You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sailwithme #2: Vassholmene, near Oslo

in #oslo6 years ago

I have some problems with the heater in the boat. Woke up to 1C yesterday morning. My wife was complaining quite a lot :-) This night the heater was working at full effect, didn't dare to turn it down, kept 18C throughout the night.

It's not that cold here, it's somewhere between 0C and -10C most of the time those days. Good clothes, and it's fine - but I forget my gloves all the time, and it's a bit nasty to fight with frozen mooring ropes without gloves; skin tends to become quite dry from it.

Sort:  

Yeah, I did read your post about the 1C temperature because the problem of the heater...frankly I thought was a joke! OMG!

1C isn't that much of a problem, as long as one can sleep with good douvets or a sleeping bag. Also, I've discovered that sleeping with a hat on really can make the difference between freezing the whole night and sleeping comfortably through the night.

I have my favorite harbour in the shoulder seasons, can keep my family onboard, go to the train in the morning and then to the school and kinder garden, I often have the heater turned off during the nighttime (since it's noisy) and sometimes we do wake up to single-digits on the thermometer, but it's all fine, just to help them to dress before they really get out of the bed and ensure we're fast movers and get out of the boat quickly. Walking to the train, nobody complains they're cold. Then I have prepared some breakfast that we can enjoy while we're at the train ...

It is clear that low temperatures , as I think they are, are not a problem for you man...Do you think you will survive in warmer conditions as we have at Barcelona on summer? (30C + 90% of humidity)

Of course. We do enjoy saunas ...

Except for that, visiting hotter climates, it's terrible the first days, but one gets acclimatized eventually. Once we were travelling around as tourists in China while they had above 37C (100F) in the air. I was always wondering if it was possible to survive at all in above-100F, I guess I got my answer to that. But we were sweating a lot ...

We were in Shanghai, there was a giant KFC standing right next to some Chinese fast food shop of similar size. And we needed to see the toilet. Well, we didn't come to China to eat at KFC, did we? (oh, that's another digression - after staying for a longer time in China, I tend to crave western food and pizzas, so we do tend to visit quite many restaurants serving western food). We queue up and before ordering the food, we ask where they have the toilet. Answer? Go out the door, go into KFC, and ... they have a toilet! Well, we ate at KFC instead then. My wife was queuing up for the toilet for so long ... and when coming back, with a joke: since she was so wet from sweating, she could probably just have been peeing on herself, nobody would have noticed the difference ...

Temperature deltas can be something of the worst, both in arctic winters as well as the tropic summers. In the winter time, we tend to be very well dressed - and then we may board a bus or enter a shop or something, often without undressing, maybe directly from -15C to 18C - a jumping up 32 Kelvins. Well, I quite often do undress in such situations if I know it will last for more than some few minutes, or I will start sweating.

It's something of the same with air condition. I was working for two weeks before changing the role to a tourist, and during those two weeks we stayed mostly inside, just briefly being outside before jumping into an airconditioned. In such circumstances you don't want to be trapped out on the street for a longer while, because it's uncomfortably hot, and one will start sweating. As tourists we had it the opposite way - we were sweating all the time, and it was really bad i.e. to visit a shopping centre with aircon, when being soaked wet and then moving from 40C to 20C, we tended to start freezing rather fast.

Our boat is trapping heat readily when the sun is shining, in the summer time we may often have temperatures up to 35C inside the cabin, even if it's just 25C on the outside.