Going back to Poland ...

in #operationminibus2 years ago (edited)

I'm going back to Poland today. Not quite sure what I will do there, but I will consider if I can help with anything towards the Ukrainian situation.

From what I've heard, the biggest need in Ukraine now is food, particularly to the liberated areas. Some few weeks ago there was a glut of food donations, but this has mostly dried up now - and we don't have budget for buying a lot of it. There has been quite some problems with corrupt people getting food for free, transporting it just across the border and then selling the food in the Western Ukraine for a profit. Documenting that the food is coming to good use may be a challenge. I also didn't get a new passport yet (they have production problems on the Norwegian passports now, so it may take months), so I can't go to Ukraine (my old passport is full of Russian visas, that's not going to make it easy for me to cross the border).

There are still lots and lots of trucks delivering supplies to Belorussia - like, Bosch is allegedly still supplying spare parts for tanks (I really hope that's not true!). Now there are saboteurs doing what they can to stop this traffic - like, stealing number plates from the trucks, slicing tires, spreading sharp objects on the road, or simply just blocking the traffic through going in demonstration parades along the highway. Perhaps it's possible to join ... though, even if it's a war I don't feel quite ready for performing criminal acts. Getting imprisoned in Poland is also not quite compatible with my day job.