The Origins of a Profile Image: @opheliafu and the Mayan God L

in #origins7 years ago

Almost a year ago, I tasked myself with writing 1,001 comments and engaging with Steemians as the community was still nascent but heating up. I figured it was the last time I'd be able to "reach out and touch" so many Steemians, so easily. I didn't get all the way there but I got pretty far. One of my favorite exchanges was with @opheliafu. She was pretty new at the time and so I commented on her post asking if she could draw me. And boy did she deliver. The original picture she referenced was a picture of God L from Mayan mythology. He's pretty badass but she adapted him as me, which is badasser of her.

eeks.PNG

The coda to that story is that @opheliafu has become one of the most successful Steemians out there by glint of the fact that he pen can't keep up with her ideas, but never stops.

Sort:  

@eeks, you said it all. @opheliafu draws like a lady god and I even asked her to draw / paint me too haha. Steemit is great because of amazing talents you guys have which adds value to our platform hence as a new member, I am very glad that I signed up and doing well too.
Thanks and keep steeming.

Good post...Thank @eeks

You're now rocking at 850+ posts! That's a huge number! Thanks for interacting and making the community a great place for everyone.

awesome post! resteemed+upvoted+new follower

That's so awesome she was able to incorporate you into the picture! You can tell a lot of thought went into that. It just goes to show the reach that Steemit has, and all of the great people you get to interact with. I look forward to increasing my following and keeping in touch with everyone I meet and spread positivity throughout the community :)

Hahaha, I remember that doodle, a lot of fun!
The first couple of months I did quite a few pictures involving different Steemians, it was just so much fun to interact with people.
I wonder what I would draw now to represent you?

Wow!.....And i use to call you my Maestro......But Alas you are my Boss Lady😊😊😊😎.....Respect

Hahaha, I'm not the boss 😎.

Lol, what i meant was i never new you were Woman, i was thinking you are a guy like me 😁😂

Was the clue not in the name? Lol!

Noooo😊😊😊

You know am African right? i might have no cue

Very cool!!

Hahahaha That Tito's Vodka Bottle tho. I remember when that stuff was very rare down here in Florida and I was gifted one for a birthday. Boy is that stuff dangerous lol.

I think it's real admirable that someone would even think to attempt a task of reaching out to as many people in the community as possible! Real nice and kind.

That's great hat she actually drew you! And ina. Fun way too! Nice shout out!

You know the Mayans we know from history no longer exists, right??

False. Their descendants persist as does the Popol Vuh, a few Codices, some oral tradition, and certain architecture.