EFFECT.AI: Powering Artificial Intelligence Through Decentralization

source

Bob runs a small coffee shop together with his wife in the small town of Greenville. His best friend Dave is a teacher of the German language living in the same town. One day, Dave called Bob through his phone and asked him if he can do him a little favor.

Dave: Hey, Bob. I just thought if you can help me review this new mobile app that I and my wife made.

Bob: Yeah, sure. What is it?

Dave: It is a German to English voice translator app. Since you grew up in Germany, you surely have a better understanding of the language than I do. You can review this app more accurately.

Bob: No, problem. Just drop by the coffee shop at 1 PM and we'll see what I can do.

Dave: Thanks a lot, Bob. We'll be there before 1 PM

A few minutes later, Bob called Dave on his phone.

Bob: Sorry Dave, I just had a minor emergency here. I'll catch up at 1:30 PM.

Dave: It's alright. What happened?

Bob: I accidentally tripped near the oven and my right arm got a slight burn and a sprain. I'm in the hospital right now.

Dave: Really? Did you drive to yourself to the hospital?

Bob: Yes, I did since my wife can't drive. The doctor said it's nothing serious. I'm on my way back now.

Dave: Good. Wait - you're driving with a burn and sprain on your arm?

Bob: Yeah. I was lucky that Alice was there and she has the Treater app on her tablet. You know, that amazing voice-guided app that assists people with first aid procedures depending on the case of the patient. Thanks to EFFECT.AI, that the app was developed with the help of software developers, medical practitioners, and also ordinary contributors. It's now easier for us to do proper first aid treatment even without extensive knowledge of the medical field.

Dave: Okay. If you called me immediately, I would have told you about the best and affordable clinic that I know. It's just a new hospital and I know the fastest route that you can take to go there.

Bob: Oh you mean the Greenville Doctor's Hospital located along Greenville Avenue?

Dave: You're right. How did you know about that?

Bob: I have the Fastbook app on my mobile phone. It helps users know the fastest way to the best hospitals, restaurants, shopping malls, parks, and other establishments based on customer reviews. Thanks to EFFECT.AI, that this street app was developed and I greatly benefited from it

Dave: I see. I think we should help Alice now. She is all by herself and there are so many customers today.

Bob: Thanks, Dave for your concern. But you shouldn't worry about it.

Dave: Huh? Do you have another assistant in your shop?

Bob: No. I recently installed the InstaOrder software on our system. The voice machine automatically takes the orders and prints customer information directly onto the receipt. All Alice has to do is to take payments at the counter and wait for our barista to serve the coffee. Again, thanks to EFFECT.AI - this voice-recognition program has a good use for our business.

Dave: Bob, I'm just a little curious. You've been mentioning EFFECT.AI many times already in this conversation alone. Can you tell me more about it?

Bob: Yeah, sure!

EFFECT.AI is a decentralized network for artificial intelligence or AI. In the past, large companies have to invest a lot of money and spend many years developing artificial intelligence in hopes of reducing the costs for manual labor and increasing their productivity in the industry. In the end, small businesses, software developers, and even consumers like us, do not gain much benefit from these technological advancements.

Dave: I agree with you. The world would be a better place if AI is more widely used and shared today. I now understand the expensive costs of acquiring AIs, knowing the amount of time and money spent on them.

Bob: This is where EFFECT.AI comes into good use. By creating a decentralized ecosystem, the Effect Network opens up the opportunities for companies, developers, and users to take advantage of AI technologies

Dave: Sounds interesting. But how does it exactly work?

Bob: The Effect Network works in three different phases.

Phase One: Effect Mechanical Turk

This phase involves the implementation of the Mechanical Turk into the blockchain. What happens in this phase is that the tasks for teaching the AI using human intelligence are sent out to users globally. This will mobilize a larger workforce that will help feed sufficient information to the AI. Contributors can earn tokens too by completing simple tasks. You can make your translator app available on the Effect Network too so that multilingual contributors can help with the development of your AI.

Dave: Oh, really? I guess I really have to try EFFECT.AI. I'll tell my wife about this later. What about the second and third phases?

Bob: The second and third phases basically involves the distribution and the utilization of the AI.

Phase Two: Effect Smart Market

During this phase, the AIs that were developed in the previous phase will become available to companies in the Effect marketplace. These negotiations still run within the Effect Network.

Phase Three: Effect Power

The AIs will now become accessible to the companies through the cloud. The developer will initially host the AI on his or her computer, with decent specifications to accommodate multiple users of the same AI. To avoid issues with scalability, the Effect Power will be used. The computational power will be shared among the users of the AI so that the developers can focus more on improving the technology.

Dave: EFFECT.AI sounds very very impressive for me. It significantly reduces the amount of time and resources needed to 'teach' the AI and to complete it for future use. It also reduces the costs by eliminating the need for intermediaries. The developers, contributors, users, and businesses all benefit from using the Effect Network.

Bob: You hit that right, Dave. We may see a boom in global AI development in the coming years because of the Effect Network.

Dave: Thank you again for your help. I'll contact you once we start working with the translation AI.

Bob: Just tell me if I can be a contributor for the AI that you and your wife are making.

Dave: We have to go. We'll just pay for the coffee and cakes some other time since there are so many people lined up in the counter.

Bob: No biggie. The coffee and cakes are on me. Tell my wife I won't charge you anything today.

Dave: Really? Thanks a lot, Bob! I'm with Lisa and my 12-man team right now. Thank you for the free food! Goodbye and I'll talk to you soon.

Bob: Goodbye --- Wait. What?! Twelve-man team? (sigh) I wish there's an AI that can advise me whether it's the right time to treat my friends or not haha.

EFFECT.AI Official Website
The Project
Whitepaper
Token Sale
The Team
FAQ

Sort:  

Submitted.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sonofsatoshi from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Great piece of work.
I've heard about effect.ie and I would also love to hear what do you think about DBC (Deepbrain Chain) and Singularity. How those two look comparing to effect.ie in your opinion?

Im personally quite bullish on DBC (mostly because DBC is related to NEO) and I hope to hear what do you think about this coin.

I will be following you closely.

One more time: great piece of work