Origami Olympiad - Part 1

in #origami6 years ago (edited)

First round finished and we can release our works now, I'm sure @gmatthe2 is just as exited to share the final results as I am. We both applied for the folders category, there was one simpler and 2 more difficult models. I'll start with my favorite of the lot which was the ninja star tessellation. I had some trouble with this model. When I first folded the model on the big grid, half-way through I realized I started folding all the lines 1 square too low, which meant doing everything all over again. I did a small trial on a smaller grid just to figure out how it works. A very interesting model but collapsing can be quite challenging.

Final product, a bit squished from moving, went to pick olives this weekend and had to take it with me since I didn't finish the last few parts

star 1.jpg

star 2.jpg

Backlit
star 3.jpg

Here's the small test run

2.jpg

The failed attempt, the circled point should've been one square up(not losing points for something this stupid so I started all over again)

1.jpg

I'm not sure about sharing other people's diagrams so I'll just show a cut out piece of it, it's a model by Simon Marynissen, Open shuriken stars. The diagrams were given to all the participants and are sold afterwards as an ebook to support the event.

Untitled.png

Results of the first round are coming out next week and the next round begins and I can't wait to see what the new assigned models are. I'm already preparing, got some fancy tissue paper to make tissue-foil but realized I don't have any foil at home. This competition also helped me discover some cheap great paper for more complex models which I'll be posting next. I'm also working on some new tessellations I haven't done before since they looked a bit tedious or too complicated before.
3.jpg

Thanks for reading, I hope I'll have some more time to post this week with uni, therapy etc.

Sort:  

I really like the effect with back lighting, @ivan-g :D

Thanks :D

Origami is such a cool craft and your creations are absolutely amazing!

It really is fun and relaxing, thank you :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by -Killua from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.