The boring adventures of the long term investor - "So you're making a hell of a lot of money in alt-coins. Now what?"

in #opinions7 years ago (edited)

What are you going to do with your hundreds of thousands of $K? Millions of dollars maybe? Jeez, even with just $1k...

bitshares walk.jpg
This wasn't even that long ago (It's bitshares). But I don't even see them now. I'm next year. I think I'll extract my first slice of ripple February 2018 depending on conditions.

Any coin I see, I think back to how they were in February or March. This is when I bought most of my coins. My investment strategy was simple. Put enough on each coin (that I researched) to make $50k to $5 million per coin batch. It was that simple; apart from buying bitcoin. If there is one thing I hear a lot in the crypto world it is people saying how they would be rich if they hadn't sold their coins. If you have the luxury of not having to sell your coins, hold.

Fact: Trading is a bad idea unless you do it as a job and know what you are doing.


The amount of time and dedication spent in successful trading is too much for most people, and when the price of everything is continually going up, best to hedge your bets and buy up different profitable coins. Coins that you believe in. Don't be worried about what is hot today. When coins are rocketing, instead of trying to catch up with a rocket you have missed, just look around and catch another. A lot of these coins are going to successfully absorb much larger market caps. I have just held all my coins, and one by one they are all rocketing off. No time spent trading, except to buy.

Oh and I hold my Steem. Don't sell your steem at $0.07 cents or $1 if you can. Keep holding yo! Steem is going to $400. You can't see it. I think Steem is one of the best investments, but I don't like to talk about it, because it's like oh yeah that money, and there's no fun in that. Steem's a sure bet, and it has never been crazily underpriced, just almost crazily underpriced.

Coins at less than a cent were my jam; ripple, bitshares, dopecoin, sia, digibyte to name a few. I don't recognise them from what they were not so long ago. I'm going to keep holding.

I base the true value of the coin on amount of coins, utility, and conservative potential market cap to absorb. Ripple was my first investment because it was crazily undervalued not so long ago, and I knew that wouldn't last. My true value for it was somewhere between $1-10 and at less than half a cent it was mad quick return yo, but now I think it could be maybe up to $50, but that's pushing it. I'm waiting until February 2018 for Japan reasons before taking any slices from my ripple. Ripple was my first rocket ride, but it was just one of many. Other coins are now blasting off. All the alt-coins I have majorly invested in have had mega tidy returns. I try to invest in coins with the highest potential for returns.

I've been learning along the way because this is all new to me. I joined Steemit in January, and looked at the exchanges over February. I wasn't going to get involved but it was actually seeing the ridiculously low price of ripple that got me interested, so I learned more about the market and the coins. When I first saw bitshares I thought I was looking at a dying animal, but then I saw what it was, a phoenix rising from the ashes.

Don't trade, learn.

Dat profit.

Anyway, I'm counting my chickens before the eggs.

I'm researching into a cannaclub by day, theatre cafe by night business venture to wedge myself ready as I prepare to sweep the market after legalisation. That's what I plan to use my funds for. Cut a multi-billion dollar slice of the marijuana industry, and use that to fund a biotech research company.

What are you going to do with your wealth?

giphy.gif


This is an opinion piece that reflects my views and dealings with investing in cryptocurrencies.

Sort:  

Good points all around. FOMO, ROMO (Regret On Missing Out) are all kind of spurious concerns right now. Invest in what you believe in, and hang on for the ride.

You deserve all the success you can attain.

I don't like the word deserve. I don't think anyone deserves anything. We are all given stuff (how wealthy our families are, economic prospects, social class, disease and whatever life throws at us) and the rest we take.
People helping people is deserving. I want to see a world where science has more funding than the military. We should be at war with the diseases killing us.

Invest in my company's stock. Quarterly divide divends for life.
Long term wealth and financial security.

This is an amazing article. Saving it and resteeming it.

Ripple is not undervalued, it should go away completely, doesn't belong next to real blockchains.

It's not going anywhere for the short term. I imagine it will be gone within ~7 years, but until then it will absorb a large market cap until it is replaced or mooted.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 22. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.37 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 22 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.