You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hey Steemers and Steemettes, I got a new unfinished project.

in #originalmusic8 years ago

Ya... In my opinion the best thing about your piece is the melody and the "steel drum" sound. This should be thought of as a backtrack unless you plan on making a bridge/chorus.. The loop sounds a little out of time.. I think the last two notes are held a little too long.. Instead of trying to enhance the melody with synth chords and distortion - I would take it in more of a hip hop direction.. it sounds like the kinda melody you would hear on a Drake mixtape.. I would try setting the rhythm and fooling around with layering drums on this. After the first two notes should be a clap and then after the notes that follow a clapclap ( not literally a clap but a percussive sound).. I find with my own creations its all in the timing and in the bass/percussion.. experiment with "walking the bass" or play an F# over D.. these are more gospel ideas - but they will help brighten and color your piece.. Bass is hard to master - experiment with using diiferent notes in the chord - you can use a B bass note with a G chord for example and it will sound amazing. Keep going its sounds really cool.

Sort:  

I am more of a music appreciator than a music buff, have to agree that I love the melody and the steel drum. And I would love to hear the base drop in on an almost steady tribal feel.

thank u so much for your help
i arange the beat at the end that means its first of just a loop
im going to experiment with your advice! :)

I agree with the tribal feel.. I was gonna say jungle style percussion but I thought it was just me - hah.. Yes tribal is a good word!