You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sailwithme #2: Vassholmene, near Oslo

in #oslo6 years ago (edited)

There was the other post I read the other day about a guy "living his dream". The conclusion of the post is ... "When [your dream] comes true, it might not be what you were hoping it would be".

Every now and then I have this wish ... to just leave everything behind and go sailing. However, I know that after a while I will regret, one way or another. Well, maybe I will ... one day ... when the kids are finished with school and old enough to decide if they want to join or not.

Unlike many others, I don't dream about crossing oceans, land means a lot to me, I don't want to go for several days without setting my feet on terra firma. At the other hand, I do dream a bit about visiting Svalbard/Spitsbergen (that's crazy - from my former home, Svalbard was just one hop by airplane, and tickets used to be cheap - and I never went there. As we became a family, with the need of accomodation etc, the idea of going there got quite costly), Greenland, the southernmost parts of southern America, Antarctica ...

Some friends of me went sailing at Greenland, the pics and videos were super.