall. All and all it was a nice room with a view of the city.

At around 10:00 i was told that i was ready for the surgery. I changed into my hospital clothing, by the way a really good looking nurse helped me, i got into the bed and 2 nurses took me to the preperation room where i got hooked up to the machine that checks my heart rate.

A few minutes later 2 people took me to the operation room where i said hello to the Doctor and the staff. The more my heart rate went up the more nervous i got and i could hear it beacuse of the machine. The doctor asked me who i was and what i was there for so i told him my name and i said that i am here for a Tonsillectomy and adenoidectomy. a few seconds later i had to move from my bed to the operation table/bed. The doctor asked me if i had any questions. The only question i could think of was "will everything be ok" and the doctor answerd yes. As my heart rate kept going up the doctor assistant started injecting the anesthesia, at the same time the doctor put an oxygon mask on my face and i started breathing in and out until i started feeling sleepy and thats when i said bye to the doctor.

30 minutes later i woke up in the recovery room staring at a clock, it was 11:00. The first thing that went through my mind was that i was happy to be alive, then i looked to my left and there was my mother standing next to me. Suddenly the pain hit me and i cried out for relief. A nurse injected some morphine into my infusion. i was told to close my eyes beacuse they where going to move me to my room. a few moments later i openend my eyes and i was laying in my bed in my hospital room.

I had to stay for the night,i ate alot of popsicals and drank alot of ice cold water. of course i had to spit alot of blood but ounce that was over i could sleep. the following morning i went home to rest. Today, June 29th 2017 i am on day 3 of my recovery, i wish i could eat some pizza or a hamburger but i cant due to pain. im feeling a bit better and hope for a speedy recovery.
20170627_194245.jpg
Hope you enjoyed reading my story!
Ephraim Blacker

Sort:  

Nice story!
I'm waiting for more content! XD